We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were tourists meet the Jungle”
Review of Hostal Tena Naui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Tena Naui
Ranked #3 of 13 Tena B&B and Inns
Bischofszell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Were tourists meet the Jungle”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I spent two nights here on the recommendation of a friend. The rooms are clean so ist the rest of the house. only the bathroom could use a bit more charm. The hosts are friendly as well as the owner, when he is in the country. You get an insight in thier forest work and get to know the jungle from close. not a place for luxury freaks but a great place to enjoy the country from the cheap side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36MarcoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal_Tena_Naui, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hostal Tena Naui, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for staying in our hostel, we're happy, that you felt fine in our hostel, we wish you a good trip, enyoing this beautiful state of Ecuador.

Regards,

Hostal tena Ñaui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    0
    3
    10
See reviews for
7
18
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are an Australian couple and we stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013. The rooms were huge, the house was big, clean, light-filled and very homely. Jens (the owner) and Robbie (the manager) were so helpful with anything we needed. I got sick while I was here and they even drove me into town to go to the doctor and made me a soup for free to help me recover. It feels like staying in someone's home, not a hotel. I would highly recommend it.
The breakfast cooked by Robbies' wife is huge and so delicious (she used to work in a breakfast restaurant). They can also arrange tours for you although the guides are not super experienced or that great (although I think this is true for most guides in Tena, not just at Tena Nawi). However, Jens will give you maps and directions for you to do lots of things by yourself (such as go to other towns nearby to go tubing) which is very helpful. Thanks so much Tena Nawi for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called 'Naui' and it was huge! Had a double and single bed and a big b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal_Tena_Naui, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hostal Tena Naui, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for staying in our hostel, we're happy, that you felt fine in our hostel, we wish you a good trip, enyoing this beautiful state of Ecuador.

Regards,

Hostal tena Ñaui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The guesthouse lies on a hill above Tena. The view over the city is breathtaking! The prepared breakfast was good and the rooms were spacious and clean. Ask for the rooms with the view!
You can reach town with shops, restaurants and bars in 10 minutes by foot. All the important stuff is on Avenue 15th November or at the other site of the bridge, which makes it very easy to navigate in the city.

I booked different jungle tours. Lisan Yacu with the hidden waterfall was incredible. The indigenous guides know the jungle like their own pocket and show you all the plants and (if you're lucky) interesting animals. I saw snakes, sloths, monkeys, huge and beautiful butterflies, and heard parrots flying by!
I can also recommend very much to go to the Apayacu forest, where you can find a huge tree with a hut on the top, the so-called 'bird tower'. From there you can watch into the top of other tree giants and observe the rain-forest from above... unforgettable!

Robby from Germany welcomed us at the house, was very nice and made us feel comfortable. He knows so much about the rainforest! Just ask him, he will explain you everything! We spoke German to him, but I think he speaks English as well, and Spanish anyway :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal_Tena_Naui, Geschäftsführer at Hostal Tena Naui, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We from the Hostal Tena Ñaui are satisfie, that you felt good in our house and that you also had a good experience in your jungle trip, thank you for choosing us and have a nice trip ,

Regards,

Hostal tena Ñaui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I agree totally with "YannickttiW". The Casa Tena Nawi is so beautiful and quiet, but youre super fast in the middle of Tena. It is a lot of fun to drive with the pick up taxi ;) Everything within easy to reach Super Tia, Internet Cafes, Doctors, Cafes, Bars, Clubs.
And next to the Guesthouse, about 400 meters there is a little shop.
I had a room downstairs and it was very pleasant! Not too hot (as I thought at first) you can open the windows at night, no mosquitos.
What I also would like to highly recommend is to spend a few days in the rainforest with Agencia de Viajes Mundopuma. There are so many things, great things to see and experience. You can also support the rainforest protection, because the Asociacion Lisanyacu-Illoqulin, the social organization of the inhabitants of the Upper Rio Illoculin can work on tourism.
And I'll remember all my life! many thanks for this wonderful time! And I will come back in any case! Saludos y ama la vida!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LunaFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal_Tena_Naui, Manager at Hostal Tena Naui, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank youm for your recommadation, we're proud, that you felt fine in our hostel and enjoid yo jungle trips to our cabins. teh Team from Hostal Tena Ñaui wish you a good rest-trip,

thank you,

Hostel Tena Ñaui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The guesthouse is located a little bit outside from Tena's City Center on a hill. If you want to walk, it takes between 15-20 minutes from the main bus station. It's a little bit strenuous and you should wear sneakers. It's better to take a taxi which costs about 1,5 $. Don't ask the taxi driver for the price because then he'll know that you're not familiar with the regular prices and will ask you for "tourist price" which is about 3-5 $.

The guesthous offers a big kitchen and terrace with a great overview over Tena Valley. Some of the rooms have that great view too, don't forget to ask for them. Since it's situated a little bit outside the city there's no noise made by cars and you nearly feel the tropical rainforest. There a lot of exotic plants in- and outside the property. Although it's close to the forest I had no problems with mosquitos.

Through the guesthouse owner it's possible to organise excursions to the rainforest e.g. to the small rain forest station Lisanyacu close to Tena (one day excursion) or to Yasuni National Park (couple of days).

This is a great place for adventurous people!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YannickttiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiagoriosecuador, Propietario at Hostal Tena Naui, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Thanks for your comments. Since February 2017, Tena Ñaui is Managed by Rios Ecuador, we are and adventure operator since 1996, So we know what you need. We will try to give you the best experience in our place. For the next time we will provide the best experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tena hotels
72.3 mi away
Hostal Los Yutzos
Hostal Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
54 reviews
79.3 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
89.3 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.2 mi away
La CasaBlanca
La CasaBlanca
#9 of 29 in Tena
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Austria
Hostal Austria
#2 of 13 in Tena
9 reviews
71.5 mi away
Hostal Limoncocha
Hostal Limoncocha
#6 of 29 in Tena
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tena Naui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tena Naui

Property: Hostal Tena Naui
Address: Via las Antenas, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Tena Naui 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sun terrace with spectacular views of the Andean mountains can be enjoyed in the Hostal Tena Naui. Hostal Tena Naui is surrounded by rainforest and is only 1 km from Amazonas Park. Private parking is free. Rooms at Tena Naui may feature shared or private bathrooms with warm water showers. Rooms with tree Wi-Fi, garden and mountain views can be booked. No smoking is allowed in the hotel. Guests can make use of the common kitchen facilities for an extra fee. Tena's commercial area is 1 km away and the beach circuit is 2 km from the hotel. Jumandy Airport is 50 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hostal Tena Naui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing