We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stop-over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Riversdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stop-over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Chef/Hotelier Christopher was very welcoming, the pool was refreshing, the food and wine were good and the accommodation was everything we wished for. Worth visiting the Africana museum, which is close by in Riversdale.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    53
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
66
178
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very good restaurant, staff, atmosphere,ambiance very good for family too, Riversdale is a great place to stay and have a relaxing time and is close to the small town for some shopping and mountain walk

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eliane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A quiet place to relax, enjoy excellent food and outstanding hospitality. Traveling the N2 it is worth to stop here and get "batteries recharged". We stayed an extra night even though Riversdal by itself is not so exciting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

What can I say - superb find in Riversdale! Christopher (Chef AND Manager) and his staff were absolutely amazing. We stayed in one of the cottages, which was fantastic and could walk in the vineyard. The food was excellent and we could not fault a thing. Their wine - grown and produced here, which we enjoyed thoroughly were "Blanc de Noir 2nd Divine Blush - Veritas" and their Red "Louis Meurant - Syrah" Had to buy a case to take home!!
We highly recommend this Gem and will definitely be returning here - soon!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very professional service. Peaceful and quiet. Our host was a real treat. Wonderful areas for cycling. Lovely pool in garden. Cosmopolitan atmosphere with French, British and German voices around you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed overnight and were very surprised at just how lovely de doorenkraal was. Accommodation is absolutely perfect. The food was excellent and delicious (unfortunately we had just had a nasty bug and just could not get it down despite trying). We will definately be back to try again. Staff were amazing with nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights at De Doornkraal. The hotel was very nice, rooms tastefully decorated and a pleasant garden atmosphere. Breakfasts were really good. I liked the way the waiters continuously replenished the buffet. Nothing worse than having the dregs of the fruit salad!A lot of the food was grown in the garden and one could order local wines, as well, for dinner. The atmosphere was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
20.1 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
22.8 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
#3 of 8 in Riversdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Riversdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#1 of 12 in Stilbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Property: De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Long Street, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Riversdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Experience charming countryside hospitality in South Africa - We are committed to providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests feel that they are at home whilst away from home. Our good-natured team are proud that De Doornkraal has been recognized as the best four star Country House in South Africa, as well as the best in our province two years running at the prestigious Lilizela Tourism Awards – 2014 and 2015. In addition we also are proud recipients of The TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing