We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, clean, warm and very comfortable”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Hulme End, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth D
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, clean, warm and very comfortable”
Reviewed April 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Great base for a holiday in the Peak District, with some beautiful walks nearby. Thoroughly recommend the Manifold Trail, and Chatsworth is well worth a visit.
The cottage has plenty of room - we were a party of 7, and kitchen is very well equipped, with plenty of cooking pans. There is a handy shop nearby in Hartington which does lovely pies for picnics.
If you are looking for a peaceful base in the Peaks (no WiFi and poor mobile signal so you can get away from it all for a while!) then cottage is perfect.

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJenkins7...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to visit the area”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My parents rented the barn for their Golden Wedding anniversary. They stayed all week and we stayed for 2 nights at the end of the week.

The barn is just outside the village of Hulme End and is a great place to stay. Often when you stay in places that sleep 5 or 6, it can be a bit of a squash and as much as I love my parents, I'm a bit too old to sit on their knee! However all the rooms here were lovely and spacious so it was a great place to stay for a few days. The living room is lovely and light, with a TV and DVD player, the kitchen is very roomy with a nice big table, the 3 bedrooms are all of a decent size and the 2 full bathrooms (both with bath and shower) is a great touch when you have several people staying together.

The decor may be a little dated, but perfectly acceptable and it is immaculately clean.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this to anybody who was looking for a rental in the area.

Date of stay: September 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennyfras...
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not luxury by today's standards but decent value.”
Reviewed December 5, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Overall standard was a level above basic (by today's self catering standards) however a very nice location and close to a popular walk. The house was clean and warm and had plenty of heating - gas, on-demand and storage - though some bedding felt a bit thin for November and no extra blankets on offer. Some instructions for gas appliances would have been good to save time, for those of us not used to them on a regular basis. Kitchenware was minimal and some essentials eg tea/coffee, loo roll were short - only costs a few extra pounds to provide ample of these. Furnishings a bit dated circa 1980s, could do with interior upgrade and re-invention as a really traditional-feeling farmhouse! Security deposit method a bit cumbersome.

Should be noted that there is no wi-fi OR mobile reception (Vodafone at least) here - trip to the top of the hill needed for mobile calls!

Excellent value for what we paid for six people though.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Date of stay: June 2011
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ware Hertfordshire
Reviewed June 3, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Date of stay: May 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Reviewed May 14, 2010 for a stay in February 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: The price
Liked least: The fittings (showers, diswasher)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing