We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy and pleasant”
Review of Plough & Harrow

Plough & Harrow
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Aldridge
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Plough & Harrow serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very cosy and pleasant”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Only called in here for a drink but I will be going back to eat here. Really cosy place and very well kept and clean

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Europa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    154
    102
    112
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bring back the toilet art”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have visited this pub a couple of times as a group in the past year and have always enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, and never had a bad experience. The menu doesn't seem to change much but the choice is very good and we were all finding difficult to narrow down our choices. We had starters of arancini risotto balls, asparagus and egg, lamb kofta, and roasted mushrooms. There were no complaints from anyone and the same can be said for the main course. We had slow cooked pork belly, pan fried sea bass fillets, and lamb rump. All the plates were licked clean! The desserts were also thoroughly enjoyable.
The staff were very pleasant and had good knowledge of the food and wine. They could be a bit slow at times but that can be a blessing as no-one likes to be rushed and we were in no rush.
The only disappointment of this visit was the fact that the toilets no longer had naked pictures of the opposite sex to adorn the walls. Apparantly, someone had complained and they were taken down. It's a sad day when a complaint can take the fun out of life. You don't expect to see people with a smile on their face as they left the toilets but that's what used to happen at the Plough and Harrow.
I hope the owners see sense and put the photographs back again. They weren't pornographic and I wouldn't have objected to my children seeing them.
The Plough and Harrow is a tad expensive but as I wasn't paying I didn't let that worry me too much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hunslet49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really nice food...at a price”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday afternoon. Didn't book. Wasn't busy

Ordered a sticky platter starter which was nice but fairly expensive.
Chicken and a salad main course. Chicken was really very nice indeed. Salad I am told was delicious.

Overall, lovely food, but a tad expensive we felt.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HunterTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thanks for taking the time to write to us again regarding your recent visit. Im glad you enjoyed the food on your most recent visit. There is a fixed price menu we offer in the week (2 courses for £11.95, Mon-Fri til 6pm). This menu still delivers on quality at slightly better value and we would love you to come down and try it in the week. Please make yourself known to the management team next time your in and we'l make sure you have a great time.

Thanks

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I popped in after work on a Friday. I used to visit every Friday for works drinks as it does have a nice atmosphere in the bar area, but I only manage every so often now. Since the refit a few years ago, the menu (for me as a veggie) and pricing (in terms of value for money) has never been great but at least they had a deal on pizzas until 6pm of, I think, two for £10. The deal doesn't exist anymore, which is fine as I'm happy to pay more IF the quality is there.

It isn't. On my last visit, our two pizzas costing about £18 were small both in terms of the whole pizza, the middle bit where all the toppings are, and the height. It was essentially a small flatbread with a large crust and not much else...I left hungry and ending up eating more when I got home! The size just felt a bit mean and the flavour a disappointment.

On the plus side, it is a cosy place to have a drink, especially at Christmas. What a shame the food doesn't match...

Helpful?
1 Thank stellarpebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thanks for taking the time to write to us again regarding your recent visit. Im sorry you didn’t enjoy the pizzas. Our pizza offer has ended over the festive season however we are still offering our fixed price menu over December (2 courses for £11.95, Mon-Fri til 6pm). Please make yourself known to one of the management team next time you are in and we will endeavour to make sure you have a great time.

Thanks

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Groundhog Day YES REALLY!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

So this is my second review (and last) my first review is also listed in here. After my first review the General Manager Dan was kind enough to invite us back; to try and change our mind and to prove things had been improved.

So I like to give everybody a chance an opportunity to show me, it was a one off error. So on Fri 8 Nov 2013 we returned for a meal. On this occasion i did observe some small changes had been made to the seating area in the restaurant but people were still very close together in the top left area, but not a game changer.

I noted the sexist images had been removed from the gents WC's well done. I was also informed prior to my visit the menu had been changed. So with rambling on about my first review i will let you know how this night panned out.
As always the lady that served us was fantastic as she was last time ( i really feel for her having to put up with poor quality food shoved out of the kitchen)
We ordered the following:-
Starters:-
Artisan rustic breads, Review Good
Seared pigeon breast, sweet potato rosti, buttered British greens & red wine jus Review Very Good
Main:-
28 day dry aged Casterbridge ribeye steak & hand cut triple cooked chips 19.95 add béarnaise, peppercorn, red wine sauce 1.50 / ½ lobster tail Review Poor

So what was wrong with this meal? Well in my first review i had a UFC cage fight with Pork Belly. Well i was in for a rematch this time triple cooked chips not sure what that involved but it didn't make the spuds soft. They were rock hard as was the lobster tail over cooked and like rubber.

So once again we sent them back, the waitress asked do you prefer French fries we insisted on the chips from the menu. Because chips surely are that not difficult to cook tender especially if you are cooking them THREE times!!!.

But sending food back in the Plough you hit a downward spiral. Food came back they had swapped the food onto clean plates and kept it warm. Which in turn then over cooks the Steaks so the rare becomes medium rare and the medium over cooked as well.

The side was spinach in cream sauce. Having had this several times it should be cooked spinach coated in a fresh warm cream sauce. We had spinach with arm bands swimming or drowning in liquid cream.

So as explained when the food returned we were in worst state; Steak over cooked Chips still rock hard and the waitress still asking us to try French fries as they might be cooked through.

So we declined and just accepted if a restaurant cannot make Steak and Chips on numerous attempts then one has to ask what qualifications does the chef have and does he/she use them!

We tried a 2 different desert which was
Sticky toffee pudding & vanilla gelato Review Average
Baked vanilla cheesecake & a red berry compote Review bought in but Average

It is so clear from both my visits Starters are achievable here but main courses are very poor even for simple meals and desserts are fair. I so wanted to be proved wrong and the Plough & Harrow show me they could turn out a good meal.

But knowing we had returned and to still send out under cooked chips twice over cooked lobster and poor side dish beggars belief. As the waitress said you have the devils luck with food here we are so sorry.
As i mentioned before great surroundings good friendly staff but let down badly by poor cooking i would be ashamed if i had the title of chef here.

I would like to thank Dan for giving us this opportunity to try again. I am only sorry your chefs let you down AGAIN.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thanks for taking the time to write to us again regarding your recent visit with us. Im sorry we couldn’t improve on everything since your last visit and we appreciate your feedback as always.

Kind Regards

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plough & Harrow also viewed

Walsall, West Midlands
 
Walsall, West Midlands
Walsall, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Plough & Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing