We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family day out”

Sywell Country Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ecton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family day out”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Brilliant for families of any ages.
a great walk round the lake.
great playarea, and kids love pond dipping!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    81
    19
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for a bracing walk”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's beautiful walk round the reservoir. Plenty of wildlife and a very pleasant place to blow the cobwebs away. Great place to spend a Sunday afternoon. I'll think I'll take a picnic next time!

Helpful?
Thank lilyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Useful walking and play areas”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Largely well-maintained Edwardian reservoir with a circular perimeter path of between 2 and 3 miles. It has gradually been refined over the years so that a little of its naturalness has been lost. There are some bird watching hides but for the most part this is a place to walk or for kids to play with a number of purpose built play areas. The path still has sections which get extremely muddy when after rain so be prepared with suitable footwear. There is a sizeable car park for which you have to pay which on busy days creates problems from the freeloaders who insist on inappropriately parking on the verges outside the park. You can get substantial refreshments from a well-equipped van. Cycling isn't allowed in the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dogs not on leads”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

i take my children to the country parks at least two three times a week but the last three times my children have been subjected to dogs not on leads jumping up at them .My youngest son is now terrified of dogs .The last encounter with a dog not on a lead resulted in the ignorant owner saying the famous words the dog will not hurt him .This is not the point i dont want dogs jumping on my young children . I thought that dogs should be kept on leads at country parks .Why do dog owners think this is acceptable .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank rosyp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fine for a lovely day”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been here on a few occassions to walk round the reservoir, visit the museum and tea rooms, enjoy the butterfly garden and the wildlife and fauna.
Have not been along recently since they brought in car park charges which has you looking at your watch to make sure your back in time so you are not fined or clamped. Whether on a crisp cold day or a warm summers day, it is still worth a visit if you are prepared to pay!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sywell Country Park also viewed

Castle Ashby, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Sywell Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing