We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saltee Island Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saltee Islands

Saltee Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tallaght, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Saltee Island Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Saltee Island tour departs from Kilmore Quay in Wexford. The boat tour leaves a 2 pm, weather permitting and lasts approximately 1 hour 30 minutes. It is advisable to book a place on the boat as it only takes a maximum of 12 people on each tour. The tour is not guided but the chap driving the boat, when asked was able to give us some information on the birds on the island.
I took this trip with my trip with my 2 teenage daughters and another couple. The weather was fine and the sea was extremely calm which added to our trip very enjoyable. The boat takes you very close to each of the islands and pausing to give you an opportunity to take photos. I would advise a camera with a good zoom to get the most from the experience.

The boat owner also runs a day long trip to the island which we would like to do some time in the future. This trip leaves at 11:00 am and returns at 4:30 pm. A packed lunch and lots of water is recommended for this trip as there are no facilities on the island.

The cost for the trip we did was €20 per person. There is a charge of €10 for children under the age of 12.

The islands are stunning and wildlife is amazing. If you are in this part of the country take the time to see the Saltee Islands.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Zenaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“first time visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

went to the saltee islands on saturday and really loved it. beautiful place that just takes your breath away . amazing views every where you turn and the birds are a joy to watch. we packed up a lovley picnic which we enjoyed after exploring the island. i would recommend this as a must this summer when the weather is so good. the boat over was lovely.we are living in wexford a long time and this was our first visit.
tips, bring plenty of sun cream , water, tissues, and a nice picnic. its safe to leave your bag when you go walking so you dont have to carry it around. kilmore quay is a bit of heaven also .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jesshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We are blessed to have these islands on our doorstep - stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Four of us just spent an amazing day on the Saltee Islands today. We left from Kilmore Quay at 11.30 - it cost E25 per person for the day, 'till 16.30. The island is a treasure trove of nature & wildlife. There are absolutely no facilities on the island & little or no shelter, so go prepared. We had a stunning day. It is especially suited to birdwatchers, with colonies of gannets & puffins, to name just two. A great, unforgettable experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fmkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“paradise on our doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Headed out to the Saltees with 8 friends last Sunday, can't believe I have never been there before.
It is pure magic you really need to experience it to fully understand. Will definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect place for peace and quiet (apart from the squawk of birds!).”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our journey started with a 10.00am boat trip across the water - at 25 Euros each for a return journey we didn't think this was a bad price to pay for something so unique. Our journey across the water was smooth as we had been very lucky that we had picked a lovely sunny day for our visit We then left the sailing boat to get into a RIB to take us onto the island to then climb over rocks and seaweed to get onto the island itself (I have to say this part of the journey I wasn't too keen on - trainers NOT such a good idea to wear!). As there are no facilities on the island you do need to remember to take refreshments with you (although too many refreshments could also prove problematic if one should have a weak bladder!). Our day was made complete by the sight of the Puffins - such lovely little birds and to see them in their own habitat was quite amazing. Unfortunately we didn't manage to see any seals which was slightly disappointing but we had plenty of different birds to see - but the Puffins were by far well worth the visit! Such a shame though that the owners of the house don't upkeep it more - to me it looks really sad and unloved just stuck there when it could be something of beauty to match the rest of the island - such a waste really of what could be a beautiful building. Can't understand really why people are blessed with such lovely things like a remote island and what could be a beautiful house to just leave it to become unloved and derelict - so sad really! But we both felt that our 25 euros was a well spent treat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank laineyiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltee Islands also viewed

County Wexford, Province of Leinster
Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
 
Kilmore Quay, County Wexford
 

Been to Saltee Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing