We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Excelente!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I highly recommend Anaconda Lodge! The staff is great, the food is awesome and the accommodations are very comfortable. Beautiful place, great jungle experience! The guides are very knowledgeable about the jungle and surrounding areas. The tours show many sides of the jungle including the way the natives live and their modern day struggles. The cook is incredibly talented and every meal was great, made with mostly local products. Best food I had in all of Ecuador, hands down. It was very neat to see a real Shaman conduct a ceremony and while I was there some natives showed up after a two day hike to offer some of their beautiful artisan goods. Definitely would like to return and take my family/friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nate_rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank's for your beutiful words. For us it was great metting you...the best of all is that you got our message. Take care and we will be waiting for you...Bienvenido a tu casa en la Amazonia Ecuatoriana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
52
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I highly disagree with the review from the person from Georgia. I, too, am an American and well traveled. I found Anaconda Lodge to be one of my lifetime experiences. Enrique, our guide, was like a walking encyclopedia and helped me, and my cousins from Quito, better understand the life of the jungle, the indigenous culture, and the history of the Kichwa people. We also went to an animal reserve to see various species of monkeys, birds, ocelots, tapirs, and so much more, all from the region. It was absolutely incredible. The guides were volunteers, mostly students, and spoke every language.
We were three women traveling alone and had the lodge to ourselves. The hospitality was beyond belief with exceptional cuisine made with local ingredients. Francisco and Sylvia were available for any question or need we might have, in other words, highly attentive.
Our accomodations were clean with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. In my opinion, they have created a wonderful place to get away from the stress of everyday city life, and also found a way to educate visitors in a nonthreatening way of a different existence.
I plan to return with my husband and/or children so they, too, can experience the wonders of the Amazon Region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Anaconda Lodge, it was a great experience. The excursions were great, Carlos, are guide made it much better. The owners, Silvia and Francisco made us feel like we were at home, there attencion was perfect. The food is very good, all cocked by Rodrigo, the best chef in the Amazon.
We stayed 4 nights. Are cabin the Huaorani was imazing, all kind of birds singing in the morning.
We wish the best luck to Anaconda Lodge, at least for us it was a a great experience with the nature.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank tou for coming to stay at the Lodge. It's was very nice metting you both. We hope that you will be back soon...as you said...Thanks again...Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Are trip to Anaconda Lodge was wonderful!
We stayed 3 nights, which were spectacular, the cabins are in the jungle so you can listen to all kinds of birds and animals of the jungle.

The Amazon jungle tours are guided by a native Kichwa named Carlos, the best that I've had, speaks very good English.

The rooms are spectacular, comfortable, bathroom are very clean and the beds excellent! The balcony has hammocks where you can relax after a day of hiking to hear the birds and the sound of the Amazon.

The owners are wonderful people, they are always helpful, I really felt at home, there slogan is well named; "Welcome to your home in the Ecuadorian Amazon," because it was what I felt with the group.

It's the ideal place to spend a few days exploring the Amazon, I recommend it!

James Selby
Australia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

When you get to Anaconda Lodge you never expect that you will feel at home. My wife and I spended 6 nights there, it was amazing, everything, the cabin (Kichwa), the FOOD is GREAT, the tours in the primary jungle is magnificent, the hospitility of the owners, Silvia and Francisco is incredible, they made us felt as we were at home.
The Chef, Rodrigo is a great man!
My wife and I recomend this Lodge to any body that whants to spend a beutiful time in the Ecuadorian Amazon!

Room Tip: All the cabins are excelent, we stayed in the Kichwa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

HeadsUp: notice that every review of this property, except one, was written by a person that only had that one review. Hum!? Where is the credibility? Another reality check... this lodge is NOT in the Old growth jungle, not even close. The old jungle is gone. This lodge is a few kilometer from a new airport and, then by a canoe, on a island that was 40 years ago real jungle but now has very little connection to the jungle that most people imagine. There is NO jungle life to be found, including birds, unless you count a few chickens in a nearby hut as jungle life. OK? Got the picture. That said, Anaconda Lodge is one of the oldest jungle lodges in the area. It was purchased recently and has been refurbished by new owners. They have done a good job in cleaning up the property and making the rooms comfortable. The food at the lodge can be good but by the time we left it was disappointing. You will be lucky to get fish or chicken once every other day. Most likely your meals will be veterinarian... the plates will be good but could be much better. So if you are looking for a get-a-way for a few days then this lodge will do, but if you are looking for a genuine jungle experience then you will have to go deeper than this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Regretfully this passenger did not pay the bill, he owns Anaconda Lodge more than US$200.00
So what ever he says about us is all lies. Please other hotels or lodges, take care of this person, he is not a nice person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Living the Amazonas experience and having fan. The food delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianRobledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
12.7 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
5.4 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
12.9 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#11 of 30 in Tena
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
146 reviews
9.5 mi away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#9 of 30 in Tena
56 reviews
5.9 mi away
Itamandi EcoLodge
Itamandi EcoLodge
#12 of 61 in Napo Province
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaconda Lodge Ecuador

Property: Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Address: Isla Anaconda s/n, Ahuano Amazonia | Rio Napo y Arajuno, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador is to discover the nature, jungle, the world that was born on a sea of fresh water. Today, we want to show and tell all the adventures of a region that refuses to be changed.Native peoples with their beliefs, myths, legends and knowledge. Rainforests still present in all its forms, rivers flowing from the Andes are headed to the Atlantic Ocean loaded with sediments and tannins that irrigate these clay soils.Share with us experiences by visiting these awesome places, native houses, primary rainforest, jungle in constant evolution, and in daily conversations, discover how it was born the "lungs of the world", who were the ancestral groups that inhabited these parts as the Western men is changing.We are on an island in the midst of the mighty Napo River and its beautiful tributaries, we are in the jungle, we are returning into the past with modern comforts, with a varied cuisine that combines perfectly the traditional local and international dishes, an excellent bar, tours with native guides and many other activities.In other words, a cultural tourism on behalf of ecology, native peoples and in close contact with nature.Welcome to your home in the Ecuadorian Amazon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anaconda Lodge Ecuador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing