We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Amazonian Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Puyo B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Amazonian Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My three friends and I showed up at Huella Verde filthy and without reservations. Dagmar and Christof were incredibly welcoming, immediately making us feel at home. The two of them make all of the meals from scratch, and cater to visitors tastes. Drink the hot chocolate at least once a day - it's made from beans from the property. The cabanas are spotless, comfortable, peaceful, and amazingly bug-free. A local guide will take you on an amazingly educational tour of the amazon, and there's also a chocolate tour that I wish I'd had time to take. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place is amazing, not only for the quality of service, but also for the excellent food, confortable lodge, beautiful view, etc. Furthermore, you can take some tours having as guides people from the community. Thank you very much to Dagmar & Christof, this is a really high quality service and sustainable experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean - Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Dagmar and Christof have carefully taken care of all the comodities to enhance your stay in the ecuadorian Amazon. There is a feel of love in everything they created. It was great to exchange experience and funny stories with them.
There are different possibilities in taking tours...from getting into the virgin part of the jungle to a cacao plantation tour which for me was really special. Get to know it for yourself, I loved it and will be back for sure. Thanks guys:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandras88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Huella Verde, and felt like home after 10 minutes ! The place is beautiful and confortable, but mostly Dagmar and Christof make the place unforgettable. It's easy to plan whatever you want to do (hiking with a friendly native guide, discovering the cacao fields, tubing, swimming in the river...or just hanging around lying in your hammock or enjoying the nice terrace). And oh yes....you eat as well as you could dream, and can try a variety of coktails.
Really beautiful place I recommend to everyone (and the price is affordable !)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Karlovarsky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This very nice place in Ecuador jungle is not theatre for turists,but really life at nature with fauna and flora from amazonia area.We have had very nice boat trip with people from indian comunity on the river Bobonasa,we visited indian comunity on the side of this river,and we have seen true life in village.Chris and his indian friend Luchi took us to the green jungle and showed round to us mystery of rainforist.We thank to Dagmara for very clea accomodation and very good home eating.Our stay in Huella Verde was very nice experience from our trip at Ecuador and Galapagos.
Renata and Vaclav Novotny,Czech republic 11.april 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensdorf, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The cabañas of Huella verde and their surrounding are one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen through all my travels.
From the little village “Canelos” you probably walk for 30 minutes through the rainforest, so you know, you’re going to sleep in the middle of nature. Although the cabañas seem to be in a different world, their quality is really good and clean and especially the bathrooms come with a nice touch of luxury.
The hosts Dagmar and Christof are really loving and carrying people and will welcome you no matter what language you speak as they are fluent in English, Spanish, French and German (Swiss German). The kitchen offers both a traditional Ecuadorian plate as well as some specialties from Europe!
You can make wonderful and interesting tours through the untouched rain forest or along the river with a “one tree boat” made by the natives. Tour guides from Puyo (English) or Canelos (Spanish) will take you on those tours and show and explain you things you never saw before.
If you have special wishes don’t hesitate to ask Dagmar or Christof. They will help you with everything they can!
I remember feeling sick one day and I didn’t want to go on the boat tour with my friends. But our tour guide cured my stomach ache circling an egg over my belly and afterwards I had a great day.
The next time I’ll visit Ecuador, I’ll make sure to visit that place that seems to be from another world again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Huella Verde. From the moment the owner picked us up from the bus in Canelos, I knew we were somewhere special and about to have a truly unique and authentic taste of Ecuadorian jungle in the Amazon basin. Most of the other lodges we looked at had a touristy and "packaged" feel to them so we searched for the diamond in the rough. We found exactly that in Huella Verde. The owners are so wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the surrounding area. We were welcomed with great conversation, amazing meals, fantastic rainforest walks and true peace and tranquility that can only be experienced at such a small and unique place. With only two cabanas and the main house, you really feel a sense of privacy. We loved learning everything about the area. Christophe, the owner, took us on a walk around the village to see women preparing for the holiday celebration and local pottery demonstrations. we were the only tourists in the entire town so we knew this was truly how the people lived each day. The cabanas, dining room and living areas are fairly new (I believe he said they finished building 2 years ago), spotless, and very very comfortable. It is clear that Christophe and his wife went for quality when they built their property. Yet they manage to make the rates extremely affordable and we loved that our meals and drinks were a la carte vs. "all inclusive buffets" like so many other lodges we looked at. The owners made us feel so relaxed and welcomed and I hope to go back and visit them and all of the beauty of Huella Verde again. It is a MAGICAL little oasis in the jungle. - Stephanie

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puyo
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Bellandia
Bellandia
#1 of 17 in Puyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hostal Las Palmas
Hostal Las Palmas
#2 of 6 in Puyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Flor de Canela
0.0 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge

Property: Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge
Address: Parroquia Canelos - Renacer Amazonico, Puyo 160150, Ecuador (Formerly Cabanas Huella Verde)
Location: Ecuador > Pastaza Province > Puyo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Puyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Adventure in the Tropical Jungle --We invited you to enjoy an “uncommon “adventure in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Huella Verde (Green Footprint) is a hidden place where you can have an authentic jungle experience and explore the ecosystem at your own pace. Our cabañas have been carefully constructed out of local material along with our tropical gardens which are designed to blend in with the surroundings and the natural architecture of the jungle. Here you find equilibrium with nature which provides, not just a tourist attraction, but the preservation of the culture, flora and fauna. What may surprise you is that our cabañas have the comfort and coziness of many major hotels. But, unlike other locations, at Huella Verde your senses are awakened but what surrounds you in the Amazon. We can accommodate 8 people, with private baths. Our size allows us to offer exclusive and personalized service. Panoramic views of the surrounding forest, clean air, local and international meals prepared by a skilled chef with ingredients from local farms – this is the Huella Verde difference. A Place to disconnect from reality!We are located nearby de indigenous village of Canelos located 1 hour form the city of Puyo. You can get the public bus from the city of Puyo to Canelos - 1hour aprox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing