We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay nowhere else”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Riversdale, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
SunnyKZN
Umhlanga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stay nowhere else”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

From the minute we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. After being warmly greeted by Charles and Esme we were told that we had been upgraded to the bigger unit as it was not booked. What a wonderfully comfortable unit it was - extremely well kitted out with every thing you could need and more and wonderful little touches created with so much love. We felt more like locals than visitors, sitting on our stoep with a glass of wine, watching the sunset. My husband came here to some historical research on his family and Charles went the extra mile to obtain the information he was needing. It seemed to us that nothing was too much trouble for this charming couple. Highly recommended as an overnight stop or a few nights stay to escape city life.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2017
Hi Hugh & Bridget,
We really appreciate your time in writing this very positive review. Thank you so much. It was a privilege hosting you and we hope to see you again whenever you pass this way.
Nostalgia greetings,
Charles & Esmé
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Optoor
1 review
“Tranquillity and peace of mind”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had to book an immediate accommodation due to a property offer in Riversdale. John and Esme the owners of Nostalgia Guest house welcome me, my wife and 2 little daughters warmly and informed us of restaurants and activities we can attend during our brief stay. They offer the best value, wonderful service and have scenic cottage venues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2016
We wish to thank you for the very positive review. It is always encouraging to hear that our guests are satisfied and that they enjoyed their stay at Nostalgia Self Catering Guest House.
We hope to see you again in future.
Nostalgia greetings, Charles & Esmé
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
Pirna, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The owner are really taking care on you!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely guesthouse with very helpful and friendly owners. Very clean and comfortable. Furnished with love to the detail. We received a personal welcome card and gift with homemade jam. Each morning we received selfmade cereals together with organic joghurt and fruits - delicious. Can highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very friendly and helpful owners
Liked least: that it was winter
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Dear Bettina & Andreas,
We thank you for your kind words which is much appreciated. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable and satisfactory stay at Nostalgia Guest House. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Riversdale.
Nostalgia greetings
Charles & Esme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRademeye...
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
“Warm, welcoming home away from home”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Special thanks to Charles and Esme for the warm welcome to their home. The spacious living area as well as comfortable bedroom offered everything needed for a relaxing stay. Attention to detail and beautiful interior makes it even more special. I would definitely recommend it to anybody visiting Riversdale.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Thanks Lolita for the kind words and for your time taken to write the review for us. It was so pleasant meeting you and we look forward in seeing you on your next visit to Riversdale! Nostalgia greetings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil O
Beaufort West, South Africa
2 reviews
“The stay was beyond expactation, calm and peacefully and what a view.”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The reception was so warming and gently. the stay at the farm was beyond expectation. We enjoyed the peace and calmness. The farmhouse is indeed something to experience. We'll gladly recommend the place to family and friends. Thanks Charles and Esmè.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the farm and the house itself
Liked least: The television was not available
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Thank you Neil for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we look forward in seeing you when you visit Riversdale again.
Nostalgia greetings
Charles & Esme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
386merrie
Stilbaai, South Africa
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Charles, Esme Thanks for your friendly, kind hospitality. We appreciate the cosy, comfy, clean environment. We can highly recommend Nostalgia guest house for great accommodation.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Hi Cecelia,
It was a great pleasure meeting you and your parents. Thank you for choosing Nostalgia Guest House for your overnight stay in Riversdale.
We hope to see you again in future.
All the best for you and your family.
Nostalgia greetings,
Charles & Esme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Personal Touch”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a lovely stay over. Friendly and charming owners. Loved the decor and cleanliness of the interior. Enjoy sitting on the front porch with your first cup of Java. Safety no issue. Will definitely stay over again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Rene, thank you so much for your time writing a review and for your positive and encouraging words. It was a true pleasure meeting and having you to stay. Looking forward to seeing you again! Nostalgia greetings, Charles and Esme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing