We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Reserve with
La Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A new restaurant in this unspoiled mediaeval hill town. It is run by Deborah, the charming daughter of Daria, owner of Monticchiello's famed La Porta. I hosted a wedding eve dinner there on July 7th - the first big party Deborah had catered. The food, wine, service and ambience were ll outstanding. I can't praise the generosity of spirit which animated the whole event highly enough.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our group of 4 received a recommendation to try this wonderful restaurant. The restaurant is more modern than we had imagined in this tiny village, but wonderfully decorated in a cool funky way. The food was outstanding. The pici with cream, sausage and truffles is not to be missed, nor is the cantucci e vin santo. The owner Deborah, as well as our server, were charming and made our visit very special. We wish Deborah much success and look forward to returning to her charming restaurant very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeverEnoughTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    23
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wow - cool and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

a lunchtime haven from walking in the hills - this is a true must for food lovers - coll, classy and contemporary in look, feel and taste. a menu designed with love and care and service to die for. it is the only time in my life that we have been given a bottle of wine as we left because they liked us!
i tried the cocao tagliattlelle with pork shavings, but in truth could haved stayed the afternoon and gone through the menu having walked the hills from Pienza!
This is not a tourist experience - our thanks to the young owner who deserves all the success she will surely have - look for the arched entrance 50m up the hill from La Porta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing pasta, idyllic village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

After a day of site seeing in Montepulciano we drove out to see some of the stunning surrounding countryside and happened upon the lovely village of Monticchiello at sunset. After wandering through this idyllic village we decided to stop at La Cantina for supper. We didn't book, we didn't even plan to go in but we were accommodated by the friendly staff and we were not disappointed. The service here was fantastic and the pasta, some of the best I have ever tasted. So simple yet full of such amazing flavour. I would definitely recommend a visit to this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Tuscan jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Monticchiello over the years and, on our most recent trip, were delighted to find that another wonderful restaurant has opened in this beautiful village. The food is exquisitely conceived and presented and the service is absolutely outstanding. Proprietor Deborah Senatori has much to be proud of here. We highly recommend La Cantina for anyone touring this area of Italy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and romantic venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently attended the most beautiful wedding dinner and reception at La Cantina! The service was exemplary, the fantastic entrees which were beautifully presented and coupled with extraordinary wines! Such a romantic and beautiful setting for a wonderful group of family and friends. Beautiful ambiance for such an occasion!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cavimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Monticchiello, Pienza
Monticchiello, Pienza
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing