We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive as a tourist, leave as a friend.”
Review of Kokogrove Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kokogrove Chalets
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrive as a tourist, leave as a friend.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have spent 5 nights at kokogrove and regret not staying longer.
The location is great to explore the southern side of the island, which is where the best beaches are. Some shops and restaurants can be found in Anse Royal, which is 5 minutes drive from the property. The huts themselves sit on a pretty steep hill, in the middle of lush vegetation. The view down and the signing birds are pretty cool.
The property has everything we needed to live comfortably, there is a BBQ, a swimming pool, fully equipped kitchen. Everything is kept clean, spacious and cozy.
The owner is very nice and knowledgeable. She took care of all our needs and recommended the best sights to go and check out.
Having a car is a very good idea; even though the island is small, the roads are steep and pavements are non existent.
I would stay there again and recommend to friends / family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent first 3 nights on Seychelles at this place before heading to orher places much more posh and expensive. Being cheap Kokogrove is not bad. You stay on the side of not very busy road and amid high trees, full of life. Village up and down the hill contribute with rooster, hen and dog voices. Few hundred meters above sits beautiful Jardin du Roy where you can have your first dinner. Or head back to the beach and enjoy superb meals at Caz Creol. Anse royale is one of nicer beaches at Mahe with not so many dead corals beneath your feet. AC at chalets is vintage style, built in window, but pool is nice add on. House keeper is very helpful and good natured like most of islanders. Car rent of 30€ per day is a must and kinda good deal. Overal, this place is good choice. Tip: to find it while driving from airport, better look and ask for Jardin du Roy as locals do not know about these chalets.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KimWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Living in North Mahé and adopted our second home in South Mahé


We are a Seychellois couple living in the northern part of Mahé, two years ago we got married. Our friends gave us a wedding present that consisted of a one week honeymoon stay at Kokogrove Chalets, which is in the southern part of Mahé.

Honestly, we had never heard of this place before, we therefore had no idea what to expect.

We came to love this house as a second home, since the area where we live is quite busy with many houses being located very close to each other. We found this place totally the opposite; it is there so quiet, and you hear there nothing else but the natural sounds of the evening, like the bat noises, and the singing of the birds during daytime. The house interior is nicely decorated, and it is comfortable and there is a very nice, friendly and helpful manager.

After our honeymoon we have stayed another three times in this same guest house, together with our two children. Last weekend was our fourth stay.

Being a Seychellois and knowing about the rates on the island, we must say that this accommodation is very cheap for Seychelles standards, which makes it absolutely one of the best value accommodation houses in Seychelles, especially for families.

We recommend this place to people searching for a private and affordable house in a quiet area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came across this place with the help of a number of positive reviews on several sites. The pictures we saw turned out to be exactly the same in reality. The house has a really nice style; it is simply, modernly decorated and is kept clean.


We enjoyed this countryside location, which is peaceful and far enough out of town to be quiet. The garden is so big and the swimming pool gives this place that final special touch compared to several other places.
We enjoyed our privacy. It was nice to enjoy the company of other clients in the second chalet, but we especially enjoyed the place when we were totally alone.We had the whole place for ourselves. We did not mind at all being alone, on the contrary.

With only five minutes driving you can reach the centre of Anse Royale where you can find almost all services needed such as the beach, several supermarkets, markets with local fresh groceries and also a fresh Fish market.
If you go early enough in the morning to the site besides Kaz Kreole opposite the Shell station, you can have a glimpse of fishermen coming in from the sea with their catch.

The Kaz Kreole restaurant is only five minutes driving from the chalets; there you can enjoy nice Creole meals as well as an international cuisine with your feet in the sand. There are also several restaurants in the area but we mostly enjoyed Kaz Kreole because of the nice pleasant atmosphere.

There is an ATM and a bank (the MCB bank) where you can change money….. Therefore no need to go to town.

We enjoyed this place and we will certainly come back again. We have found a home for our next long term vacation in the Seychelles.


Kokogrove: see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are just back from our holiday in the Seychelles, we spend a great week this beginning of June at Kokogrove Chalets.

We were surprised by this very cosy little chalet with a big garden, lots of trees and birds.

We received a very nice welcome with fresh flowers in the rooms to fresh coconut drinks being plucked from the garden. They really prepared for our arrival.


The host was very friendly, caring, helpful and very atend throughout our stay. She is also very good with children, our daughter was very found of her.

This place was perfect for our family, one of the most appreciated lodge we have stayed so far.

We enjoyed our privacy and felt comfortably home. We always left the house in a mess and when we arrived back it was always nicely tidied and cleaned with fresh towels and fresh bed linen.


Overall valuation is very positive, especially considering the lower cost compared to other accomodations, where you only have a room in a hotel or Guest house, but here you have an own house with all your privacy.

It is also not easy to find better value for money in the Seychelles than at this place. We had a very good rate and when even we requested for an extra bed, we were given at no extra cost. We also were provided with free beach towels for every member of the family.

Truely recommendable! especially if you are looking for an own cosy house with privacy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_o498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My friend and I are two busy people living in a crowded city, and therefore we wanted a small private place for our vacation in the Seychelles.

After a long search on internet we found a place called “Kokogrove Chalets”. It looked very nice on the pictures we saw on their Internet site. We were not dissappointed at all with our choice, on the contrary. It was much better than we had expected.

The big garden and the swimming pool set in the middle of it, are really the big draw of this place.

The rooms are simple and nicely decorated, the sheets on the bed are so white and fresh. For such inexpensive accommodation we were really impressed by this place. The furniture is beautiful and comfortable.

The veranda is spacious and well furnished with long chairs, from which we spent hours admiring the garden and the view over the ocean.

Sometimes we were fed up with the beach and we just drove back home to relax by the pool and its surrounding nature.

The lady who takes care for this place is extremely helpful and very friendly; she answered all our questions and even went out of her way to book some lovely excursions for us.

Our booking was made through their agent based in the Netherlands which was handled very well. We also rented a car when we did our booking. They arranged that the car hire staff delivered us the car at the airport and we were also advised to return it at the airport upon our departure which was very convenient.

We had an unforgettable time at Kokogrove Chalets with no complaints. We recommend this place to anyone searching for a relax afordable accomodation something different to typical hotel accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been at the Kokogrove chalets for 3 weeks. The place is very nice and the owner Lise
was helpful.Anse Royale is one of the best beach in Mahe.You can get to the beach in 5 minutes
by car or 25 minutes on foot. The chalet is comfortable with a nice sea view.If you don't like walking you have to rent a car.A owner's friend called Evalyn can get you a nice dinner at an affordable price.When you don't want to go to the beach you can have a bath in the swimming pool.We have had a good time in Mahe.Thanks a lot Lise.
Angelo and Emanuela
from Italy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Royale
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.0 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.0 mi away
Sailfish Beach Villas
Sailfish Beach Villas
#1 of 4 in Anse Boileau
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The H Resort Beau Vallon Beach
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
0.0 mi away
Au Fond de Mer View
Au Fond de Mer View
#1 of 7 in Anse Royale
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokogrove Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokogrove Chalets

Property: Kokogrove Chalets
Address: Enfoncement, Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Anse Royale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kokogrove Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokogrove Chalets consists of three almost identical chalets. You enter the chalets via a wide and completely covered verandah. One chalet has two bedrooms with each a double bed in it (so it is possible to stay there with four persons), the other chalet has one big bedroom with a kingsize bed in it (it is possible to sleep two adults and a child) an extra bed can also be added. One of the chalet is in the form of a studio with a kingsize bed and a comfortable sofa bed(so it is possible to sleep two adults and a child. Further division: a fully equipped kitchenette, with refrigerator, gas cooker, water cooker, coffeemaker and all necessary kitchen utensils. The lounge is attractively furnished with couches, a coffee table. In the bathroom is a bath with shower and hot and cold running water, a washbasin and a toilet. All floors and the verandah are attractively tiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kokogrove Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokogrove Chalets Seychelles/Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing