We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in tena - better ones outside of Tena”
Review of Hostal Los Yutzos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Los Yutzos
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tena
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best in tena - better ones outside of Tena”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

LIked the hotel as it was the only one with A/C. However, if you stay outside of Tena, you don't need A/C as they are in the cooler jungle..not the concrete jungle... Hakuna Matata and many more are great hotels to feel the jungle instead of being stuff in town...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefSadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
24
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,116 reviews
418 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Clean rooms with good shower preassure. Not very pretty. Reasonable breakfast, they charged us about $42 for a double. TV on the rooms. Not sure you can do better in Tena. We rafted with Rios Ecuador or Yacu Amu, same company. We had Tarquino as our guide and he was pretty good. Also did a jungle treck with Jorge and his wife made lunch for us. Pretty fun but we are beat! Churquitos restaurant (Tilapia) is the best in town with cositas buenas in second place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2008

While only a block off the main street in Tena, Los Yutzos seems miles away. It is directly on the Pano River and across that river from Tena's Amazon Reserve. Considering that Tena is the launching point for so many Jungle excursions and white water rafting trips, it was surprising to find out that this is the only non-backpacker hotel option in town. Considering that it has no competition, it was a great hotel!

I was able to get a fantastic room with a balcony overlooking the river with breakfast, STRONG wireless Internet access and taxes for $30/night. There is a fridge, a/c, good beds and cable too. My only real minor complaint is that the windows didn't have screens on them. I would have loved to listen to the sounds of the jungle as I went to sleep. As you can imagine, the bugs are an issue here. I saw a moth the size of my face on my balcony!

DO NOT miss the reserve across from the hotel. It is only a 5 minute walk away. The place is full of remarkable animals and foilage. I was amazed that I didn't see any other visitors while I was there! Many of monkeys are not in cages and starved for attention. I have never interacted with monkeys like that and it is something I will never forget! The reserve isn't heavily advertised. I can't help but wonder how many people have stayed at Los Yutzos and never knew such a wonderful place existed right in front of them!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

This is the "best hotel in Tena" according to everyone I met in Ecuador. It has air conditioning, nice views, tame monkeys, and free internet. However, it is a bit rundown and a little tired and old feeling. It is your only "upscale" choice in the Tena, but don't expect perfection. The location is great and Tena is the jumping off point for jungle adventure in Ecuador. Give it a try.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raftingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Could say that Hostal Los Yutzos is safe heaven in the outskirts of jungle. Hotel has all you need to get back in shape after travel: big, shining clean rooms, big clean bathrooms, effective air conditioning, free internet, wlan.

Our family with three boys stayed here before and after our jungle trip. They kept our luggages in safe during the trip. They even have small playground for children. Price was reasonable 54 USD per night for our family of five, including breakfast and a big room.

Try to get room with a view to river, hotel is opposing a nature park and we even saw tapir from our balcony - 40 meters opposite the river!

Only negative points was sometimes missing hot water (well, even cold water is quite warm) and discussion what was agreed price per night. After discussions this was agreed in the satisfaction of both.

We can definetively recommend this place.

  • Liked — Good quality and cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — Need to negociate about room price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peter_homefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
19.0 mi away
La Casa del Suizo
La Casa del Suizo
#1 of 1 in Puerto Napo
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Pakay
Hostal Pakay
#1 of 13 in Tena
90 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La CasaBlanca
La CasaBlanca
#8 of 29 in Tena
106 reviews
19.9 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
0.2 mi away
Terra Luna Lodge
Terra Luna Lodge
#18 of 29 in Tena
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Los Yutzos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Los Yutzos

Property: Hostal Los Yutzos
Address: Augusto Rueda #190 y 15 de Noviembre, Tena, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Los Yutzos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Yutzos Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing