We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Albertinia Hotel(Albertina)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
$102
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Hotel(Mossel Bay)(Great Value!)
$53
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portao Diaz(Mossel Bay)(Great Value!)
$36
$26
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
263
63
17
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
63
17
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape towngarden routehis teamchef peppasone nightcountry housegarden cottagehidden gemgreat foodsmall townmain buildingcool bananasfood and winewelcome drinkdinner menuquiet streetthe cottages
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 356 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We (2 couples) got to this little boutique hotel by chance, on our drive from Tsitsikamma Park to Stellenbosch, and certainly the gods were smiling to us!
The rooms were lovely, very clean and pretty.
Ches Peppas was the best!
He cooked us an amazing dinner, the best we ate in South Africa, and went out of his way to make us enjoy the meal.
In the morning, we were still so full from dinner that we requested that our hot breakfast be packed for us as luch. Chef Peppas did not hesitate, and we got everything prepared for us inside sandwiches, decorated, with extra goodies, and little stickers on the stryrofoam boxes! Needless to say - lunch out was wonderful!
Chef also created a Tourist Information Center right in the reception area of the hotel, and in the morning, printed us maps, asked around for recommendations for hotels along our way, suggested places to go, and finally, planned the most beautiful route for us from Riversdale to Franschhoek, a road we would not have travelled on our own.
Chef gave freely of his time and knowledge (we even got a reci[pe!), and all was done with good cheer, generosity, and a smile!
He introduced his staff to us and we saw how much he cares for them, and how he mentors them into professional chefs. We hope they become just like him!
All in all - it was exrtemely fortunate that we stumbled upon this little gem of a hotel!
We had an amazing stay and would love to come back and visit,
We love you chef!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michalbIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

We love you folks ... too !!! You were as much a a delightful discovery to us as we were to you. i always relish the unplanned visits; when folks find us by happenstance - surprising them with good food, service and attitude. I am thrilled you took the altenative route and am sure you photo collection benefited from it too. Keep Shining and love to all .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We decided on a whim to break our journey home from Knysna by overnighting somewhere on route. A rushed Tripadvisor search revealed De Doornkraal in Riversdale. We were the only guests in residence on Sunday night, but it didnt matter to them - we were fully catered for, and were treated like royaltyfrom the minute we arrived! Chef Pappas is an exceptional host- his passion is evident in everything he says and does, and it shows in his team! Our dinner, served by our private chef(!) was outstanding, and breakfast was a superb spread(Freshly baked croissants, and Madeleines!) They couldn't have done more to make us feel special !
Riversdale is not usually a destination town, but be sure to include it in your itinerary.

Room Tip: all rooms are attractive but get the Garden Cottage if its available - very private.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melany g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

My late father always used to tell me (he was a restauranteur), that when you only have one table - make the folks feel that they have got the "nod" and let them experience, albeit for one night - the fun in having a personal Chef. I am gladdened that your whim was well rewarded !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stopped here for one night en-route back to Cape Town. Wonderful reception and made to feel welcome. Room perfect. Food fantastic: supper was delicious, so delicious that we could not do justice to the plentiful and tasty breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

It was so nice to receive your review with such nice comments, especially from seasoned travelers such as yourselves - Keep Shining !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A little concerned driving through Riversdale but from the moment Vivienne showed us to our room with a welcome drink we were at ease. The little Garden Cottage was fantastic and then it got better with our dinner reservation. Chef Peppas was fantastic and very passionate about his cooking. The food was amazing and we had a most pleasant night. Breakfast was even better. Would highly recommend this stop for a night on your way through to Montagu or Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: There are 2 quaint cottages, a 2 bedroom and a 1 bedroom, across the road from the property. Highly recommend them for a quiet country outlook.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

I must say that sometimes my sense of humor gets the better of me .... I could not help but draw a comparison to those painful home shopping adverts on the telly. "If you book into De Doornkraal, you will be welcomed with aplomb by Viviane ........ but wait ... there's more .... when you arrive for dinner you get to meet the Chef and his elves !! "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great food, great room and great staff. Everybody made us feel special. Thoroughly enjoyed and dont worry that Riversdale doesnt have a lot to offer - you dont need to leave the hotel. Also fantastic value for money - dont miss it!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

It is often said in review that Riversdale has not much to offer, this is changing and folks are starting to realise that if you dig a little deeper there are some wonderful discoveries to be had - especially when it comes to the floral kingdom and pleasant excursions into the natural surroundings. I find though that merely by engaging with guests and being serious about their needs and experience makes the world of difference - thank you so much for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews