We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on what kind of traveler you are” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotococha Amazon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Depends on what kind of traveler you are”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

PROS: Beautiful cabins set in gorgeous surroundings. Great food. Highly attentive staff. Lots of excursions and activities.

CONS: Everything is planned for you--you don't get to choose your excursions as their web site implies. Some excursions are much better than others. Pricey. Somewhat artificial feel.

Travelers used to staying in hotels and booking prepackaged trips will probably find Cotococha to be a great experience. You get to see a lot of different aspects of the jungle (animals, rafting, indigenous communities) without having to figure out the logistics yourself, and the accommodations are lovely.

Backpackers, however, are likely to find this a.) overpriced, and b.) much too touristy. My husband I have been backpacker-style travelers for a long time, and we splurged on this experience as part of our honeymoon. There was a lot to like about it, and I do think it's worth the price--you get a lot for the money. But some of the excursions are cool while others are pretty lame. That said, all the Amazon lodges in the Tena area are probably like this. I doubt Cotococha is an exception.

More importantly, you'll probably end up feeling sort of uncomfortable with the whole thing. This is not the way to see the "real" Amazon. You'll be taken to see animals in a rescue center, where they're caged. You'll see "indigenous culture" at a kind of display site. Backpackers used to less structure and artificiality may be better off staying in Tena and booking one or two excursions of their own choosing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    48
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
52
62
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Cotococha for 3 nights in in mid October, we were not part of a tour group, although there were a handful of tours present when we were there. After a somewhat annoying reservation and payment process our actual stay was very good, and the service at Cotococha was excellent.

Making a reservation at Cotococha was a lengthy process, but the staff was incredibly helpful and responsive. Once we settled on a date, I was told I needed to make a payment in full, either by making a back transfer, using their credit card service (which had a 7% fee) or paying in person in Quito. I opted to do the bank transfer, however my bank (Bank of America) did not recognize their bank in Ecuador. At this point I went back to Cotococha and asked if I was able to pay via Pay Pal, and they said yes (even though that was not an option i was originally given.) PayPal had a 3% fee, but was much easier and everything worked out well. They even arranged to have a car waiting for us when we arrived at the bus station in Tena.

Be advised that the lodge is a little less plush then it appears on their website, but was still very comfortable, and had everything we needed. The service is genuinely excellent. We arrived at the lodge at 3pm very hungry, and they cooked us a snack and brought it to our Cabana. Additionally, our second day there we wanted to change some of the activities scheduled, and they hired another tour guide for the day to accommodate our request.

Of course, as others have mentioned the food and activities are very good!

We also opted to do a day of white water rafting, which was a great decision. Cotococha arranged the trip through a third party company called Rios Ecuador

I think that Cotocoha is a great place to get a brief taste of the Jungle without having to go too far!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmb1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 3 nights here as part of a touring group. We enjoyed it, lodge was clean food was good ( chef always amenable to cook you something else if you didn't like what was on offer). Staff helpful and friendly.
Snags were firstly coordinating the hot water ! If you are in a lodge at the end of the 'run' you need to shower when everyone else has finished otherwise its cold water. The flow isn't good enough to get the gas to kick in.
Secondly each lodge has two floors, if you're underneath there is considerable noise from the floor above while they are moving around.

Room Tip: Be in a top floor room and not at the end of the !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

After a four-night stay at Cotocoha Lodge, we would heartily recommend Cotococha to anyone. The service was excellent and so was the food. A special mention must go to Sylvia, Jairo, Ricardo for their excellent service at the lodge and to Isaia, the jungle guide who led us on our various excursions.

As for the excursions, they are well planned and the guides are very knowledgeable. A highlight for us was visiting a Kichwa (Qechua) indigenous community with our guide Isaia - who also happens to be a member of that community. There are plenty of excursions to choose from at Cotococha - from a short tubing rides down the river to full-day excursions into the jungle.

Rooms at Cotococha are quite comfortable and you will be lulled to sleep by the sounds of the jungle and the rippling waters of the Napo River. The rooms do not have electricity, but you are provided with two kerosene lamps that keep the room lit enough to read. Paths to the cabins are also lined with kerosene lamps to help you find your way through the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenLangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the lodge and it was a nice experience. The rooms are all in little houses, sometimes one room in a house, sometimes 3 in a house. We stayed in an upstairs room and had our own balcony.
The lodge has only electiricity in the restaurant and the bar but once it starts to get dark they illumate the paths and bring 2 oillamps to your room. One for the room and one for the bathroom. The bathrooms are big enough with toilet and shower with hot water. We had several showers and always warm water though it takes a few minutes for the hot water to start running.
Both dinner and breakfast are served at set times but if you have to leave early they will serve you full breakfast (eggs, bread, fresh fruit, fruit juice, coffee, tea). The menu at dinner is set and depending on the amount of people staying will be served at your table or as a buffet. The bar has a fire wich is lighted at night and gives you the opportunity to talk to other travelers.
We went on an motorized canoe trip and visited a wildlife refuge, a village with monkeys and local village were we where shown some handicrafts. The lodge provided good rubberboots and poncho's against the rain.
Staff was very friendly and some of them spoke English quite well.
An experience I can recommand to everyone who wants to see something of the jungle but also wants some luxury.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satehstokje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We arranged 6 days trip with the lodge,visiting terms de papallacta, the amazon lodge, baños, Cotopaxi volcano, a colibri farm and salasaca community. It was simply marvelous. For less than 1000$ we had a personal guide and driver (Carlos and Luis) which made our trip special and perfect. The van was new and clean!a trip with a marvelous (we also went to Galapagos to make it more special), The best value for our money! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kskwared
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were very excited about the Lodge based on reviews. We spend a lot of time camping and we were not expecting anything spectacular, we simply wanted a comfortable base to explore the area from -- hot water was a must and I even emailed the Lodge in advance to confirm that they in fact had hot water.

From day one our shower had cold water. We let the staff know and they were very apologetic and promised to fix the problem. We let them know that we didn't mind switching cabins if they couldn't fix it. We came back from a full day including a hike and visit to a local community and wanted a shower before dinner. Again, no hot water. We let the management know again and they again promised to fix the problem. A couple hours later we went back to the room and still, no hot water. They assured us it would be fixed by morning. We again offered to switch cabins (the place was nearly empty) but they promised it would be fixed by morning. Suprise, Suprise, the next morning we STILL had cold water. We were given no discount or any type of consolation. There are many other nearby lodges which don't advertise hot water and are much less expensive.

The lunch and dinner meals were great and very filling. Unfortunately the breakfast was severely lacking. The staff was very nice (although not exactly helpful in fixing a cold shower) and I highly recommend the butterful farm. Another downside is that not all of the cabins actually sit on the Rio Napo which is what the web site implies. Several are very far removed.

Pay the extra $50 and stay at the Hamadryade Lodge and you'll be guaranteed hot water and beautiful surrounding!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kskwared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
0.0 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#7 of 27 in Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotococha Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotococha Amazon Lodge

Property: Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Address: Via Ahuano Km 10, a 20 min. del Tena, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cotococha Amazon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotococha Amazon Lodge offers 22 spacious bungalows, built according to traditional architecture in harmony with the surrounding rainforest. All bungalows are equipped with a private bathroom, a private veranda with reclining chairs or hammocks to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of Ecuador's Amazon. Social areas are carefully decorated and offer all comfort and cosiness for a splendid stay in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, children area and solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cotococha Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotococha Amazon Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing