We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average stay”
Review of The World's End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The World's End
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed for birthday celebrations staff on booking in friendly and waitress who served us freindly food was ok nothing special for prices paid,breakfast was freshly prepared and was nice.on booking out asked if we had paid said yes had paid when booked in she looked and said yes i went back to restaurant to say goodbye to some people when she came in saying in front of everyone i had not paid and needed to pay i said i have paid my husband was in car and would go get reciept in which i thought she was going to follow in case i done a runner, i came back with recipt showed her and she says yes must be muck up on computer not even a apology i found this rude and embarresing

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

I am sorry about the apparant confusion with your bill and I can fully sympathise with situation you were put under. I have spoken to the individual concerned and have re trained them on dealing with these type of issues. Thank you for bringing this to my attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 278 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here on 11th August. Had booked a room on late rooms at £95 but then saw TWE web site which offered room for £40 if you ate in the restaurant. I rang hotel to change our deal and they very kindly obliged.
Hotel very pretty with nice outside area. Room was great, furnished and finished nicely and with comfy bed. Warm night but had fan in room. Had pre dinner drinks in the comfy bar then meal in the lovely restaurant. Both of us had excelent meals at reasonable price. Staff friendly and polite. Breakfast was cooked to order and also very good. Would reccomment this place to anyone. They have got it just right at this pub / restauarant / hotel. It looks stylish, food was great and it was good value to stay on deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzdazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for posting a positive reply on your stay with us, we are always pleased to receive guest comments as it does help us to improve and maintain our standards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Went to a 50th anniversary on Saturday 8th of September, my meal £16.95 was suppose to be
tender slices of veal etc, it was horrible, ended up having bangers and mash & peas, £9.95p,
service was rather slow and not so friendly, have had a better meal and service in an ordinary
cafe in town, would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

I am sorry you felt you had a poor experience with us, we are very proud of our reataurants reputation and I hope that you will return to see that this is not the normal standard of food served at TWE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Extremely bad service. Unfortunately I had a wine glass break all over myself, red wine and glass everywhere and the staff and manager could not care less! Spend your money somewhere else. The Manager was thoroughly unprofessional as were his staff. I would definitely not be going back or recommending to any of my friends and family.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank 415Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Debbie

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you felt the situation was not handled correctly.

When you brought it to our attention that the wind had blown your drink over in the garden area and spilt, we sent 2 members of staff out to assist in clearing up.

You then came up to the bar and fully expected the drink to be replaced without charge. I spoke with you and offered as a gesture of goodwill that you could have the £6.25 glass of wine replaced at the happy hour price of £2.75. It is not the responsibility of the establishment to replace drinks free of charge, when clearly it was not our fault.

I dispute the fact that I, or any of my staff were rude to you.

We have strived for over 6 years to build up a good reputation for the quality of our food and service and hope that you will reconsider your decision not to return.

Regards

Andrew Chapman
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at TWE last night for the first time and I was so impressed that I will be paying for parents to come very soon too!
Arrived about 7.30 with a table booked in the restaurant for 8.30 so we decided to put our things away in the room first. Little problem with finding us in their system as we had booked through booking.com but it apparently hadn't come through... Fortunately they had a room for us though, and honoured the price on the website at £70. Found the room and was pleasantly surprised with just how lovely it was. The bed was so comfortable. Only thing is it would have been great if there was a mini-bar in there but other than that I can't fault the room at all! The tall fan was an absolute lifesaver as it got so hot, and I personally don't like air conditioning so that's definitely a thumbs up!
We then went a had a drink in the bar which was pretty busy, and took a little while to get served but it was a Friday night so that's to be expected and then Found lovely sofas to relax in.
Found the dinner to be a little over-priced if I'm honest, but it was delicious, the service was great and the environment was gorgeous so was happy to pay the bill and tip.
Saw on a leaflet on the table that you can get a room for £40 if you book a table for dinner through them, do with this in mind, I will definitely be sending the parents here soon for a little birthday treat if I can get that kind of deal!
Management should be very proud of their staff and give all who worked on Friday 24th August 2012 a good pat on the back for all their obvious hard work and fantastic service, and we will be back very soon along with all the people I tell about this place!
xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise8346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thanks for writing such a positive review, we are always pleased to hear of customers experiences with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am a regular here on business. The rooms are modern, functional with high quality bath products, the food is excellent & the staff are friendly & happy to chat. The only detraction is the location is a bot isolated, but if staying for work, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoy your experiences with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Strange how each persons expectations vary so much. I have used TWE quite a number of times now. Our company holds its informal directors meetings here and we have never been disappointed.
Not pretending to be something it's not TWE delivers good quality accommodation with quality food and staff who are always pleasant and helpful.

Not five star but not five star prices.

Rooms very comfortable with all the mod cons you would expect.

Lounge areas always clean and very comfortable.

Wifi is available in bar areas but not quite good enough in the rooms so make your own provision but phone signal is always pretty good vodaphone and orange.

Priced realistically I would have no problem recommending TWE to anyone staying in the Northampton area.

Andrew

Room Tip: Just prepare if you need Internet in your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your psitive review and we hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecton
5.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
425 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#27 of 27 in Northampton
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
498 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
714 reviews
4.7 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 27 in Northampton
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Price Range: $84 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing