We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than a normal hotel & spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'll be fairly short as there are plenty of excelent reviews for this hotel already! Every part of our experience was spot on perfect. This hotel has all of the facilities of a large chain hotel but the personality and care that is impossible to get in a chain hotel. People are everything and every single person we came into contact with seemed happy in their work and wanting to do a good job. The pool specifically was fabulous.

Will without doubt return and this has probably hit the top of my hotel list !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

One can almost get emotional reading such fabulous feedback.

The experience you describe is exactly the one we hope to give to our customers and it is really rewarding to hear about it when it all goes right!

Warmest regards
John Pette Jnr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Fairlawns strapline certainly rang true, as my wife and I returned for another wonderful relaxing spa stay.

The staff here looks after you so well, from initial booking and arranging treatments, right through from reception, restaurant and spa. This is one of the main reasons we decided to come back for another overnight stay, along with knowing we would get delicious food and great facilities.
Throughout the hotel the high visual standards set by the owners are apparent and none more so than in the recently extended lounge/dining area and new relaxation room. The high quality furnishings are complemented by a lovely ambient atmosphere.
The spa facilities and treatment rooms have those all-important colour changing LED lights and soothing music to create peaceful zones to ensure a relaxing experience.
Food was again first class, both in the grazing lounge and for the delicious evening meal. It would be nice though to take breakfast in the restaurant rather than in your room, where the drinks and toast would be that bit hotter. Perhaps guests could be given the option when checking in?
The room was very pleasant. Nicely decorated and not at all cramped. Nice to have Sky Sports to catch up with the latest action. Great power shower in the bathroom.
Just a couple of minor comments: our in-room safe was not working as replacement parts were on order and I personally found the bedding too warm for my taste. My wife was fine, but the combination of a heavy quilt and thick bottom sheet was a little uncomfortable for me.

We are sure to return here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Both the owners and the whole team (Gardener, Housekeeper Receptionist, Pot washer...) take great pride in preparing the property for our visitors as we all enjoy making peoples time away special.

Thank you for both your kind comments and continued feedback. We are really pleased that you like the new spa areas and take your comments on board regarding other aspects of the service both positively and gratefully.

We shall look forward to seeing you again

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fairlawns is a beautiful place, immaculately tended. You are always made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The dinner menu in the restaurant is extensive, you really will be spoiled for choice. On arrival you are escorted to a lounge where your drinks order is taken and you are left to browse the menu. Your order is taken here before you are shown to your table. The restaurant never feels noisy even when its busy, service by the staff is second to none. It is more a place for 'a treat' than a run of the mill Friday night out. Two courses for two people, without wine is usually around £70-80, but its so worth it. Food is fabulous, the pate is the best ive had anywhere. Great for a romantic night out!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

FAULTLESS FEEDBACK!

It is lovely to know that we have have looked after you so well and it is truly rewarding for all of the team to know that we have delighted you in many ways during your last visit.

Thanks for your comments - we look forward to seeing you again

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here at twixmas with husband and (adult) daughter for a treat. It was not cheap but we had a great time, the staff were lovely, the rasual treatment we had together was good fun and we loved the spa facilities. The rooms were lovely spacious and well furnished with sufficient storage. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent, good home cooked food and plenty of it! We will come back here again we all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubbles311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thanks for your really kind comments.

We will look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again, when we hope to meet your expectations once more.

Kind regards
John Pette Jnr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed as Fairlawns for two nights on an exclusive package.

Room - this was amazing, really big, clean, modern, better than any superior room I've stayed in in the centre of Birmingham (Malmassion, Raddison, Hayatt)

Spa - We both loved the Spa, the treatments we really nice and there were steam rooms, sauna's, chill out rooms. Their website does not do the Spa any justice at all (or the hotel as a whole), the only problem with it was I would have liked to have longer to spend in the spa. The lunch and grazing bar were excellent, the scones and cream plus brownies we lovely, however due to the snow we were late arriving on our first day, we did phone to let them know, but the grazing bar was empty appart fruit at 4pm when we got to the spa so we had to buy food from the swimming pool bar, which was a very nice sandwich.

Food - The food was good, the produce were excellent, the first night. The second night we both had steaks which were superb. . The breakfast was decent, it would have been nice to have the choice of what pâtisseries to have other than just a croissant. Another thing which I loved the idea of, was the whiskey menu you can get at the end of the meal, which gives you a choice of 50 different Malts, however there were no prices at all on this menu, and if you wanted to know the price the waiter/waitress had to go and ask for you. Maybe some people have enough money just to order any whiskey without knowing the price but I just thought even an idea of price would have been nice to have on the menu

The Staff - All of the staff who we came into contact with during our stay was excellent, really helpful and always had a smile.

Only issue was the room was cold at times and at least 3 times we need to phone to receiption to turn the heating on, this was done straight away but not so nice when breakfast is served in your room and you are cold so have to get dressed as soon as you are up.

However, the gripes are just minor things I feel they could improve on and the stay was very enjoyable and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break, we would love to go back ourselves if we could afford it.

Room Tip: We were in room 47, which was above the spa and a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadoftrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thanks for your really valued feedback - it ios great to hear that you had a nice stay.

We have now re-printed all of the whisky menus with prices on. This comment was proof that our customers know more about our service than we do. We also take on board your other comments and suggestions.

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I can't sing the praises of the hotel enough. It is literally one of my favourite places. Stayed here nurmerous times, both for events, spa stays , and meals. Everything always great.
And, if you ever do experience "issues", all you have to do is tell them, and they do there upmost to rectify it. The fact it is family run also goes it it's favour and it nver lacks that personal touch.
I think the spa stays have gone up in price lately.... naughty naughty! :-) but still well worth it.
If you are thinking of booking as a treat, go for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dippy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

It is really kind of you to share your experience with us and other potential dna existing customers.

It gives up great pleasure to look after you and thank you for pointing out that should issues arise during your stay (we are not perfect!) that should you share them with the team we are able to help and rectify.

So long as the prices represent value for money we hope that customers can accept the odd increase!

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and i returned again to Fairlawns for our 25 anniversary a week before Christmas we had a lovely four poster bedroom , again we could not fault anything about the spa, dinner or hotel The hotel staff are very helpful.
We will return again to this handy hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We were glad to have you back and really appreciate you coming to share your special occasions with us.

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldridge
5.2 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,238 reviews
8.6 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
954 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,744 reviews
24.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,013 reviews
13.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Hotel And Spa

Address: 178 Little Aston Road, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall > Aldridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Price Range: $106 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawns Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairlawns is a family owned and operated independent and individual 4 star property. We offer proper hospitality across our facilities which include 60 4 star bedrooms (with suite upgrades available), award-winning restaurant, luxurious spa, adult health club (open to all residents), extensive events facilities and landscaped grounds complement our family and long service team run hotel. We have a central location just outside Walsall (20 minutes north of Birmingham) and are close to Sutton Coldfield, Lichfield and Wolverhampton. Bedrooms all offer the modern facilities that you would expect. Free parking, Free Wi-fi and free health club membership. We welcome guests looking to celebrate occasions, relax, rest and rejuvinate. Business or pleasure we hope to offer hospitality that makes you feel valued and that keeps people saying the nicest things about Fairlawns ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairlawns Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawns Hotel And Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa Aldridge, Walsall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing