We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Au Fond de Mer View
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“GREAT place”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I recommend the apartment with sea view. The owners are very accommodating and there is a beach beside the hotel. It is a new establishment with a lot of promise. Will definitely stay here again.

- Charles Rollon
FROM Philippines

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRollonManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest
The management of Au Fond De Mer View would like to thank you for writing this nice review. It is always a pleasure to assist our clients. We are very happy to know that you had enjoyed your short stay at our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    58
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
136
239
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in “Au fond de meer view” for 2 days only, but it was a great experience. The kind hosts Solana and her family met us late in the night and were so kind to give us much bigger room than the one we have booked. The view, from the big terrace, in the morning was stunning –beautiful reef, turquoise water and palm trees. It was also very kind that we were provided (as compliment) with some bread, jam and eggs – great start of the day. Solana was also very kind to book us a table in one of the best restaurants on the island, as well as to book the car we have rented. It’s a great value for money option, also very clean, great hosts and hospitality. Also close to the airport (15-20 min drive) and easy to find. THANKS Solana&family and good luck with the business.
Regards from Bulgaria,
Angelina and Dobrin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobrin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lovely place with spacious, cosy, clean and apartments with well equipped kitchen. Huge balcony with great ocean view. You cen feel here like at home or better ;))) Very close to the beautiful sandy beach. Not far from small village with some shops and creol restaurants. Very friendly and helpful owners Solana and Philip!!!
Best wishes and see you next year!

Extra kisses from Oliwia:)))

Room Tip: all are perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon707070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana B, Owner at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing this review. The management of Au Fond De Mer View was very happy to have you and your family with us. We do look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Solana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived at this self catering guesthouse on the last night before leaving for the airport on the next day. Ms Solana welcomed us at her property with fresh juice and wet towels and gave us the good news that we were upgraded from our little studio with no sea view to a one bedroom apartment with a glorious view of the Anse Royale bay. The apartment was brand new, clean and extremely spacious with all the basic amenities provided. The balcony was huge and the view the next morning was stunning. Ms Solana clearly has an eye for detail and makes you feel like you are part of her family unlike other owners who just give you the keys, take the money then disappear.
The reason I'm not giving this place a 5 star rating is because of minor issues for comfort in the rooms. The mattress was rock hard and not everyone likes that. The beddings were very thin and I think optional thick blankets should be provided. The split unit AC was a little bit noisy and some maintenance should fix that. Finally the water pressure in the shower was extremely weak.
In general, it's a very good place to stay on Mahe and I definitely recommend it. The beach in front of the hotel is great for realxing and snorkeling. One of the best on the island.

Room Tip: Pick the highest rooms for a better view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushma L, Manager at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for writing this review. We have surely taken note of the issues that you have brought to our attention of which we were not aware. We will definitely rectify the same with immediate effect. We also thank you for recommending our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is situated in the hilltops with a stunning view overlooking the ocean. The apartment felt much more like a home than a rental property. The beach is just a 5-10 minute walk downhill in front of the hotel. The thing that really sets this hotel apart is the customer service. The owners went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushma L, Manager at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Brendan
Thank you for writing this review. As our motto states, Au Fond De Mer View is "a self catering with a difference". We always ensure that we give the best service to our customers, so that they are happy to stay at our establishment and they check out with good memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best hotel I've ever been. Everything was perfect. Location is near the ocean (about 100m from the beach). It was very clean there - every day even our dishes were cleaned. Owners are polite and kindly people. Nice ocean view, large rooms, clean and new electronics.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrizelefantinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushma L, Manager at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest
The management of Au Fond De Mer View is so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful apartment with an amazing view. I had the one bedroom and it was a very spacious apartment. I also loved how clean it was. I am very particular about the cleanliness of places I stay. I caught myself walking around barefoot and I don't even do that in my own home. Solana was very nice and accommodating. I know some people complained about her helpfulness bordering on intrusiveness, but it comes from the right place and that's what counts. I would recommend Au Fond De Mer View to anyone traveling to Mahe Island for its reasonable prices, hospitable owners, great location, spacious apartments, beautiful views and impressive cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosirreebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushma L, Manager at Au Fond de Mer View, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for writing this review regarding our establishment. The management of Au Fond De Mer View is happy to learn that you are satisfied with the quality of facilities and type of service that was offered to you during your stay. We do look foward to weloming you again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Royale
10.7 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.4 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
10.6 mi away
The H Resort Beau Vallon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Fond de Mer View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Fond de Mer View

Property: Au Fond de Mer View
Address: Anse Royale, Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Anse Royale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Fond de Mer View 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Au Fond de Mer View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Fond De Mer View Seychelles/Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing