We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
20
36
22
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
36
22
11
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2018

Walkable from JR Gero station in 15 minutes. Can easily walk every where to reach hot spots in Gero. The ryokan itself may not be the most upmarket one but at this price range this is very reasonable. Clean and warm service, as you can expect from most Japanese onsen ryokans.

Our room is one with a in-room outdoor onsen bath. The room is very spacious, neat and beds are set. We have dinner and breakfast at the main dining room, instead of the private room opposite, probably because the hotel was only half-full on a weekday. Well, we enjoyed company of other guests anyway.

Dinner and breakfast were not excessive, and for some these may be considered less than luxurious. But really tasty and service top-notched. (The servicing people speak English.)

If you ever consider visiting Gero this is probably one of the better choices for rooms with private onsen at a reasonable price with good location.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

I bought the multiple onsen pass for ¥1300 which allowed me access to the onsen at Yamagataya. I went there for the indoor and outdoor onsens which were fine. You must clean your body before dipping in the water and they provided everything you would need from shampoo, conditioner to body wash and even some face products when you finish. Onsen hours are some of the longest of the onsens, 12:00-20:00. It is pretty easy to find, turn left on the street right as you cross the bridge and walk until you see a parking lot on your right side. It is across the street on your left but the name Yamagataya is only in Japanese. Front desk staff if friendly. Onsen is on the 2nd floor, though you enter the building on the 4th floor.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank ladylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2015

We went to Gero to relax and we stayed in this hotel. Right after our car arrived, there were 3 staff members that came out to greet us, it was raining that day and they helped us carry all of our bags inside. Then once we got inside another staff member helped us check in and introduced different attractions for us. After that another staff brought us to our rooms and waited to us to get ready then brought us to dinner and showed us around the hotel. The rooms were clean and were traditional Japanese tatami rooms. Their spa was also nice and clean with a outdoor spa which overlooks trees and amazing views. Overall I loved the hotel and it is a perfect place to relax and go sightseeing!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 973camc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We went to Gero to take Onsen even tough it was still in summer, the end of summer tough. What a beautiful place there with so vintage looking village. The weather is nice, the memory is will be always remembered and is a perfect site for honeymoon.
This hotel is also very clean and got a super view by facing at the strong current river and yet some locals are fishing there.
The onsen is always be a great memorable time because you can relax in the outdoor there. Yes you are naked there and OUTDOOR so I think people can see you bathing but too common view there so I believe they get used to it.

The hotel also provide shuttle to the station so it is very convenient. You can walk there too if no heavy things on your shoulders because they have great view wherever you go in this village.
Can't forget the beauty along the village when we take the train. Hills, rivers, alley.....oh my! Love it too much!
I will go again someday!!!! Ah yes, the service is OUTSTANDING!!! 10/10 even tough they cant speak Japanese well, they serve us awesomely.
If I can say, the budget is also not too bad as we consider the food quality is super high and traditional japanese meals. A MUST GO site to true traveller lovers.

Room tip: any room facing river
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hardyliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews