We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
3
10
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3
10
6
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2017

1. Location is good, 10-15 minutes walk to JR station.
2. Room is old and quite dirty. Food is terrible . The beef just from fast food shop. Dinner is huge but not fresh and delicious.
3. They charge high price and not worth it .
5. There is only one indoor and small onsen inside Rykons
4. Many onsen rykons is far better than this one

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kin Man Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

This ryokan is within a short walk across the river from Gero train station. It is a good base to explore Gero as we could walk around the town from here. The room is spacious Japanese traditional type. There was a toilet in the room and a washing basin. We could use the onsen situated on Level 1 and it was so nice. The river view from the room was good. In the common room, compliment coffee was provided as well as yukata kimono for men and women. A microwave was available there as well. Wifi was good in the common room. The ryokan owner was friendly but he could speak very little English.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Primrose662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2015

We stayed here while attending the festival in Takayama (a 30 minute train ride away) and were quite happy. The hotel is old (one of the chairs in our room was worn) but clean. Our room was Japanese style with futons on tatami mats. My sister and nephew used two futons to be comfortable but I was fine with one.
There are two onsens in the basement, one for women and one for men. Be careful as they alternated each day and we know people did not always look at the signs the next morning. The reason for the alternating is one onsen has a view over the river while the other has no view.
They offer free coffee and toast for breakfast but they also serve a full Japanese breakfast for 1000Y (500Y for us since we were staying in the Hotel) - well worth the money even at 100Y and a steal at 500Y.
Our room (and I think all rooms) have a nice view over the river.
The hotel is quite convenient, just over the bridge from the railway station, but when we tried to find the address on Google maps, it kept giving us somewhere on the edge of town - not sure what the problem was.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile


+Location in mid of town only 5min walk from station
+Room bigger enough for up to5p with river side view
+Great extra paid 500yen JP style food
+Onzen baths
+Free wifi
+A bit old but clean building
+5stars service
I'd choose this hotel again.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank chotipongn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews