We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, but incredibly basic.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amarongachi Jungle Eco-Lodge
Ranked #26 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly, but incredibly basic.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

On the positive side the people who work at the lodge were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the food they provided was fresh, and well cooked. The guides who took us out for our day trips worked long hours in the hotel after being out in the jungle with us all day, and so to those people I am thankful.
The lodge is poorly built and maintained, the rooms are not sealed properly so there was a constant stream of creepy crawlies in the room that needed to be evicted, one one occasion it was a Tarantula as big as my hand!
The shower fluctuated between water so hot it was mostly steam and cold water making it very difficult to wash, without risking losing your skin.
Very oddly the lodge has a nice well maintained swimming pool, which was a lovely way to end the day after being out in the jungle.
Having met other people who are travelling through this part of Ecuador there is far better out there...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

To be fair, I will start with the positive: our guide, Sergio, was very knowledgable, kind and interesting. The food provided was good, and the cook was very kind and helpful.
Now, for all the reasons why you should NOT use Amarongachi tours:
1. The tours are cheaper than others because they are low budget. Not all that organized, you may wait for a taxi, eat on the side of the road, etc. they are also not what they advertise. The "indigenous visit" boasted being taught cultural traditions by the people you visit such as making chicha, artesania or cocoa. The guide talked to us about the culture and we ate in someone's house. No one spoke to us but children, and we saw the inside of the house, and not much more.
2. The hotel they rent out is FILTHY. There were mice in the ceiling that kept us awake with their squealing and scratching, and I am now battling bed bugs instead of enjoying my trip in Ecuador. I am awake itching and frantically washing all my things trying not to give my next hotel an infestation. I know we are in the jungle and there are many bugs, so I would not make this accusation without fully doing my research and being sure.
3. Worst shower of your life. Spurts of scalding hot, then freezing. Again, I know this is the jungle, but everywhere else in the jungle has managed at least half decent showers.
4. If all the other things don't keep you awake, the property's giant dog barking outside your window until 2am will. No owner is there overnight to stop him, and they know he does it and don't seem to find it a problem.
5. Crappy quality. Rubber boots are included in the price of the jungle trek bc you go wading through water. In the middle of the jungle when we crossed a stream, I found out there was a giant hole in one of my boots. The guide was great about helping me clean the sand out to avoid irritation then, but it was miserable the rest of the day. Management was informed, and made no effort to apologize or to switch the boots during lunch for the second (and even wetter) half of the day. I wasn't the only one with leaky boots, I just had the worst.
6. Overall shady management. He just gives you that slimy vibe, and many people who communicate with Julio over email (who seems much nicer) never actually get to speak to him in person. When a small refund for the useless boots was brought up (as suggested by tour staff), Mauricio the owner said, "what do you want? Money? No, we don't do that." Overall negative ending to a negative experience.
Again, Ecuador is amazing, and our guide made low budget, sometimes poorly planned trips as great as he could in a great country. But you could do much better with a different tour company.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived in Tena and immediately began to visit offices of tour companies to find one that offered a one day tour into la selva, the jungle. We picked Amarongachi because of flexibility and price. The tour included a pleasant ride on the Rio Napo in a motor canoe to a museo of indigenous culture where we learned about trapping animals, making chocolate, and shooting a blowgun. The next stop was AmaZOOnica, an animal rehabilitation center. Here, nearly hidden in the thick trees, we were guided past enclosures where animals that had been rescued from injury or human neglect were being helped to recover with the hope of releasing them back to the wild. We returned in the canoe to a nice cafe for lunch. Then we were delivered to our hotel feeling a greater level of comfort with the selva and its creatures. It was a wonderful day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked a three Day Tour according to the Websites photos. Our Tourguide was very nice but the big exitement started, when we were told, that the Lodge had burned about one Year ago. We asked about the reason not to tell us about this in the Internet or in the Emails about our stay but were given no satisfying answers. We were then taken to a small hostal in the Jungle. Rooms were ok, kitchen too, but it was not, what I had expected. We went by the Lodge during a Tubing Tour. Its Location seemed perfect, but for now it is not planned to rebuilt that Lodge. So be aware during booking!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tfo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view calif
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were two families of four (boys ranging in age from 7 to 17)--we loved our 3-day jungle experience! The rooms were clean and comfortable with private baths. Food was plentiful and excellent--Patricia took extra care to explain to us how to eat all the exotic local fruit. We could not have found a more patient, knowledgeable, entertaining guide than Matildo who grew up in a local indigenous village, but ended up raising 8 children all of whom are doctors, engineers and lawyers. He knows the local flora and fauna incredibly well and is so generous in sharing his knowledge and showing the boys how to weave bracelets and which plants are edible. And we had more fun driving through villages on new years eve with all the monigotes and local boys dressed as viudas with their babies dancing for us to send the old year off and usher the new year in. We also loved sitting comfortably in the covered, outdoor living areas and sipping wine while surrounded by heliconia and sheets of jungle rain. And the motorized tarabita strung across the river to take us to and from the island the lodge is located on was an extra bonus for the boys. Highly recommended! (It did help that we speak Spanish...)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed four days at the Amarongachi Jungle Eco-Lodge in January. It worked out to $50 US per day. Day 1 - dinner only and hiking around the Eco-Lodge for 2 hours. Day 2 - breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indigenous Museum with traps and medicinal plants in the morning and visiting an animal recovery shelter for jungle animals that have been rehabilitated. We also had time to pan for gold. Day 3 - breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Jungle trek deeper into the jungle with several caves as well (a few bats!). In the afternoon we went in inner-tubes down the river. Day 4 - breakfast only. Visited an Indigenous village where we met the Shaman's wife and grand-children. We ate fire-roasted larva and bananas!! We learned about the different cooking utensils and also took a walk to learn more about the plants in the surrounding area. Overall we had a wonderful time. One guide spoke minimal broken English and the second guide didn't speak any English; however, we were lucky that we had other members of our group that could translate - but you need to be aware of this. The home where you stay is with a family. They have re-built it recently and it is beautiful with private and dorm rooms with mosquito nets on the windows. The food was wonderful and we enjoyed meeting the family. One negative was that the little girl wanted to blast pop music at night that was very loud. We didn't really appreciate this as you come to the jungle to enjoy and listen to nature! Finally, we met up with other travellers there that were able to do the exact same activities as us in only three days - $150 US. If you have time and want to relax a bit more, then you can stretch it out into 4 days; however, we would have preferred to complete it all in 3 days to save a little money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldhockey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here for four nights on a father-daughter trip to Ecuador in March, 2008. Not sure of the current prices, but at 40 dollars a day, we got a room in a rustic cabana overlooking the most impossibly gorgeous views of the Ecuadorean jungle 100 meters below a cliff, three full meals with wonderful local fruits, and a selection of tours/expeditions with a guide. This is such a great deal that I cannot believe it's not better known, but perhaps I want it that way! The cabanas are all built into the existing topography of this cliff-top location and it works beautifully. Expeditions to the local village and waterfalls were also wonderful. This location, and Ecuador in general, are more popular with Germans than with Northern Americans, but really, we have no excuse. It's an easy flight, you can find great fares during off season, and if you can fly to Quito, it's easy to take a bus to Tena where the owners of Amarongachi will pick you up and take you to this hidden gem of Central America.

Room Tip: choose one with a view--I believe most of them do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staratdusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
0.2 mi away
Hostal Los Yutzos
Hostal Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
52 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hosteria Hakuna Matata
Hosteria Hakuna Matata
#1 of 2 in Archidona
117 reviews
19.8 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Terra Luna Lodge
Terra Luna Lodge
#23 of 29 in Tena
19 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Limoncocha
Hostal Limoncocha
#10 of 29 in Tena
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Welcome Break Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarongachi Jungle Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarongachi Jungle Eco-Lodge

Property: Amarongachi Jungle Eco-Lodge
Address: Av.15 de Nov. 438 | P.O.Box 154, Tena, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Amarongachi Jungle Eco Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing