We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff but needs a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
272 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff but needs a renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night to attend a function at the hotel. Check in was prompt and friendly and we were soon up to our room. Strange smell in the room however and I would have guessed it was an ex-smoking room....seems odd that this smell should linger so long mind...anyway, we did get used to it but would have moved if we were intending to be there longer than one night.

We made use of the bar which has an extensive wine list and we also used the Spa which was also excellent. We didn't eat in the restaurant as unfortunately it was fully booked, however I can confirm that the breakfast was really nice and tasty.

The room itself was a little tired...nothing wrong with it but I think it is now showing its age, and for the cost, I would suggest it is overpriced.

Would go back, but would prefer to stay in a better room for the cost.

Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your honest appraisal and comments relating to our family business. It is great to hear that you found our spa excellent, breakfast of good quality and service 5*

We continue to invest in the property at a level that is proportional to our business levels and sustainable. As an independent hotel, it is inevitable that we have some rooms of different vintages (in our case banks take the keys rather than offering refinance like the groups) but rooms no matter what the age are clean and well maintained. Furthermore our level of investment in the property is significantly higher than that being spent on average across the industry.

On balance we feel strongly that hospitality and service is about more than just the fixtures and fittings (although we know they are important!)

We do hope to see you again - if this is the case please email me once the reservation is made on johndp@fairlawns.co.uk

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    198
    47
    12
    2
See reviews for
166
410
17
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a good stay, only downfall was the breakfast. Queing to get a table and shocking service. Spa treatments where lovely and relaxing but for the overall stay it is a bit expensive. A function was taking place at the hotel during our stay which caused disturbed sleep

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsrowe174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are really grateful for your feedback which highlights areas in which we can improve.

Breakfast service last Sunday was under immense pressure due to the timings with which everyone arrived for breakfast. We appreciate that as a consequence of this our service suffered slightly and are sorry if it affected your experience. It is certainly not representative of the service we provide all of the time, but a reminder that we (like all teams and businesses) need to continue to work hard at developing our standards.

Although I appreciate that your room was affected by noise on Saturday night. I feel it fair to point out that following your on-line booking you were sent confirmation that this was going to be the case, along with a voice mail to your telephone to which you did not reply. Given that you accepted that this without question or comment, it does seem a little harsh to subsequently criticise us for it. Had you said that this was unacceptable at the time or prior to check-in we would have changed your room allocation.

If you would like to discuss the matter in further detail please email me on johndp@fairlawns.co.uk as continued feedback and comment is welcome.

Regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
785 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thank you for an amazing al a carte meal, our table of 7 were very pleased with the quality of food and the service from the staff. I can't believe I live just 1000yds away and this is the first time I've eaten here.

May I suggest anyone looking at this hotel on TripAdvisor dismiss the 1xTerrible review but it's worth a read because the managers response to the idiot who posted it is legendary.

We will be returning in the spring for meal number two and hopefully many more. Matt, Little Aston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Docmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It is surprising that someone who has travelled so extensively has only just found us - but we are pleased that you have now and that we have managed to look after you to the standards you expect. Hopefully we will begin to see you on a regular basis from now on!

It is disappointing to have received a terrible review. I should point out that following on from the response my father posted, the score was actually downgraded from poor to terrible, so it looks like he got the final word after all! Such is life.

We continue to learn and develop the business thanks to customer feedback and are really grateful to how trip advisor has helped us grow our reputation beyond Little Aston, Aldridge and Walsall. Given this; we have to take the rough with the smooth, sticking to our belief that customers know more about our service than we do. Doing so has helped us develop the business over the last 28 years. (Although - I still think that scoring a business terrible because it failed to top up the coffee at breakfast is unduly harsh - there - we got the last word after all!)

Warm regards

John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved the fairlawns. We stayed for 2 nights on a romantic package which included bed, breakfast, evening meal and champagne and chocolates on arrival. All staff were helpful and very pleasant and really couldnt do enough for us. The food was exceptionally good. I have also stayed here on a spa weekend and again we had a brilliant stay. The spa treatments left us so relaxed we didnt want to leave. We would highly recommend the fairlawns for a relaxing break away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you. We are pleased that you have found both hotel visits and spa visits to have met expectation equally and look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'll be fairly short as there are plenty of excelent reviews for this hotel already! Every part of our experience was spot on perfect. This hotel has all of the facilities of a large chain hotel but the personality and care that is impossible to get in a chain hotel. People are everything and every single person we came into contact with seemed happy in their work and wanting to do a good job. The pool specifically was fabulous.

Will without doubt return and this has probably hit the top of my hotel list !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
One can almost get emotional reading such fabulous feedback.

The experience you describe is exactly the one we hope to give to our customers and it is really rewarding to hear about it when it all goes right!

Warmest regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Fairlawns strapline certainly rang true, as my wife and I returned for another wonderful relaxing spa stay.

The staff here looks after you so well, from initial booking and arranging treatments, right through from reception, restaurant and spa. This is one of the main reasons we decided to come back for another overnight stay, along with knowing we would get delicious food and great facilities.
Throughout the hotel the high visual standards set by the owners are apparent and none more so than in the recently extended lounge/dining area and new relaxation room. The high quality furnishings are complemented by a lovely ambient atmosphere.
The spa facilities and treatment rooms have those all-important colour changing LED lights and soothing music to create peaceful zones to ensure a relaxing experience.
Food was again first class, both in the grazing lounge and for the delicious evening meal. It would be nice though to take breakfast in the restaurant rather than in your room, where the drinks and toast would be that bit hotter. Perhaps guests could be given the option when checking in?
The room was very pleasant. Nicely decorated and not at all cramped. Nice to have Sky Sports to catch up with the latest action. Great power shower in the bathroom.
Just a couple of minor comments: our in-room safe was not working as replacement parts were on order and I personally found the bedding too warm for my taste. My wife was fine, but the combination of a heavy quilt and thick bottom sheet was a little uncomfortable for me.

We are sure to return here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Both the owners and the whole team (Gardener, Housekeeper Receptionist, Pot washer...) take great pride in preparing the property for our visitors as we all enjoy making peoples time away special.

Thank you for both your kind comments and continued feedback. We are really pleased that you like the new spa areas and take your comments on board regarding other aspects of the service both positively and gratefully.

We shall look forward to seeing you again

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fairlawns is a beautiful place, immaculately tended. You are always made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The dinner menu in the restaurant is extensive, you really will be spoiled for choice. On arrival you are escorted to a lounge where your drinks order is taken and you are left to browse the menu. Your order is taken here before you are shown to your table. The restaurant never feels noisy even when its busy, service by the staff is second to none. It is more a place for 'a treat' than a run of the mill Friday night out. Two courses for two people, without wine is usually around £70-80, but its so worth it. Food is fabulous, the pate is the best ive had anywhere. Great for a romantic night out!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
FAULTLESS FEEDBACK!

It is lovely to know that we have have looked after you so well and it is truly rewarding for all of the team to know that we have delighted you in many ways during your last visit.

Thanks for your comments - we look forward to seeing you again

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldridge
5.2 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
13.8 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
6.4 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Hotel And Spa

Property: Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Address: 178 Little Aston Road, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall > Aldridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawns Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairlawns is a family owned and operated independent and individual 4 star property. We offer proper hospitality across our facilities which include 60 4 star bedrooms (with suite upgrades available), award-winning restaurant, luxurious spa, adult health club (open to all residents), extensive events facilities and landscaped grounds complement our family and long service team run hotel. We have a central location just outside Walsall (20 minutes north of Birmingham) and are close to Sutton Coldfield, Lichfield and Wolverhampton. Bedrooms all offer the modern facilities that you would expect. Free parking, Free Wi-fi and free health club membership. We welcome guests looking to celebrate occasions, relax, rest and rejuvinate. Business or pleasure we hope to offer hospitality that makes you feel valued and that keeps people saying the nicest things about Fairlawns ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairlawns Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawns Hotel And Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa Aldridge, Walsall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing