We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting with fabulous food.”
Review of La Guardiola

La Guardiola
Reserve with
La Guardiola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: "La Guardiola", is the name of the new lounge bar of Monticchiello, which, in conjunction with the B & B La casa di Adelina, offers to locals and visitors of Val d'Orcia a service worthy of a breathtaking and unique in the world that is part of UNESCO from2002 ...In front of the large garden, from the terrace of Guardiola, you can relax in the shade of a wonderful centuries-old ficaia tasting some of the labels of the most famous wines. Morellino, Chianti, Nobile di Montepulciano and Brunello di Montalcino are just some of our bottles that you can uncork.Inside the bar you will find Serena and Giacomo, who will advise the best year for you and prepare delicious food for lunch or snack ... From "mouth-watering". at La Guardiola you can find the true Pecorino from Pienza, ham, salami and sliced of "cinta senese".Alternatively you can enjoy a drink cocktail made with only the best distillates of the most famous American bar.To all the customers of B & B La casa di Adelina will be offered a welcome drink upon arrival at Monticchiello.do not hesitate to contact us we are always at your disposal
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in stunning Monticchiello today and popped into La Guardiola orginially for just a drink. Upon seeing the delicious plates of food on the table next to us we had to sample some too!! The food was excellent, the service was great and the views were amazing!! You must try the Burrata - it's so creamy!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I came across La Guardiola by chance while we were visiting the town of Monticchiello. La Guardiola enjoys a lofty position amongst the Tuscan hills and provides diners with a great view of the countryside. We arrived around mid-morning and while we were still quite full from our B&B breakfast, the opportunity to sit down, relax, and enjoy a light snack seemed too good to pass up. We settled for a pizza and Toscana bruschetta - just delicious. The warm sun was making me feel a little drowsy, and so I ordered a coffee. Having already spent a couple of weeks in Italy, I had found finding well-made coffee to be quite a challenge. To my surprise then, La Guardiola served a great cup! Good food & drink coupled with friendly and attentive service is a winning combination. Whether you're staying in Siena (about one hour's drive away) or Monticchiello (right next door), La Guardiola is well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank domeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuardiolaLoungeBar, Proprietario at La Guardiola, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Hello Domeyer, I'm sorry for the late reply but we are glad that you enjoyed our cuisine and our coffee! In fact, we use only local and high quality products... for his bruschetta we used biologic olive oil from the Val d'Orcia and we use the best Italian blends to prepare our coffee. We hope to welcome you again and maybe let you try our Burrata with cherry tomatoes and Tuscan ham.
Greetings from Guardiola!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at a villa in the tiny town of Monticchiello for a week and this was our come to place for afternoon drinks, snack and most importantly gelato. In our search for the best gelato in Italy my daughter claimed this as her number one place (she likes chocolate and mint). I tend to agree especially for the green apple and lemon flavors. This has a nice patio and a playground for the kids (it is by a garden). Nothing fancy but great for breakfast, snack or cocktails.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ColeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuardiolaLoungeBar, Proprietario at La Guardiola, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Hello ColeTrave, I'm sorry for the late reply and thank you for the nice review!
We are glad that you enjoyed our homemade ice cream! Infact, our ice cream is made ??with 100% Italian quality products and fresh fruit .. For these reasons, our ice cream is one of the best in the area ... cocktails too are very good thanks to the Giacomo's skill..he knows how to create the right cocktail for you using high quality products an fruit juices!!
We hope that you come back to Guardiola next season so you will stop also for lunch to enjoy our Tuscan cold cuts or pecorino cheese or our selection of quality wines.

Greetings from Giacomo and Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

All that is described in the reviews is correct. It's a great place but I'd like to emphasise how good the views are from the terrace that's not easy to see from the road because it's shaded by low trees - and don't be discouraged by the sign outside noting that this is a "snack bar" - it's well worth a visit.

3  Thank mallj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuardiolaLoungeBar, Proprietario at La Guardiola, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2014

Hello Mallj, I'm sorry for the delay and thank you for your review!
You're right, unfortunately our beautiful terrace not be seen from the road because it is hidden by the fig tree that gives us a lot of shade in the summer ... for this reason we're a little hidden but all this must be for the benefit of our customers' privacy at the same time can enjoy one of the most beautiful views across the Val d'Orcia.
It 's true, the name "snack bar" does not make it the right idea of what we prepare and quality that we offer ... we will change it in "lounge bar" ... Unfortunately, in their haste to open we did not choose the right word ...thank you again... we hope that see you next season!!

Greetings from Giacomo and Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Giacomo and Serena are the principals, who provide engaging conversation...great service and sometimes little food surprises....little tid bits that are unexpected, but very welcome. It was our favorite morning stop to grab a pastry, coffee and fresh orange juice before heading out for the day....as well as our last stop before returning to our accomodation at night. We were invited to join them one evening for a jazz group session at the bar. The place was packed, the band very entertaining...just not the thing us North Americans are use to. Which is why we spread our wings and visit other countries. We would also like to thank Francesco for the invite to his B&B for breakfast.....all three of these partners could not be more polite or welcoming. I look forward to the day we can return, sit of the terrace and absorb the view once more....perhaps with a nice Spritz. Oh, and the gelato is good too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 59canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuardiolaLoungeBar, Proprietario at La Guardiola, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2014

Hello 59canadian, I'm sorry for the delay and thank you for telling your experience and for the nice review!
We were delighted to give you for breakfast our fresh pastries, our cappuccino made ??with biological milk and our fresh orange juice! We remember the beautiful jazz event and we re-present it again next season with some new features that we will reveal later .. we will be very glad to have as guests at our bed and breakfast La Casa di Adelina for next season.
With the hope to have you again as guests here at Guardiola in our beautiful terrace overlooking the Val d'Orcia and when0 you come back we will offer you our homemade ice cream!

Greetings from Giacomo and Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guardiola also viewed

Monticchiello, Pienza
Monticchiello, Pienza
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Guardiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing