We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Tuscany”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
kitchen
bedroom
bathroom
bedroom window
outside
breakfast outside
the village from Pienza
detail
landscape
the entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Monticchiello, Pienza, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark D
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Tuscany”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Barbara said Monticciello was the 'real Tuscany' and it's hard to disagree. It's a beautiful village and Maribel is a special old stone cottage in the village. The fact there is a little courtyard attached to the house but overlooking the neighbour's orchard adds to the experience and we really enjoyed our four nights here. We dined in the three restaurants and made La Guardiola our home away from home. Free parking down the road a bit is also a plus. The self catering options are a bit limited - the alimentary about a km down the road is extremely basic but do what we did and buy wine and some food to take home from Serena and Giacomo at La Guardiola.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Grazie, you will be always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autumnlea...
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Wish could stay longer.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

By the time we arrived to the house and found Barbara waiting for us as we had planned,we where already fascinated by the surrounding landscape.Monticchiello is a little charming medieval hill top village with its beautiful houses and flowers,the three Resturants,a little library equipped with W.F and pleasant and hospitable people.Barbara tops them all and her apt is probably the best in the Village with huge Olive Garden as your retreat.A good jumping point to explore the nearby points of intrest.Wish to go back soon,Thanks Barbara,Ali

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johgr
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Hill Town Apartment”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a week in Mirabelle 2. A lovely relaxing apartment in a very beautiful town called Monticchiello. Peace and solitude dominate. The views of the scenery are spectacular. In walking distance of three lovely restaurants. We visited Tavera di Moranda three times and found the food outstanding. If youlike walking Pienza and Montepulciano are both about 9 km away. We walked to both Hill Towns, very well worth doing. The owner Barbara is a very warm person and we found the whole experience very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugrshack
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have asked for more for a romantic place for our honeymoon. The apartment was cozy, the bed was comfortable, and especially nice was the beautiful private olive grove, with a beautiful postcard worthy view of Pienza on the outer edge. The village of Montiechiello was wonderful; definitely off the beaten track. The medieval feel added to it; few cars on the streets (we had to park outside of town), wonderful restaurants. The fact that few spoke English only added to the charm. All of the restaurants in town were absolutely wonderful as well; we never ate so well. The location was also great for day trips exploring the region. We definitely recommend Pienza; the entire town smells of wonderful cheese (we hiked there in about an hour and a half; it's worth going on foot). Montalcino is another highlight, well worth a visit. We had absolutely no complaints, and may return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food. the views.
Liked least: having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotrestsi...
n ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb - lived up to all expectations!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights and LOVED it. The standard of the accommodation was excellent - well equipped,very clean and comfortable with good quality linen and towels and with a truly Tuscan feel.The location is superb. Although it is an agritourism property it is within 2 minutes walk of the walls of Pienza which makes the town very accessible with no parking issues. There is a garden with tables, loungers and chairs. The family who run it are lovely warm people who gave us produce from the farm and made us feel very welcome. Pienza is a great location to base a holiday in the Val d'Orcia which is a very beautiful part of Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: War family feel of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachel_a...
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan retreat”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We have visited Barbara's apartments (1 & 2) many times. Despite there being so many lovely places to stay in the area, we always end-up going back to Barbara - as nowhere can be better. It's a lovely, rustic apartment with a beautiful little terrace overlooking olive groves. It's clean and comfortable, and Barbara is the perfect hospitable yet unintrusive host. La Porta an La Cucina are truly great restaurants in this little village, and Pienza and Montepuciano are minutes away. You are spoilt for choice for places to visit, eat and drink! We will be back again later this year I hope!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 20, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity of the place plus the ease of getting everywhere i wanted to go.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing