We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jumandi Caves

Jumandi Caves
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: http://ecuador.travel/en/ecuador-travel-guide/amazon-rainforest-basin/amazonia-destinations-and-attractions/jumandi-caves.html
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just book it or go on your own, one of the best places!!! It's amazing! The Caves are great, the pool is great, the food was great, the guides were great!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CelineF20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun adventure but not spectacular beauty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The first time we went there in July there was no wait or line and the two of us went without a group with our own guide. My favorite part was using the line to pull myself across and swimming in the water in the dark. My other boyfriend's flashlight went out making walking and ducking difficult. Good flashlights are a must! The big surprise is that when sitting down in a cramped area at the end we all turned off our flashlights and then when we were told to turn them back on our guide's face was covered in mud and he told us folklore strories. When I returned with my group of students in July this year there was a long line but since we were with a lodge our guides and the owner of the lodge moved us to the front of the line. I stayed and had ice cream with those who didn't want to enter. The pools on the property our huge, warm (though not super clean) and have long fun water slides. The whole thing not including waiting in line takes less than an hour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageusedumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The history behind the caves is very interesting as well as the caves themselves, especially the stalactites. Don't expect to see animals, we only saw a couple of bats and a large spider. You go inside the caves with a guide; they like to go with a group of at least 10-12 people, so you might have to wait for the group to form. The guide provides a headlamp for every two people and the tour is about 45 min to 1 hr long. The path is somewhat difficult. You need to wear shoes and clothes that can get wet. The overall facilities (bathrooms and changing rooms) are not great, but good enough.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“kill some time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

No need to make this a priority. The cave tour will cost about 5 bucks total. Its not bad but I had to wait a while to get on the tour. Its a good thing to see but there are other things (like Misahuali, Hakana Matata, rafting, jungle tours...) that should take priority.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank viewhaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Strip Down to the Bare Minimum and Go Get Muddy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Upon arriving to Cavernas Jumandy (Jumandy Caves) we were greeted by an indigenous local guide. He instructed us to strip down to the bare minimum (underwear or swimsuits) promise that we were not afraid of the dark nor claustrophobic and handed us headlamps. We followed him into the caves as he explained their history and gave us tips on safety.

As we entered deeper into the caves the only light source were our headlamps. We approached a body of water and swam across the deep and cold pool to the other side. Our guide stood on a ledge, pointed the light of his headlamp into the middle and said "Jump here" he then yelled, dove, and came up encouraging us to do the same. Of course we obliged.

After the initial exhilaration of jumping into a dark pool in a cave we climbed amongst the stalagmites and stalactites stopping to view a certain phallic formation of Jumandy and then were led into a small steamy room to rub our bodies with mud that is said to 'cure cancer'. We were enticed to follow our guide a few at a time to another room that was also filled with mud but was a bit difficult to get to. We took the opportunity and were well-rewarded.

Continuing our hike through the cave we came across another waterfall and pools to do additional cave swimming and climbed out to hike back down to the main complex.

You can make this attraction an adventure or you can make it simple and short. Of course, I recommend you take the opportunity to enjoy this well-organized tourist attraction and ask you guide to give you an adventure.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumandi Caves also viewed

 
Tena, Napo Province
Tena, Napo Province
 

Been to Jumandi Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing