We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
21
20
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
21
20
10
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

The installations show some wear, but that is compensated by the great service offered by the staff, who spoke decent English when we stayed. You can get a room with a private bath if public onsen is not your thing, or book a private, beautiful onsen for 30 minutes (1000 yen). We had breakfast and dinner and everything was very carefully made, worth trying (even if not every dish will be to your taste).

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

My rating for this onsen hotel is mostly due to the very excellent dinner I had . I was also amazed by the fully automated toilet: the seat cover automatically opened when one goes in and close the toilet door and it automatically flushes when one gets up from it. This is not a luxurious hotel but the room is spacious, amenities and onsens are adequate.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank theworldmyoyester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

I wanted a place with rotenburo (outdoor bath inside the room) but quieter than the most popular hotels. The most popular hotels have like hundreds of rooms so they may be suitable for groups, but we just like to relax and enjoy quiet time in the rotenburo, and Sasara was a great choice for us.

Building looks a bit old but I didn't mind. Room was wide and pretty (Japanese style, wood). The staff that served us dinner and breakfast were very friendly. The white rice is a special rice so it tasted really good.

In winter the Gero area held fireworks display every Saturday and the view was great from our room. We soaked in the rotenburo several times while enjoying the view.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank muuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a very well designed traditional Japanese hotel with natural timber and artistic paintings and calligraphies. Nice spa over looking the town below. Attention to details both in the corridors and lobby. Traditional Japanese dinner with famous Hida Beef is eye pleasing and most delicious. It is highly recommended for students of ancient Japanese culture.

Room tip: Walk around the hotel and near by convenient store to appreciate small town charm.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Sasara or Sasala is one of the many Onsen Ryokans in Gero. Managers can speak English so Sasara hotel is a recommended Ryokan with Singapore travel agents for visits to Gero. Taxi service to and from Gero train station for any Gero Hotel/Ryokan is paid by the hotel. Best to show driver printout of the Japanese name to avoid mis-communications. Don't have tourist info in English so remember to print Internet sources before travelling to Gero.
Onsen including the open air one in the Sasara are not very large but the amenities are acceptable. The higher level gives views to the river and town. The Japanese breakfast and dinner covered under the hotel rate are excellent. The Yukata provided is acceptable. No complimentary Internet access. Room is quite spacious. Toilet seat fully automated. Hotel store quite well stocked with HIDA region delicacies.
From Sasara, can walk to Gassho Village, morning market outside Gassho Village, Morihachiman shrine. Unfortunately the weather was still very cold so did not see any Sakura blooms, which was the reason for this trip in April.

Room tip: Hotel on the hill so has view over the town and river
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingaTrav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews