We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing few days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Spacious, clean rooms with HOT WATER, comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and our guide was very knowledgable and his enthusiasm for the jungle shown through. The activities that were arranged for us- hike to waterfall, butterfly house, jungle hike to animal refuge and a Quichua community visit were all fantastic. All meals have 3 courses, and is very tasty and filling.

You will not see any wildlife (apart from a few birds) as it's only 15 minutes from Tena.

You are also given a large bottle of water in your room every day, but once that is gone you have to buy small plastic bottles.

All your days are planned, but you are given enough time between to rest up, and i'm sure if you asked you could stay in the lodge if you didn't feel like going out - they certainly don't force anything on you.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

PROS: Beautiful cabins set in gorgeous surroundings. Great food. Highly attentive staff. Lots of excursions and activities.

CONS: Everything is planned for you--you don't get to choose your excursions as their web site implies. Some excursions are much better than others. Pricey. Somewhat artificial feel.

Travelers used to staying in hotels and booking prepackaged trips will probably find Cotococha to be a great experience. You get to see a lot of different aspects of the jungle (animals, rafting, indigenous communities) without having to figure out the logistics yourself, and the accommodations are lovely.

Backpackers, however, are likely to find this a.) overpriced, and b.) much too touristy. My husband I have been backpacker-style travelers for a long time, and we splurged on this experience as part of our honeymoon. There was a lot to like about it, and I do think it's worth the price--you get a lot for the money. But some of the excursions are cool while others are pretty lame. That said, all the Amazon lodges in the Tena area are probably like this. I doubt Cotococha is an exception.

More importantly, you'll probably end up feeling sort of uncomfortable with the whole thing. This is not the way to see the "real" Amazon. You'll be taken to see animals in a rescue center, where they're caged. You'll see "indigenous culture" at a kind of display site. Backpackers used to less structure and artificiality may be better off staying in Tena and booking one or two excursions of their own choosing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Cotococha for 3 nights in in mid October, we were not part of a tour group, although there were a handful of tours present when we were there. After a somewhat annoying reservation and payment process our actual stay was very good, and the service at Cotococha was excellent.

Making a reservation at Cotococha was a lengthy process, but the staff was incredibly helpful and responsive. Once we settled on a date, I was told I needed to make a payment in full, either by making a back transfer, using their credit card service (which had a 7% fee) or paying in person in Quito. I opted to do the bank transfer, however my bank (Bank of America) did not recognize their bank in Ecuador. At this point I went back to Cotococha and asked if I was able to pay via Pay Pal, and they said yes (even though that was not an option i was originally given.) PayPal had a 3% fee, but was much easier and everything worked out well. They even arranged to have a car waiting for us when we arrived at the bus station in Tena.

Be advised that the lodge is a little less plush then it appears on their website, but was still very comfortable, and had everything we needed. The service is genuinely excellent. We arrived at the lodge at 3pm very hungry, and they cooked us a snack and brought it to our Cabana. Additionally, our second day there we wanted to change some of the activities scheduled, and they hired another tour guide for the day to accommodate our request.

Of course, as others have mentioned the food and activities are very good!

We also opted to do a day of white water rafting, which was a great decision. Cotococha arranged the trip through a third party company called Rios Ecuador

I think that Cotocoha is a great place to get a brief taste of the Jungle without having to go too far!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmb1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 3 nights here as part of a touring group. We enjoyed it, lodge was clean food was good ( chef always amenable to cook you something else if you didn't like what was on offer). Staff helpful and friendly.
Snags were firstly coordinating the hot water ! If you are in a lodge at the end of the 'run' you need to shower when everyone else has finished otherwise its cold water. The flow isn't good enough to get the gas to kick in.
Secondly each lodge has two floors, if you're underneath there is considerable noise from the floor above while they are moving around.

Room Tip: Be in a top floor room and not at the end of the !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

After a four-night stay at Cotocoha Lodge, we would heartily recommend Cotococha to anyone. The service was excellent and so was the food. A special mention must go to Sylvia, Jairo, Ricardo for their excellent service at the lodge and to Isaia, the jungle guide who led us on our various excursions.

As for the excursions, they are well planned and the guides are very knowledgeable. A highlight for us was visiting a Kichwa (Qechua) indigenous community with our guide Isaia - who also happens to be a member of that community. There are plenty of excursions to choose from at Cotococha - from a short tubing rides down the river to full-day excursions into the jungle.

Rooms at Cotococha are quite comfortable and you will be lulled to sleep by the sounds of the jungle and the rippling waters of the Napo River. The rooms do not have electricity, but you are provided with two kerosene lamps that keep the room lit enough to read. Paths to the cabins are also lined with kerosene lamps to help you find your way through the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenLangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the lodge and it was a nice experience. The rooms are all in little houses, sometimes one room in a house, sometimes 3 in a house. We stayed in an upstairs room and had our own balcony.
The lodge has only electiricity in the restaurant and the bar but once it starts to get dark they illumate the paths and bring 2 oillamps to your room. One for the room and one for the bathroom. The bathrooms are big enough with toilet and shower with hot water. We had several showers and always warm water though it takes a few minutes for the hot water to start running.
Both dinner and breakfast are served at set times but if you have to leave early they will serve you full breakfast (eggs, bread, fresh fruit, fruit juice, coffee, tea). The menu at dinner is set and depending on the amount of people staying will be served at your table or as a buffet. The bar has a fire wich is lighted at night and gives you the opportunity to talk to other travelers.
We went on an motorized canoe trip and visited a wildlife refuge, a village with monkeys and local village were we where shown some handicrafts. The lodge provided good rubberboots and poncho's against the rain.
Staff was very friendly and some of them spoke English quite well.
An experience I can recommand to everyone who wants to see something of the jungle but also wants some luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satehstokje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We arranged 6 days trip with the lodge,visiting terms de papallacta, the amazon lodge, baños, Cotopaxi volcano, a colibri farm and salasaca community. It was simply marvelous. For less than 1000$ we had a personal guide and driver (Carlos and Luis) which made our trip special and perfect. The van was new and clean!a trip with a marvelous (we also went to Galapagos to make it more special), The best value for our money! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luigidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tena hotels
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Yutzos
Hotel Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
57 reviews
12.7 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
0.5 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#7 of 34 in Tena
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Terra Luna Lodge
Terra Luna Lodge
#22 of 34 in Tena
21 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wisdom Forest Yoga Lodge
0 mi away
Sacha Sisa Amazon Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotococha Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotococha Amazon Lodge

Address: Via Ahuano Km 10, a 20 min. del Tena, Ecuador | Provincia de Napo, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Price Range: $108 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cotococha Amazon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotococha Amazon Lodge offers you the perfect combination of culture, nature, and adventure for your trip to the Ecuadorian Amazon jungle. Our comfortable bungalows, built in traditional style and harmony with the rainforest, are the perfect introduction to local culture. Experience its traditions and lifestyle during your visit to local communities. The Amazon jungle is one of the most bio diverse sites on earth, and you can discover it with us. Native guides recognize every sound of the jungle and share their knowledge about them with you. Fall in love with the rainforest flora and fauna during our exciting tours. On top of natural and cultural experiences, our location near mountains, rivers, and waterfalls enables us to offer you a wide variety of adventure activities. Feel the adrenaline of the Amazon running through your veins while hiking, rafting, kayaking, or tubing. Discover the magic of the jungle at Cotococha Amazon Lodge only 4 hours away from Quito! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cotococha Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotococha Amazon Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing