We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, great self-catering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Au Fond de Mer View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The price was a bit steep for a self-catering, but the rooms were great and the location is probably the best in the island - right in front of Anse Royale.

The manager is very very nice and we enjoyed very much talking to her.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to Anse Royale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelukebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thanking you for the review. Regarding the price of the accommodation, we are very happy to inform that the management is trying as much as possible to give our guests value for money. As per our motto, we are a self catering with a difference: we strive to give a good service, with a personal touch to our guests; we are always there whenever a client needs assistance.
We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to see you again .
Best regards
Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 480 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place, a new, modern,and well furnished ,spacious apartment, nice and helpful owners, wonderful sea view , close to restaurants and shops, close to the beach and a good snorkeling point, well situated on Mahe to explore the island, you cannot make a better choice than this hotel. We are a couple and stayed 5 nights in the 1 bedroom apartment and had a wonderful time. Solana and her family were very helpful and organized everything we needed. They also organized a car for us (35€ a day), which I think is the best way to get around, but there is also a good bus service all over the island. Best beach for snorkeling for us was Anse soleil, but the beach just in front the house is also a good choice. It is only a few minutes from the hotel and you can just go down for a try. Be careful, there is a quite strong current, but towards the beach and in this way not dangerous. Visibility in this month is not so good, so you have to check out the different options in other seasons. Wind and some waves did not disturb us. The other side of the island is more calm, but visibility was not better. The other apartment, we took into consideration , was on Eden island, but I think this is the much better deal: better location, more restaurants, more private. Over all an excellent option!

Room Tip: All apartments are about the same, the 2 bed room apartments are in the ground floor. All are facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwheinzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear G W Heinzl
Thank you for the well descriptive review regarding the location of Au Fond De Mer View of which you believe is ideally located. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you were satisfied with the services provided to you. We always try our best to make our guests feel at home .
Thank you once again for the good compliment and we do look forward to welcome you back anytime.
Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Te accomodation is as the other reviewers say: new, comfortable, spotless. Solana has been helpful with a blanket when we were cold (in July the night temperatures can be a little chilly). The best about this apartment is however the view: the see with a million shades of blue and green, the little island a short distance from the shore. Real postcard beauty.
Shame the weather was more often than not cloudy and windy. Typical for July apparently.
We were quite surprised how cold the water was (compared to Mauritius and other Indian ocean destinations). The little beach below was almost entirely sublerged at high tide and thought I snorkeled many times, I saw almost no fsh. From this point of view the Seychelles have been a letdown (including Paslin and la Digue) - dead coral, hardly any fish, a couple of tutles and a few reys...

Room Tip: All rooms have the same lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutebushbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest
We thank you for taking your time to write this review.
It is unfortunate that you could not enjoy to the maximum because of the "not so good weather". Apparently, this type of climate is all over Seychelles; from May to October, the south-west trade winds bring a dry, cold wind and usually reaches its peak in July/August when the temperature comes to an average of 27 degrees with chopping seas. Yes, cold, windy, cloudy, heavy weather is a typical climate in the month of July. Fortunately, we do also at intervals encounter some sunny and more calm weather. I am sure, however, that by the end of October, this will change with long sunny periods and beautiful weather. Anyway, this is nature and cannot do much about it.

The management is happy though to note that you have at least enjoyed the view from he balcony of your apartment.
We do look forward to welcome you again if you come to Seychelles
Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked just one day in advance, as we got a super flight deal with Condor. We did no research and were truely amazed about what we found by accident. We don´t like big hotels or night Clubs or Shopping Malls or a row of sundbeds next to each other. If you look for this, your are wrong at Anse Royal. :-) If you look for a very new self catering apartment, with great views, all you need kitchen, even with washing machine and iron, with lovely helpful owners, a quite surrounding and less then 5 minutes walk to the beach- perfect. Fresh fish to buy on the street in 5 min. walking distance ( we had shark, barracuda , red snapper and more) , supermarkets ( small) but with all the things you need. 2 restaurants and a take-a-away, as well as petrol station and ATM. In total- for us the best place to stay;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanyakumarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest
We thank you for writing this positive comments.. We are delighted to note that you have actually made the right choice by coming to stay at Au Fond De Mer View and that it was the perfect place for your holiday. We look forward to welcome you the next time you visit Seychelles.
Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed with my friends ( we were 6 ) in one of the seasight rooms. The accomodation was fantastic: everything super clean and comfortable. the most appreciated thing for us was the kindness and availability of the owner, Solana, and her family, who helped us with every need we had.
The view is really magical!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugenia611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Eugenia
Thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review and we are really delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and the the way we assisted you. It was also a pleasure to have you and your five friends with us and we do look forward to see you again at Au Fond De Mer View.
Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just stayed in Au Fond de Mer for 2 days but it was the one of the best hotels in Seychelles.Solana and Philip are very friendly and helpful.The apartment is comfortable and equipped.it is only 3mins to walk to the beach.Very nice place in Seychelles.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Kan S
Thank you for this review. We are very delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us, even if it was only for 2 nights. We hope next time you can come for a longer period. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Best regards
Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for our honeymoon for 7 days,we booked the seasight room on the first floor,and this is a comfortable、new and clean room with very beautile seasighs.It has all facilities of cooking、washing. We cooked meals for ourselves,very nice! After we traveled around all the beaches in Mahe,we think the beach before this hotel is more beautiful than the famous ones such as Beau Vallon etc.,and here is also a good snorkeling place.You can just stay in this hotel and relax and enjoy your holidays.Besides, the hosts here: Solana and her husband Filip are really very kind and warmhearted,they helped to arrange taxi、car and other things, and we had an accident,they took care of us all the time, these made us feeling like home,they just like our parents. Thanks to them we had a nice and unforgettable time here, if we have chance to go to Seychelles next time,we'll also live here, we'll try other interesting events to play.

Room Tip: All the seasight rooms are good i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YAO W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Yao
We feel delighted to read this nice and positive review from you. Thank you for taking your time to do that. Au Fond De Mer View has a motto "a self catering with a difference" and we are always there to assist our guests in any way we can. We want you to feel not just in a touristic establishment, but also to make you feel like in a big family and a home away from home. Yes, you are right to say that we took care of you during your accident as if we were your parents. You really were like our own daughter an son!! We were so happy that you were both safe and sound. We do look forward to seeing you again for your next visit in the Seychelles.
Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Royale
10.7 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
Petit Amour Villa
Petit Amour Villa
#2 of 3 in Glacis
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
2.8 mi away
Sailfish Beach Villas
Sailfish Beach Villas
#1 of 5 in Anse Boileau
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Fond de Mer View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Fond de Mer View

Address: Anse Royale, Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Anse Royale
Price Range: $78 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Fond de Mer View 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Au Fond de Mer View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Fond De Mer View Seychelles/Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing