We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plough & Harrow
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Aldridge
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Plough & Harrow serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visited here for a meal with friends this weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. Setting is quite nice, modern and atmosphere is warm and inviting. Food was good, but on the pricy side for what you get. This could have been a very good rating had the service been better. I don't know what it is with most pub based restaurants these days, good service seems to have disappeared. On arrival there was no-one to confirm the booking. When asking a member of staff if the table was ready it took 15 minutes for the manager to come and let us know. 20 minutes at the table before anyone came to ask if we wanted a drink and another 10 minutes before our order was taken. The waitress was good and made suggestions and did look after us quite well. If only the welcome had been better. Last week we ate at the Annexe in Birmingham (see my review) and the standard of service was nothing but outstanding. As a result I have spoken to at least a dozen people this week and told them they have to give it a try. I will not be making the same recommendation about the Plough & Harrow!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time out to write to us regarding your recent visit. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. You’re comments have been taken on board and will be addressed. I hope this experience does not deter you from dining with us at The Plough and Harrow.

Many Thanks

Sarah-Jane
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 604 of 725 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Been to the Plough many times, and it just seems to get better and better. Whoever the management team are, then hats off to them, as they have got this bang on, in fact they could teach other establishments HOW a restaurant within a pub should be run. Its hard to believe this IS a pub restaurant actually, the dining seating is cleverly done so that if your in the raised level you cant see or hear anything from the pub at all, in fact if its the 'pub' aspect that puts you off then don't let it.....the menu is excellent, and there are always specials. The food quality, cooking and presentation are better than some 4* hotels Ive eaten in....the service is flawless, from order taking to clearing away. The lamb kofta starter is always gorgeous and the rib eye steak is superb, and the sea bream was perfect.....try the 'while you wait' chilli nuts, they are so moreish!, you get fresh, warm bread and dipping oil as a standard here, just to keep you going so the chilli nuts are an indulgence, NOT a necessity to ward off starvation!!! In a nutshell .... unbeatable at this price!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thankyou very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit. Your comments have been shared with the team and we are all glad you had a great experience with us.

We are all Looking forward to seeing you again

Many Thanks

Sarah-Jane
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The wine list is great if not a little over priced great real ale selections and bottles of Duval is great to see in a pub. Enjoyed our visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thankyou for your recent review on trip advisor. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us at The Plough and Harrow.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again soon

Many Thanks
Sarah-Jane

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I agree with previous reviewer Thorrr. Food was cold and the steak over cooked I had asked for rare more like well done when it came after some delay. We all agreed it was not worth the money we had to pay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thankyou for your recent review on trip advisor. I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us. I hope that this experience does not deter you from dining with us at The Plough and Harrow . Your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed.

Hoping to see you again

Many Thanks

Sarah-Jane
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This afternoon we had a very pleasant dining experience here. We chose to sit outside at the rear and were greeted by the manager and shown to our table. Drinks appeared swiftly and all the staff were efficient, polite and friendly. Our lunches were well presented, generously portioned and very tasty.The desserts were the same and exceeded our expectations : the apple and berry crumble particularly so. Highly recommend this lovely pub- great staff, great food - will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oakvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plough H, Manager at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent visit with us at The Plough and Harrow. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and enjoyed your sunday lunch with us. I have shared your comments with the team and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks

Sarah-Jane
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plough & Harrow also viewed

Walsall, West Midlands
 
Walsall, West Midlands
 

Been to Plough & Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing