We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Clean and Quiet”
Review of La Casa del Abuelo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Abuelo
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quaint, Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hostel is in a great location - 5 min walk from the bus stop, yet far enough that it was quiet and secure. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bathrooms were of a great size. There is a common area with a pool table and bar. It is also close to the river where you can go swimming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmh69d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

we stayed in this hotel (more like a family run bed and breakfast) 3 nights. It is in a quiet part of the town, away from traffic. The room was nice, very spacious and comfortable. It was, however, a bit loud - we could hear our neighbors and the kitchen noises. It was fine as nobody stayed up late or listened to music. We have not really met the staff and when we did, they were not very friendly - just doing the required minimum. The receptionists were almost never there. They did not speak much English so could not help us with our questions about taxis, buses, etc. The breakfast (not included in the price!) is fine, but nothing special. I would rather go to Cafe Tortuga - for the same price, one get better and more food. I don't think in Tena there are many nice places to stay so overall I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The top floor has big room with small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp, WA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Casa is a great place to stay in Tena. My wife and I stayed on the top floor and found the room to be fantastic. The room had a deck with frig, coffee maker, and sink. The room was really nice, clean and of good size. The owners were extremely nice and accommodating. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top story might very well be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A very charming hotel, we - a group of 14 - enjoyed the stay. The rooms were clean, the breakfast good and WLAN has been provided for free. And for relaxing in the evening a recreation room with a billiard table and TV for at least 20 persons was available. Walkway to downtown Tena: 10 min!
I highly recommend to choose the hotel for your stay in Tena!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a beautiful old home that has been well maintained. The room was very comfortable with a nice bed, sheets and towels, like if you were staying at an expensive hotel. We paid $30/night for a couple and it was a great value. We felt like we were staying at a nice B&B. they had a small restaurant and a game/lounge area with a TV, movies and an Xbox. It was on a quiet street but a short walk to everything. Probably the most comfortable room I have stayed in, in South America.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed here, on this occasion leading two tour groups. All were happy here. The house is charmingly constructed with whitewashed walls with thick timber floors, wooden beams and stairwell, and is tastefully decorated. Rooms are very clean and nicely appointed, with TV, comfortable beds, clean bedding, and decent clean bathrooms. Air conditioning in every room is quiet and efficient, and the hot water is plentiful (unless every showers at once!!). There is free wi-fi available on each floor, (usually) with a very good connection. Breakfast is very tasty and filling (freshly queezed juice too!), and the staff are wonderful and friendly. Our rooms cost USD $20 plus 12.5% tax, and are very good value. For extra, there's a suite on the top floor with excellent views. Oh, and it's usually very quiet at night too, but in Tena and all Ecuador you can never control (or anticipate) what noise might disturb your sleep! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Top floor suite (room 10) is more expensive but worth it for all round views and comfort. On the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This delightful and charming residence was enjoyed by my husband and I for ten days while on a Sunstreak Tours butterfly excursion with eight other participants. It is located on the west side of the river, is peaceful and relatively quiet (local dogs in the area would occasionally make their presence known). The hostel is within walking distance of good restaurants, is clean and has caring and friendly staff that did everything possible to ensure we had a memorable stay. Breakfasts were good, and could be tailored to personal preferences. Hot/cold water in the showers was not a problem and especially welcome after a long day in the field, air conditioning in most rooms, and fans added to our comfort. Linens and towels changed frequently and in excellent condition. WiFi was spotty upstairs, but worked well downstairs and a communal computer station resolved most issues of needing to communicate with the outside world. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cidrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Yutzos
Hostal Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hostal Limoncocha
Hostal Limoncocha
#8 of 29 in Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
0.0 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#11 of 29 in Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#6 of 29 in Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Abuelo

Property: La Casa del Abuelo
Address: Juan Leon Mera No. 628, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing