We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebkong or Tong Ren in Chinese”
Review of Regong Art Country

Regong Art Country
Xining, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rebkong or Tong Ren in Chinese”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Rebkong is the most well-known for Tibetan tradition art, including making great thangka paintings, and sculptures. Travelers who pass by Qinghai province, should not miss this place. there are also many other interesting places to visit in the region. You can also continua your travel from Rebkong down to Labrang (Chi:Xia He) either with public bus or rented car via Ganja grassland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TibetanConnections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thangkha Buddhist Paintings”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

10 minutes drive from the town of Tongren is the Thankha Regong Art village between Wutunshang Temple and Wutunxia Temple. The whole village's livelihood is painting Thangkha and to sell them. We visited a family and they showed us a huge Thangkha. It took the family one whole year to complete the painting and they want to make a sell to us but because the price is too high we gave up.

They use the color from natural materials on the painting they say the color will stay for over hundred of years which I believe it's true. They have big Thangkhas and small Thangkhas to sell. And the Thangkha painters were originally trained by a monk from the Thangkha Art Center for 5 years before they became painters. Many of the kids/students sent there are orphans.

It was a bit sad that I couldn't afford a single painting they make but I kept some of the contacts of the villager and said if I have richer friends who want to buy Thangkhas, I shall come here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexTung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stunning Buddhist devotional art”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Rebkong (Tongren) valley is renowned for its thangka painters, who can spend months or even years producing a single work of Tibetan Buddhist devotional art. The beautiful wall paintings in the Rongwo and Wutunsi monasteries are testament to their artistic skills. If visiting Tongren to see the Rongwo monastery, it's well worth setting aside some time to also visit the Wutunsi monasteries, which sit at either end of a small village a few kilometres north of Tongren itself. A taxi from Tongren should cost around RMB 20 one way. Be aware that it can be difficult to find a taxi heading back to Tongren with space to pick people up - worth agreeing a price with your taxi driver to come back and pick you up later at a prearranged time, or leaving yourself enough time for the walk back to Tongren.

The Wutunsi monasteries are known as the Upper (shang si) and Lower (xia si) monasteries, with the Upper monastery being the one closest to Tongren. We spent a very happy few hours looking round the temples and buildings at the Upper Monastery, with the very friendly monks insisting on giving us some of their lunch of rice and yak yoghurt. The Lower monastery seemed larger and was attracting more pilgrims when we visited, but looked to have been more recently renovated, with some of the newer structures looking rather gaudy. There is a fee of RMB 30 to enter each monastery. There are a number of small shops in the village offering thangkas for sale to tourists - worth visiting a few to get an idea of prices and watch the artists at work. A small mandala was around RMB 600 in the shops we visited with larger (A4 sized) pieces starting at around RMB 3000. These prices are not unreasonable considering the amount of time and skill that goes into creating these beautiful, intricate works of art.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luo_Qing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Than-ka Art”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was invite to see young people who like to learn the skill of Than-Ka paintings,the master told me that it takes 10 years before you can mastering this skill and must be chosen,not many will have the patient to keep through, the hard way of life,without passion it is impossible to learn.The paintings are really amazing!Thanks to share me this treasure!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurentmax D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regong Art Country also viewed

Tongren County, Qinghai

Been to Regong Art Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing