We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Riversdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hemingford Abbots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treated like Royalty”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On arrival, and even before the car had stopped, a member of staff was there to welcome us - even addressing me by name!!
The service was impeccable and very attentive. The garden cottage was delightful in lovely surroundings with a separate sitting room. Perhaps the bathroom could have been a little warmer?
The best part was the attention Christopher showed us throughout our stay. We toured the garden and wine making facilities.
The dinner and breakfast were excellent.
Thank you Christopher and his team for making our stay so welcoming


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank K88MAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
It is with great pride that I was able to share your review with the members of staff who deserve to know what an impact their hard work makes on our overseas visitors, thank you so much for also mentioning the great food that my young brigade of chefs prepared and presented to you folks.

I wish to also thank you for pointing out that your bathroom in The Garden Cottage was a bit chilly; I must say after investigating this personally from a guest's perspective - I am in agreement. I shall investigate the options and will install perhaps a suitable bathroom safe heater in this unit (the bathroom is back against a lot of large trees and does not get much sun in winter - so a solution has to be affected).

Kindest Regards from all of your loyal subjects here at De Doornkraal ... Keep Shining !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    53
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
67
179
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bredasdorp
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a long day of business and travel I couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay the night. The staff are all very friendly and go all the way to make your stay is "as good as can get"! Lovely breakfast. I will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind mention of the team's contribution to making the end of a long day's work a comfortable one. We as a matter of policy are mindful that when it comes to business travelers; they arrive after a days work - which means we have to make folks feel as if they are arriving at their own home - with us having the responsibility of anticipating their needs and expectations. We hope to see you again at De Doornkraal soonest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived at De Doornkraal we were made to feel so welcome. A lovely glass of the estates own wine was awaiting us as we stepped into our beautiful room, with huge free standing bath & seperate living area. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and couldn't have done anymore to make our stay better.

We had a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant, with lots of very fresh vegetables straight from the hotels garden. Dessert was heavenly.

Breakfast again was wonderful with lots of fruit and freshly baked muffins then a delicious cooked breakfast. It was the nicest breakfast we had during our whole holiday.

I highly recommend this hotel, we were only in Riversdale very briefly while driving the garden route but I would make this a definite stop if I was ever in the area again for its wonderful food, hospitality and comfortable rooms.

A big thanks to the chef & his staff for making us so welcome with our baby girl.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We wish to thank you so much for taking the time of giving us a review ... I am always thrilled when our guest's expectations are met and then exceeded some - I credit the staff with taking my view seriously that our guests should be treated as if they are being welcomed into our own homes as long lost relatives.

I blush when you told us that our breakfast was just what the doctor ordered and am proud to say that many of the young chefs in the brigade are using their new found skills at their homes (such as preparing home made yoghurt).

We all send our warmest regards and a special twinkle of our eyes goes to your beautiful princess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

this was an excellent 2 day get away from the buzz in the city. the location is fabulous, quite and clean the air that you breath is clean. The cottages which we occupied was clean warm and will definately stay there again. Food was excellent. thank you for a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicolette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Madame ... it was an honor and a privilege to be able to be of service to yourself and your wonderful family. I myself constantly brag about the fact that we have "Champagne Air", here in Riversdale. All of the staff here at the kraal wish your young son all the very best apropos his new beginning at one of our local and world class schools.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a gem of a place the De Doornkraal is! Don't be fooled by the "Country House and vineyard" though, this small hotel is situated just of the town's main street and not in rolling countryside and vineyards. The place oozes character within the buildings which are well maintained& full of charm and the same can be said for the attentive and friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble. Comfortable beds, good bathroom facilities, clean, homely. Great breakfasts and dinners served in the cosy restaurant by Chef Peppas and his team of enthusiastic young staff. Lots of nice art work adorn the walls along with quality furnishings. Chef went out of his way to provide all we needed for a memorable stay including organising a wine tasting visit to too a near by vineyard. Lovely garden and pool for relaxing too! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu-Abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I almost wish you folks were still here ... I have to say that I am moved that you have such nice things to say about our team; our team are learning day to day and without them we would be up the creek without a paddle. I may be the head ..... but they are the spine !! Keep Shining !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As a "walk in customer" Wow ! Chris and his staff were absolutely "Phenomenal" accommmodation was fantastic rooms lovely and spacious. The food was outstanding -Will definately go back again. - Lesley & Leanne

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I was thrilled to read your review ... it is a very important in this day and age that folks like ourselves understand the importance of being as welcoming and accommodating (excuse the pun) apropos walk in guests. if we are able to help then it is a boon for the traveler and ourselves - we are counting the days until you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Old style with new flavour. De Doornkraal and De Wingerdt, located on one of the older streets in Riversdale, has been converted magnificently into top class accommodation and restaurant. The rooms are excellent and well equipped while the staff are professional and very accommodating. While you are here you have to join chef Christopher for an international dinner menu made possible using local, fresh, organic produce. The food is delicious and best accompanied with their own wine...yes they have their own wine too, as if things couldn't get any better.
I very highly recommended reason to stop in Riversdale!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Ah well ... it is us who should be reviewing yourselves with the excellent work that you folks are doing - we at De Doornkraal salute you. Thank you so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
20.1 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
59 reviews
22.8 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
#3 of 8 in Riversdale
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Riversdale
9 reviews
20.2 mi away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Property: De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Long Street, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Riversdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Experience charming countryside hospitality in South Africa - We are committed to providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests feel that they are at home whilst away from home. Our good-natured team are proud that De Doornkraal has been recognized as the best four star Country House in South Africa, as well as the best in our province two years running at the prestigious Lilizela Tourism Awards – 2014 and 2015. In addition we also are proud recipients of The TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing