We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hamadryade Lodge is an Experience you Must Do!”
Review of Hamadryade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamadryade Lodge
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“The Hamadryade Lodge is an Experience you Must Do!”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Nestled in the Amazon Basin, the Hamadryade Lodge is a first class way to stay in the jungles of Ecuador. What first captures your amazement upon arrival, is the beauty of the landscaping, and setting mixed in with the elements that the Amazon basin provides. The lodge as a whole and it's ambiance along with the natural setting that you are in results in a perfect chemistry that makes Hamadryade unlike any other lodge of its kind. The Hamadryade Lodge sets up numerous exploration activities. Adventures include hiking the jungles, waterfall swims, white water rafting, and visiting indigenous people. All fantastic, fun and interesting. The white water rafting will get your blood flowing.
Food at the Hamadryade Lodge is a 10 out of 10 experience. Gourmet breakfasts and dinners are specially prepared for you each day. It's like eating at a 5 star restaurant. Simply superb!
What also separates this experience is the wonderful service given by Sebastien Cazaudehore, proprietor of the lodge. You couldn't dream of being serviced any better.
We highly recommend the Hamadryade Lodge to everyone.

Sincerely
Richard A. Zuckerwar(son) and Richard J. Zuckerwar(Father)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    13
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed in a beautiful, clean bungalow in the jungle (although close to towns), with all the amenities you would expect in a top hotel. The products in the room are all natural and the focus of the Hamadryade Lodge is on being respectful of the environment while living in great comfort. Breakfast and dinner are served, the food both interesting and delicious. The proprietor is warm, friendly and good-natured. If you are interested in going to the Amazon it's a perfect place to experience the jungle while being able to relax in a serene and lovely setting when not exploring. It was pure pleasure to stay there. I hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicity100648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Loved it. The grounds were beautiful. The views were fantastic. It was very clean, and well maintained. The owner also manages the property and gives a very personal touch, which we really liked. Food was really good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lind0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2010

From start to finish, our time with Sebastian and Melanie, the ownders and managers of Hamdryade Lodge, was fabulous. It is very much a detail oriented experience with fabulous meals, modern ammenities, a design that fits in with the Amazonian experience. They are well connected and respected in the town and surrounding region and this makes it possible to do just about anything easily and with safety as a priority. Hiking in the jungle is literally a few steps outside your door, riding rhe rapids on class IV river easily found and great guides with The River People (as for Tim and his equally fun brother), tours of native villages on weekdays, playing with the monkeys in town square (buy eggs to give them), and lots more. Bedrooms and bathrooms TOP notch. The food was so good we were surprised until we realized they are truly French and have the flair of experimentation backed by classic French cuisine. Overall, a fantastic experience to complement our other chapters (The Mirage near Otavalo and the Royal Palm Hotel in Santa Cruz Galapagos). All of these are on the expensive side but we figured that this was a trip of a lifetime and so went first class and it has made a huge bank of memories for us that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes3619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Beautiful location, very nice and spacy rooms with a beautiful view over the Amazone forest and a river. The lodge is made with respect for nature AND local people. The owners are very friendly, they serve excellent home-cooked meals, the bar boasts nice wines. The lodge has a nice yet small swimmingpool that overviews the river and the forest. A nice lot of excursions can be done: a hike witth guide trough the Amazone forest, rafting, massages, butterflyfarm...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki_vleeschouwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We just spent 2 amazing nights at Hamadryade Lodge. It was a wonderful way to experience the jungle. Sebastian and Melanie were the perfect hosts and provided excellent service - from delicious meals, to arranging fabulous day trips, to even taking us to lunch in the nearby village. They make you feel like you are part of the family. Our bugelow was beautiful with an amazing view of the river and jungle. The food (artfully prepared by Sebastian) was some of the best food we had in Ecuador. The only downside was that we only had 2 nights. We would have loved a 3rd and even a 4th night. We recommend Hamadryade to anyone wanting to experience the jungle with a little luxury and lots of comfort. Finally, don't skip the white water rafting trip arranged by the lodge with a local river rafting company. It was an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KmanSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We adored our visit to Hamadryade Lodge in Tena. The owners, Sebastian and Melanie have created the perfect location for the life changing experience of visiting the amazon rainforest. Our bungalow was both chic and comfortable while not detracting for the beauty of our jungle/river view. Upon arrival we decided to extend our trip by a day and within minutes Sebastian was able to rearrange our itinerary to include the adventure of white water rafting in the Amazon. Imagine! The experience of waking up to a beautiful breakfast while gazing into the rainforest and listening to the sounds of the jungle cannot be described. To be traveling in a raft down the Amazon an hour later is certainly an experience we will never forget. Everything about Hamadryade is special.
The rooms and service are first class. The food is delicious. The owners will design a complete itinerary to include anything from a canoe trip down the amazon to hiking with a local guide who can educate and introduce travelers to the wonders of the rainforest. Simply relaxing in a hammock by the fresh water pool and enjoying the beautiful view is a memorable experience in itself. Hamadryade sits on a magnificent piece of property that Melanie and Sebastian have designed specifically to compliment and respect the natural magnificence of the jungle. We will return and will recommend Hamadryade to anyone traveling to Ecuador.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crew560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
0.6 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
8.2 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
15.8 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sinchi Warmi
Sinchi Warmi
#10 of 30 in Tena
30 reviews
19.4 mi away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#9 of 30 in Tena
56 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Christian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamadryade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamadryade Lodge

Property: Hamadryade Lodge
Address: Via Misahualli km 11, Tena, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamadryade Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamadryade Lodge is a luxurious hotel located in the High Amazon region, near Puerto Misahualli. This ecosystem, even if it is still the Amazonian Rainforest, is very different that the one in Lower regions. We are at 500mts altitude with hills and small mountains. Therefore, the climate remains pleasant all year round (24°C in average), and the absence of swamps allows an easier access to the more remote zones of Primary Rainforest, and of course the most positive consequence, is that we do not suffer from the presence of mosquitoes and Malaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hamadryade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamadryade Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing