We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place centrally located between Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano in beautiful contryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place centrally located between Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano in beautiful contryside”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This hotel was lovely. The owner was extremely nice. He carried our very heavy bags up 2 flights of stairs to get tot eh B&B - which was much appreciated. We drove into town (not allowed - the town is limited to residents) just to drop our bags. We parked for 5 minutes and were given a parking ticket, although the owner of the hotel insisted on taking care of it and wouldn't even let us see it! The biggest selling feature is the surrounding countryside. It was some of the most beautiful country we drove through in Tuscany, comparable to La Crete. We certainly would have missed it if we had not stayed in Montichiello. This is a great location to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGirl744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bre81, Proprietario at La casa di Adelina Charming House, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear customers, thanks very much for choosing the house of Adelina, I hope Monticchiello and the hills of Val d'Orcia have left a pleasant memory of your holiday.
Thanks again, I hope to have you as guest again.
Francesco. P.S sorry for my English :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    48
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
198
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at La Casa di Adelina for one night a few weeks ago. I wish we could've stayed longer! Francesco is an amazing host, providing a comfortable and fashionable accommodation. Our room overlooked a little courtyard and the rooftops of nearby houses with views of the countryside in the distance. It's couldn't have been more scenic. Breakfast was great with homemade biscotti, bread and croissants.
I highly recommend La Casa di Adelina. We will be returning on our next trip to Italy for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowerdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadiadelina, Proprietario at La casa di Adelina Charming House, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
Hello Thank you for choosing my B & B and thank for sharing your experience with other guests. Happy to have in Monticchiello hope to see you soon in Val d'Orcia
Ciao Francesco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Hello
I'm writing to report you an exceptional place ... La Casa Di Adelina!There are about 5 months that I live in Italy, studying in Rome and here I met some friends with whom we have decided to spend a weekend in Tuscany. We chose a B&B for not spending excessively and between the various proposals the first one that struck us was La Casa di Adelina. Already we have seen from the website the attention to detail, cleanliness and the elegance of the rooms ... but this has been confirmed on our arrival! With amazement we discovered that the owner as well as having excellent cook our breakfast (we ate it all and more!), is not even 30 years young. We were able to visit many places, the Vald'Orcia, followed by Montepulciano, Siena and the Chianti area. We were divinely, as though we were at home ...I can not help but advise everyone to visit the small tip Monticchiello and sleep at La Casa di Adelina ... You will not regret!
Lisa

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey_lisa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong-KOng
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Found this B&B by chance on Google map, searching for the perfect spot for day trips driving in Tuscany. I couldn't have found better.

The village is just exactly what I imagine a Tuscany village to be. You can see Pienza from the village, its a short trip on one side to Montepulciano and another short trip the other to Montalcino. Its a walled village, cars are limited inside the village, so its very peaceful.

For Casa Adelina, even better. There was no one so the owner gave us the key and told us Andrea will come next morning for breakfast. We were left alone in this charming 1000 year old house ... I felt like at home, in a home I always dreamed to have. Everynight, coming from either Montepulciano or Montalcino , we were enjoying in Santo and Biscotti, sitting in the leaving room, with a jazzy background music. The kitchen was all ours, and we were able to cook nice meals, taking a break from restaurants. In one word, awesome.

Oh, and I almost forgot ... Andrea's breakfast ... nice "gauffres", caffe latte, fresh bread ... what a good way to start a day. Andrea is discreet and very helpful at the same time. A very good host.

The main problem is when you leave Casa Adellina and Monticchiello, the rest of the trip is just not the same and you just want to go back to Casa Adelina ...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supercorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights at the start of my Italian holiday and had the most amazing time. It was my first time to Monticcheillo, but since my friend had stayed at la casa di Adelina before we decided to start our trip there.

Firstly, Monticchiello is a beautiful little village in Tuscany. The only sound is silence - amazing! But, while it's very quiet it's really close to lots of other great hilltop towns so there's lots to see and do in the area. There's two restaurants in the town and the quality of the food was incredible. It was so lovely to wander the quiet streets of Monticchello and soak up the village life.

The B&B at Adelina is just wonderful. Francesco is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble for him. We stayed in the rooftop apartment which consists of a bedroom, bathroom, galley kitchen, living room and sitting room (which has an amazing view of the Tuscan valley). It was a great space for two friends to chill out in between sightseeing trips and an absoloutely perfect place to stay.

The B&B is set in a beautiful old building that has been in Francescos family for generations and he runs a lovely little artists gallery on the ground floor (beautiful watercolours painted by his mother) where you can buy a momento of your trip if you'd like one.

The B&B has an eclectic mix of artifacts and paintings that make you feel like you're staying in someones home rather than a 'hotel'. Francesco also makes a wonderful breakfast and espresso in the morning.

At the end of four days it felt like we were saying goodbye to an old friend. I'd definitely recommend staying there and we'll definitely be back.

Thanks Francesco!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mekensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest, hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Avoiding the large groups roaming Siena and Florence (Firenze!), we enjoyed staying in this bed & breakfast. Tastefully furnished, it is like staying with a family member or friends's house. Our room had two disadvantages: you can hear other rooms/guests and there was no wardrobe where you can hang your clothes.
The host Francesco is very welcoming, with the tips-hints he gave us we had much more interesting car trips! The breakfast is quite nice, too with dangerously good waffels (gofri) and home marmalades.
The restaurant in the village La Porta is a real gem, people travel large distances to get a table there, and this is all within 2 minutes from the B&B. Make sure you reserve in time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbonehuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I enjoyed some wonderful days with the kind hospitality of Adelina and Francesci. With the help of Francesci I had some fabulous trips in the area of Pienza. Located in a fantastic medieval palazzo, tasteful decorated rooms and living room. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Typical Italian breakfast with fresh coffee. The culinary highlight is the dinner freshly prepared by Francesci.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1-Gezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticchiello
2.5 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
2.6 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
2.5 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#1 of 33 in Pienza
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Maria Gabriella
Affittacamere Maria Gabriella
#3 of 7 in Monticchiello
74 reviews
1.8 mi away
L'Olmo
L'Olmo
#3 of 11 in Monticchiello
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La casa di Adelina Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La casa di Adelina Charming House

Property: La casa di Adelina Charming House
Address: Piazza San Martino 3, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Monticchiello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the little square of the small and charming village of Monticchiello, embellished with climbers and flowers, you will find hotel B&B La Casa di Adelina, an intimate bed and breakfast with a view over the splendid val d'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La casa di Adelina Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing