We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient stopover on way to the Garden Route” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeping Beauty Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Riversdale B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and convenient stopover on way to the Garden Route”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Charming old rectory in a quiet part of town. Lovely gardens with great views of the Sleeping Beauty Mountain, and an intriguing labyrinth. Caring and attentive owner/hosts ensure a very comfortable and relaxed stay. Newly completed self-catering wing will suit families and backpackers. At just over 3 hours drive from Cape Town this is a very attractive and convenient stopover for tourists on their way to the Garden Route. We will return.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have stunning views over the back garden towards the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

After a long drive this was a wonderful dinner bed and breakfast experience for us. We had an enormous room overlooking a beautiful garden which stretches back a long way with adjacent gardens housing horses. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you will need, it is an old house which is charming and it has a slightly old fashioned feel which is part of it's charm.
The owners Monica and Jinger are really delightful hosts and we enjoyed their company and a very good supper and breakfast prepared by Monica, there are plenty of paintings and drawings on the walls and lovely views front and back of the house to the mountains, there are plenty of birds visiting the garden and friendly dogs in the house, all in all a memorable and happy experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We wanted to break up our trip travelling up the garden route from Cape Town to Plettenberg bay and needed a half way stop over. Perfect find! Sleeping beauty offered exactly what we were looking for - comfortable accomodation in beautiful tranquil surroundings and warm friendly service. The rooms were larger than average and beds very comfortable. Had a hearty breakfast in the morning and the friendly hosts Monica and Jinger gave us plenty of useful information about the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forres
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Monica and Jinja were excellent hosts for our overnight stay in Riversdale. We enjoyed a lovely meal, modestly priced at their table. A really enjoyable evening. They live in a charming authentically period house with lovely gardens.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandraForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

We spent one night in the Sleeping Beauty Guest House and had a very pleasant stay. Monica and Ginger are very nice hosts and made us feel right at home. They could tell us a lot about this beautiful area, on which their garden has the best view! The guest house itself is a beautiful Victorian style old building with magnificent old rooms.
We would have loved to spend more time in and around Riversdale, but had to get on the road toward Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonjaenbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

Our first overnight stop after leaving Cape Town and the hosts were helpful and welcoming but the house unfortunately does need a lot of TLC. The house could be fabulous but probably does need a lot of money spending on it.

Riversdale was an ideal stop for our trip ultimately to Joburg and although very quiet we did have a good meal in Legends, which seems to have a good reputation with quite a few locals eating there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ml1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulgong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

Being so close to the busy town centre of Riversdale we were surprised by the tranquility of the guest house. The rooms are very spacious, with high ceilings and fans, with the street facing rooms having a balcony .There is off street parking beneath large shady trees. This is an old colonial house, so don't expect perfection. The wall paper is lifting in some small areas, the floor boards squeak in the upstairs hallway and on hot summer days the ceiling fans don't quite cut it. But it does have, in abundance, an old world personal charm you just don't find much of these days, and that not only applies to the building but also to the hosts who are lovely people, and have an excellent knowledge of the area.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
20.1 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Riversdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
22.8 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
20.4 mi away
A Farm Story @ Stilbaai
A Farm Story @ Stilbaai
#1 of 6 in Stilbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Beauty Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Beauty Guest House

Property: Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Address: 3 Long Street | P.O. Box 413, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Riversdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Beauty Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Victorian parsonage with all amenities, set in a beautiful country garden. Our guest house is on the edge of town backing onto the Vette river ensuring peace and tranquility. You will enjoy the personal attention of the owners and experience country hospitality of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sleeping Beauty Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing