We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to se this establishment open again”
Review of The Wooden House - CLOSED

The Wooden House
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Kilmore Quay, The Wooden House offers great food in a relaxed atmosphere. Naturally seafood is at the heart of our menu making the most of the local ingredients, however there is plenty of options on the menu to keep everyone happy from scones to steaks. We are open from 12.30pm everyday with live music on the weekends to keep you entertained until the early hours. We hope to see you soon.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely to se this establishment open again”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having been closed for a number of years the Wooden House opened up again earlier this year. They are building a nice reputation and the food is very pleasant. Staff are helpful and the establishment is clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodenHouse, Owner at The Wooden House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello IrelandCeltic,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave some positive feedback. Slowly but surely we are getting there and we hope to have you back again in the future.

Many Thanks

Thomas Meyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Spot for Time Away with The Girls !”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I spent last weekend at The Wooden House with five of my friends. Its ideally located in the very centre of the village and has ample parking. We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown a fully fitted out 3 bed house, all rooms were spotless with plenty space for all six of us. On Friday night we decided to dine in the bar, the food was fabulous and service excellent. We remained there all evening as there was a great atmosphere with a live band. The kitchen was very well equipped so we organised our own breakfast, however we could have had breakfast in the restaurant. There is lots to do in the village and the weather was super so we took a long walk. As we enjoyed the previous night so much we decided to dine in The Wooden House again, it didn't disappoint ....another super meal and the specials were different, which was great. More great live music and craic so we were quite happy to remain. I would highly recommend a weekend in Kilmore Quay with Thomas and his wonderful staff.....a credit to you all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodenHouse, Manager at The Wooden House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for your kind words. I was thinking that you may have enjoyed your weekend :)

Hope to see you again

Kind Regards,

Thomas Meyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant location for weekend away”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First time to visit Kilmore Quay this May & stayed here in the self-catering apartments for 2 nights- lovely well priced accomodation, delicious three course meal for 19.95 with great service from the friendly staff and that night a brilliant live band- Borderline- were playing and the atmosphere was electric in the pub. It's in a great location too, just minutes away from the beach. Had a great weekend here- will definetely return in August for another weekend away!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayoc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always great for a family lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ever since it re-opened we go here every weekend we are down in Wexford for a guaranteed stress free, enjoyable family meal- whether it be lunch or early dinner we always have friendly service, great food at good prices and great portion sizes- we will keep returning, keep it up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shopalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodenHouse, Owner at The Wooden House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Shopalholic,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a positive review. I am delighted that you enjoy a visit to The Wooden House and I hope we can continue to please.

Many Thanks,

Thomas Meyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, NY
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived in Dingle after a long trip and were starving. We stopped at the Wooden House for lunch because it looked so welcoming from the outside. They have a good menu and had several specials of the day to choose from. We had a Heinekins and sandwiches which were very good. The bartender was very helpful in directing us to our house rental.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artistJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodenHouse, Manager at The Wooden House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Meyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden House also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
Kilmore Quay, County Wexford
 
Kilmore Quay, County Wexford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing