We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place but do not expect abundant jungle life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This lodge is great! Especially at night when it is lit with lots of candles. There is a generator but i think they chose to keep it minimal impact. The beds were a little short and even i could not really fit in and i am not even 1,80 meters. The lodge lies at the river and is great value for money. The rafting is really easy but nice and outings are great to do! Animal life is reduced to a minimum in this part of the Amazon basin so do not expect too much of that.........It is a great stop if you want to travel via the paramo from Quito to Banos!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night a few days ago. The place is beautifully located on the banks of the Napo River and was a great experience, especially in the dark trying to imagine all those noises where friendly ones.
The place had a good ambience and very friendly staff. The trip to the Pimpilala Falls was certainly a challenge in the rain but was well worth it when we got there. The guide. Maurice (spelt wrong I'm guessing) was extremely informative and pointed out some lovely and frightening bugs, plants and views along the way.
Chickened out on the rubber ring return to the camp, coward inside. The food was good and inventive for the facilities. It was nice to get completly away from the out side world with no wi fi or electricity. The view from the balcony was something I could have spent a longer time to view given the chance. Enjoyed sitting there watching the full moon reflect off the waters of the river.

Room Tip: Any room is good as the whole experience is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwakdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Cotococha! What an amazing place! The bungalows were spotless and beautiful, the staff were all incerdible (friendly and extremely professional), the location is great and the activities were fun. Five stars. Very happy camper, muchas gracias por todo!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotocochalodge, Director General at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Luke:
Muchas gracias por su comentario, que gusto saber que disfrutó de su estadía, esperamos que regrese pronto, para que conozca los cambios de mejora que tendremos en nuestro Lodge.
Que tenga una excelente tarde..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The lodge is on the periphery of Amazon ...20-30 minutes car ride from Tena. The food is above the average. The place is run professionally and the rooms are nice with a decent decor. The tours are informative and interesting. As most of the resorts the priceses for drinks and bevarages are high ($3-$4 for a glass of fersh orange juice).

Quito -Tena buses are the most reliable way to reach here. Tena has a new airport with a few unreliable flights per week (our flight was cancelled a few hours before the departure from Tena).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotocochalodge, Director General at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario, nos alegramos que nuestro servicio e instalaciones cumplieron sus espectativas y sobre todo que Usted disfrutó su estadía.
Un placer atenderlo..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Cotococha Lodge was easily the highlight of our vacation in Ecuador. The Lodge set us up with an Andes and Amazon itinerary for 6 days and 5 nights which included stays in Banos and Papallacta as well. Cotococha had by far the best food, which was always extremely fresh. Luis gave us a warm welcome and made sure we always had everything we needed. Alfredo was a great guide and made sure our experience was authentic and to be remembered. Rooms were of good quality, however if you do not expect to see a few new friends in your room, maybe the jungle is not for you. Our room was overlooking the Napo River which made for such peaceful sleeping conditions. A jug of water is left in your room each night, which is always a nice luxury. The bar drinks were very fairly priced, the cheapest we paid all trip. We felt very safe the whole time and I could not be more pleased with the experience that the lodge provided. This is a perfect option that is not too deep into the jungle, thus providing a peaceful and safe stay while remaining authentic.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in a room on the Napo River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This lodge is for people who would like to experience the Amazon without roughing it. The cabins are very well constructed, with lovely artisanal touches in the wood and bamboo work. The main lodge, which is the only one with electricity, has a nice bar area and restaurant. The food was tasty, well prepared and fresh. There is obviously an effort to get fresh produce to the lodge and to make the most of it. The guides were knowledgeable and really pleasant and informative. The outings were fun, although the choice is not as wide as one might hope, since the outings offered each day depend upon the number of visitors interested. Our big complaint with this place was that "three days" with "meals included" really only consisted of one and two thirds days, with five meals included. We arrived at lunchtime the first day and had to pay for lunch, pricey by most Ecuadorian standards. We booked through Venere, since the lodge's own site was difficult to find, and were told once we got to the lodge that excursions cost extra, even though they were listed as being included.

Room Tip: Cabins on the river have a beautiful view, but are accessible by a long flight of slippery stone ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank molemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A lovely jungle lodge snuggled on the Napo River in the Amazon Basin, not far from the town of Tena. The food was excellent, served in an open-air room. The bar and reception area is also open-air, but we were pleasantly surprised how few bugs there were! The lodges are individual (with a few duplexes) thatched-roofed huts, with no glass but adequate screening for insects. Lovely grounds. Our daughter celebrated her 17th birthday, and the chef made her a special cake (decorated with maraschino cherries) and got the whole place to sing her a Happy Birthday! Yes, there is no electricity in the rooms, but you can charge your devices in the reception area. They provide two lanterns in the evening. The bathrooms are adequate in size and facilities, but rather dark, even during the day. The lanterns provided are nice, but don't give a lot of light for anything beside avoiding tripping hazards. Definitely bring your own flashlights. And no, nothing dries in the Amazon Basin, so pack some big plastic bags for your damp gear. and try to find some sunshine if you want anything to dry. Good hiking soles are a must to stay dry and clamber through the rocks and uneven ground. Be aware that they'll want to you settle your bill in cash!

Room Tip: There are a set of lodges down 33 (uneven) steps to the river -- more private, but a longer trek to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotocochalodge, Director General at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We have received your comment and we are pleased that your stay in our property was pleasant, we will pass this comment to our staff and we hope that if you visit Ecuador again can count on your presence in our Lodge.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
12.7 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
8.1 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
5.7 mi away
Hotel Christian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#6 of 33 in Tena
58 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wisdom Forest Yoga Lodge
7.1 mi away
Hostal Zumag Sisa
Hostal Zumag Sisa
#10 of 33 in Tena
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotococha Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotococha Amazon Lodge

Address: Via Ahuano Km 10, a 20 min. del Tena, Ecuador | Provincia de Napo, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Price Range: $108 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cotococha Amazon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotococha Amazon Lodge offers 24 spacious bungalows, built according to traditional architecture in harmony with the surrounding rainforest. All bungalows are equipped with a private bathroom, a private veranda with reclining chairs or hammocks to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of Ecuador's Amazon. Social areas are carefully decorated and offer all comfort and cosiness for a splendid stay in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, children area and an exquisite Gourmet Regional food. Cotococha offers daily activities such as: trekking, tubing, a visit to the community, learn how to make chocolate, etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cotococha Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotococha Amazon Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing