We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Riversdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We discovered De Doornkraal by accident when we decided that Riversdale was an ideally situated nightstop after leaving Cape Town via Cape Agulhas for Port Elizabeth. The welcome from Chris, Vivienne and the staff was amazing and Chris even took time to help us out with a mobile phone problem in addition to his being the head chef and manager. Accommodation was very comfortable but the jewel in the crown was the restaurant and superb food beautifully prepared by Chris and perfectly accompanied with a 'home made' blanc de noir which must rank as one of South Africa's finest. Our only regret was we were only in for one night; however,De Dooornkraal will definitely feature on our next visit and we will ensure we stay longer and enjoy the local ambience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dunavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I thank you for taking the time of giving us such a nice review .... in this day and age I find that when you go beyond the call of duty; folks respond in such a wonderful way that it quite simply just makes my day. I hope to see you again sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    53
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
67
180
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Lovely spacious room and our own lounge. Excellent meal in the retaurant. Peaceful gardens. Helpful, professional staff. Situated on a quiet road close to the centre of the town but as we were only there for one night we ate in so can't advise on other eating options - but you won't go wrong eating on site! Nothing to dislike about it at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I think that it was George Bernard Shaw who said, "There is no greater Love than the Love of Food". I thank you kindly for your compliments and it just goes to show that if you cook with love and passion with the finest possible ingredients .... it becomes very difficult to go wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Level Contributor
171 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Riversdale was just a 'staging post' for us, but we stayed for 2 nights. It was a slightly quirky experience, but we warmed to Chris Pappas and his staff, and the overall experience was really good. The hotel consists of several old buildings which have been restored with TLC to a high standard. The rooms seem to vary quite a bit, some have their own lounges, others are shared, and there were some separate, very nice, cottages. Lovely swimming pool set in a secluded spot of the main grounds. A really interesting a la carte menu, inspired by a very enthusiastic chef - like we said 'cool bananas'! (you need to stay there to get this...). Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for specific details
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I take great pride in the fact that folks often choose to stay with us to break a long journey and put quite a lot of emphasis on this fact with my team - I must say that if I let my imagination run amok; I picture the days of old when weary travelers got off of their stage coaches they thought of nothing much more than a good comfortable bed and a spiffy meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at De Doornkraal for 2 nights on our tour from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town (having also stayed one night on our 2012 trip). The main attraction was the evening meal provided by the Manager/Chef Christopher and his team - a nice bottle of very reasonably priced wine from their own vineyard is an added bonus. We had a very friendly welcome with coffee provided on arrival and the staff throughout were friendly and efficient. The accommodation was of a good standard and there is a very pretty garden with a pool. We travelled on from Riversdale to Robertson via the R323 and R62 which made an interesting and spectacular change from the N2.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Please forgive me, when I get so excited by the many return visits that we are currently experiencing. This is such a nod to what we are doing here - I hope that when you visit us again you will see improvements on your past visit. I feel that we have still a little way to go, especially with staff development - but am proud that my team that work with me are constantly improving their service and skill sets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We would strongly recommend this hotel. On arrival we were welcomed with smiles and friendliness, which continued throughout our stay. The room, food and service were
excellent. The extra little touches like being introduced to staff were delightful and to hear
that all staff were treated as part of 'the team' admirable. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We all hope to see you again in the near future too .... sooner rather than later. I always let our team know that if I am the "Head", they are the spine - I am always moved when folks pick up on the relationship between ourselves. I think it merely contributes to smiles on dials and a better experience for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having had 4 days on a safari in Port elizabeth - then 3 days in Knysna and a golf trip to Pinnacle Point - my wife chose this hotel because we wanted somewhere to break the journey up on the ay to our final destination - Cape Town. she chose it mainly for the food\ restaurant facility. Originally we booked 1 room.
we arrived around 6:30pm and the welcome was good - and we were shown to our room which was very large and with a sitting room as well. we originally were to stay 1 night but my wife was not well, so we extended to 2 nights and the whole staff (especially Christopher the Chef) were concerned all the time with how my wife was - and genuinely wanted to make sure she was OK. Very nice.
Everything about this small, comfortable hotel was first-class - except maybe the bathrooms (don't expect a fancy chain hotel bathroom, it is good functional local decorations but just right for that) and no air conditioning in the room was a shame, but it was surprisingly OK with a large fan going (if a little noisy) .
Set in a quiet street full of Victorian buildings and gracious town houses, it is a reminder of a colonial age gone-by. The weather was hot when we arrived, 25C and the pool was inviting. The room was clean, cool and welcoming.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. Food was served under cover outside with a view into a shady orchard and herb garden that supplied the kitchen.
The staff were friendly and helpful and this is a good place to stay on the way to somewhere to break up the trip - and enjoy the food and wine.
We will certainly go back if we are in South Africa again.
Thank you

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which was very large and included a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Your heading of the review that you posted made us all very proud. The thing is that when somebody is not well, I feel that to show that you care - may not be a cure but certainly takes the edge off a bit. I have researched the air conditioning issue and have elected to stay old school since we do try to keep our carbon footprint as low as possible - I am planning a new kitchen and part of this will be extending out solar powered heating on the roo0f of the new kitchen; which will also contribute to this policy. I also found that because of the design and layout of our buildings which are all renovated old girls - could possible take away from the aesthetics. I thank you so much for taking the time to write about us and am very honored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If possible, de Doornkraal has improved on last year's excellence. If anyone is looking to break the journey between Cape Town and
Plettenberg Bay or beyond, they need look no further. The Professor, Christopher and their staff have perfected the art of hospitality. The
welcome they give you is only exceeded by the service they provide. Unlike most brochures theirs accurately records exactly what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamboal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am thrilled to have read your review and am happy to say to our guests who repeat visit, that we regard you as part of a family once you have stayed with us. I endeavor to constantly improve on our offering and expect that should you visit us again you will see that improvements are a ongoing part of our emergence strategy. No resting on laurels here - Keep Shining !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
20.1 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
42 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Riversdale
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
#3 of 8 in Riversdale
22 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#1 of 11 in Stilbaai
95 reviews
22.8 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Property: De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Long Street, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Riversdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Experience charming countryside hospitality in South Africa - We are committed to providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests feel that they are at home whilst away from home. Our good-natured team are proud that De Doornkraal has been recognized as the best four star Country House in South Africa, as well as the best in our province two years running at the prestigious Lilizela Tourism Awards – 2014 and 2015. In addition we also are proud recipients of The TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing