We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My partner and I took advantage of the spa stay break.we had a pampered and most relaxing experience in the spa.very friendly staff in serene environment. Our hotel room was clean,spacious and welcoming with champagne on ice. Restaurant was fabulous with amazing food. Although not the cheapest option worth every penny - we would thoroughly recommend fair lawns.

Room Tip: Not for children.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about your positive experience, we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
There are newer reviews for Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Too expensive for A family room and the price didn't include breakfast which cost us over £10 more per person including the children. I have never spent so much for a family of 5 to have breakfast especially as my kids only wanted cereal and toast. the adults cooked breakfast took 50 minutes to arrive, by which time the kids were more than ready to leave. They don't let kids swim in the pool either. So why would you stay here as a family?

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thankyou for your review.

We appreciate that the fact our health facilities are adult only can seem restrictive to those travelling with children, but conversely, this adds to the experience for those guests who are not travelling with children. In this respect we have to accept that we cannot be everything to everyone.

However, I believe the purpose of your visit was to attend a christening and in this respect along with the restaurant I must say that I have always considered us to be very child friendly. Certainly we enjoy having children attend - are always happy to let them play and will cater specifically to their dietary needs. I hope that you found this to be the case on Sunday when celebrating your friends occasion.

In relation to the rate. I accept that there are other hotels in the areas with whom we cannot compete with in terms of rate when accommodating families. We have made some adjustment to the rates for family guests next year (coming into effect shortly) which will ultimately result in a price decrease and are sorry that this adjustment comes too late for you. I am also sorry the matter could not have been dealt with at the time, and that your dissatisfaction ultimately resulted in you registering with TripAdvisor to complain - certainly had you raised the matter with us at the time - we would have appreciated your feedback and made a gesture towards your stay. The last thing we would have wanted was for you to leave upset.

Warm regards
John Pette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed two nights in mid October for a family wedding that was being held elsewhere.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who readily carried the bags. They are looking forward to the lift being installed. The evening meal was of a good quality from a creative menu and the wine list was extensive.
The waitress flirting with the regular traveller (see earlier reviews) was not in evidence on either morning at breakfast and so the meal was not delayed. A delight to have kippers for breakfast.
On a further visit, we'll take swimming things so as to use the spa facilities.
All in all a nice, well very kept family owned hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Great pleasure to read your review - thank you. We do work hard as a family and a team and for you to comment to this effect gives us all a great deal of gratification.

John Pette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had an excellent stay at this hotel. When arriving I was welcomed by the friendly staff. The rooms are nice and spacious with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was very good as well. All and all a good stay.

Only downside is that it maybe is a little remote from a lot of things but if on a romantic trip that does not have to be a problem at all.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. It is nice to hear that your stay represented value for money. We hope to see you again should the opportunity present.

Warm Regards
John Pette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here on the Romantic package and while we enjoyed the spa the rest of the service was poor and at times very unprofessional. At check out tried to pull the wool over our eyes at check out as they said as a token of goodwill for making us wait they had taken £30 off the bill. Great I thought until later when we realised we had not actually racked up a bill of £30 and when we went back to check found the bill the reception had said that these had been charged to the wrong table. I have emailed the owner with my feedback as it weekend from the reviews was not as we expected following the reviews on here. I have had a reply and maybe next time we go we may get to meet him in person ??? Could be really good but the service was just poor. Plus point for them is the food its very very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your letter last week - we are always grateful for feedback and I hope that my response reaffirmed this. Certainly it was not anybodies intention to 'pull the wool' as we have an honest team. But it is clear that the service you received was not to the standard either of us expected and we accept that we let ourselves down in this respect. I hope that were you to visit again we might be able to restore your confidence and demonstrate that we are worthy of all of the praise we receive on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Fairlawns for just one night and immediately wished we had booked to stay longer!
We booked a superior room but on check-in were informed that we had been upgraded to a junior suite. The suite was amazing. Huge bathtub, tv, corner sofa and dressing table downstairs then the bed and shower room were up the illuminated staircase!
The room had clearly recently been refurbished, really modern, spotlessly clean. There were twinkling lights above the bath, lights illuminating the staircase.
Some lovely little touches in the room, Werthers Originals and Kit Kats, bottles of water in the mini bar.
We had booked DBB with use of leisure facilities and also a treatment in the Mud Chamber. When we arrived in the leisure club we were the only people in the pool, which was a little cold to say the least but after a few lengths we were a bit warmer. The spa facilities are great, we have used the spa before. The only difference we noticed between the spa package and the 'Leisure Included' package is that if you book the spa package you get use of the spa lounge and grazing bar and are provided with a black robe.
All the staff at the hotel were very, very friendly and helpful. My husband went down to the bar to buy a bottle of champagne whilst I was in the shower and Rachel, the maître d, was lovely and very helpful, asking if my husband would like someone to bring the bottle up to the room for him.
Dinner was great. We booked 8 for 8.30 and enjoyed a G&T while we went through the extensive menu and wine list. Again the staff were great.
All the food we chose was amazing, we used to live about 3 miles from the hotel and are really disappointed we didn't discover the restaurant sooner!
We had a very good nights sleep, even though there was a torrential downpour in the middle of the night.
Breakfast was probably my least favourite part of the stay. When we got to the restaurant we didn't know whether to seat ourselves or wait in the bar so we waited in the bar for about 5 mins before seating ourselves. There were several cooked options but we both went for the Grill which was nice, I wasn't too keen on the 'award-winning' sausage and the black pudding could have been fried for a little longer and sautéed potatoes could have been crispier. Breakfast staff were not quite as friendly as the evening restaurant staff but pleasant all the same.
We will definitely be back, we haven't stopped raving about this place since we left !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mrssjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

It is lovely to hear that newly refurbished rooms are being well received and the fact that the service delighted you is also smashing to hear.

We value your comments in relation to breakfast and are working hard at the moment to improve consistency of this service.

Thank you and see you soon

John Pette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Fairlawns on many occasions previous to this stay and we have never been disappointed.
The room was spacious and clean and we had everything we needed.
We had spa treatments whilst here too and left feeling so relaxed.
Our meals in the restaurant were mouth watering. The steak was cooked to perfection and was such good quality.
I would just like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff at the Fairlawns for looking after us so well. This includes the cleaners, spa staff, receptionists, bar staff and waiters/waitresses. Everybody is so pleasant and really can't do enough for you and these are the people that make our stay so enjoyable and what makes us return time and time again.
We will definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

The fact that you have never been disappointed with service at the hotel is a credit to how hard the team work to ensure service is consistent. We appreciate however that we are only as good as our last service and are always striving to improve!

Thank you for your continued support

John Pette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldridge
5.2 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,226 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
786 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
24.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,969 reviews
13.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Hotel And Spa

Address: 178 Little Aston Road, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall > Aldridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Price Range: $102 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawns Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairlawns is a family owned and operated independent and individual 4 star property. We offer proper hospitality across our facilities which include 60 4 star bedrooms (with suite upgrades available), award-winning restaurant, luxurious spa, adult health club (open to all residents), extensive events facilities and landscaped grounds complement our family and long service team run hotel. We have a central location just outside Walsall (20 minutes north of Birmingham) and are close to Sutton Coldfield, Lichfield and Wolverhampton. Bedrooms all offer the modern facilities that you would expect. Free parking, Free Wi-fi and free health club membership. We welcome guests looking to celebrate occasions, relax, rest and rejuvinate. Business or pleasure we hope to offer hospitality that makes you feel valued and that keeps people saying the nicest things about Fairlawns ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairlawns Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawns Hotel And Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa Aldridge, Walsall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing