We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning property with every detail thought of...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shortwood Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gardens and surrounding fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Gardens and surrounding fields
Breakfast bar and Kitchen
Master bedroom balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Litton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vincep1
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning property with every detail thought of for the perfect stay!”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had an absolutely brilliant long weekend at the barn. It's actually even bigger than what we expected and even more secluded for the perfect break. Justin was a perfect host! From the comfort of the beds to the Tupperware in the kitchen every detail has been thought about here. On Justin's recommendation we took a walk around the reserve which was perfect and a walk to the litten which too was brilliant.

Plenty of room and fun to be had here for any family break. Sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The location couldn't have been more perfect for our family break over the post Christmas and New Year period. The Barn is beautiful and has everything you could possibly need, its close enough for day trips to neighbouring towns like Bath, Bristol and our favourite - Wells. Food at The Litton was great. We'd love to come back in summer to take advantage of the many walks. Justin and Sarah were wonderful hosts, thank you for making us feel at home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2018
Hi Sandi

We're glad you had such a relaxing stay...would love to see you back
Justin and Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julierQ68...
West End Townsville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Peaceful, stunning accommodation in country setting”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We loved our stay. The property is beautiful, very spacious and modern throughout. Wished our stay was much longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Hope you made it back to Oz without any undue inconvenience...guess it's getting warm there.
Thank you for your lovely comments - much appreciated
Sarah and Justin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
booboy7
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Somerset stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A fantastic place to stay. Clean, roomy and lovely views. Stayed wit family and had plenty of space. House was well prepared for our arrival including a welcoming sponge cake. Greeted by owners on first day who explained how certain things worked. Fabulous, relaxing stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
It's always heartwarming to read that you had a relaxing stay and thank you for your very generous opinion on the barn. Sarah and Justin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Thanks so much for your very kind words and we're glad you had a great stay. Justin and Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pat b
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish and tranquil retreat.”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fancy being away from traffic, noise and clamour in accommodation placed in a luxurious and beautifully designed sylvan setting? How about walking off your lunch around pretty adjoining lakes? What about ditching the cooking and indulging in the meals provided by smashing local gastro-pubs? Hey, this could be ideal! There is a pile of space in this gorgeous home where you can spread out and relax. Fittings and fixtures are a pure delight - ultra modern and high quality abounds. It would help however, if you did not bring a wife who kept saying ' why can't our house look like this?' We loved the giant, sociable, refectory table and (I cannot believe I am saying this) the pink leather settee. For the green ones amongst you, the heating and ventilation system is state of the art. The only bit I was familiar with was the focal point wood-burner. Piles to do in the local area - we enjoyed Wells enormously. The value for your hard earned is top-notch and Jason a caring and generous host. Go on, write a book here, get fit or like us, plan how you will refit your 17th century pile of stones. You will love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Dear Boyd Family
Still chuckling at your review...very funny.
Lovely to host you and hope very much that we see you again.....and thank you for the warm and generous commentary
Justin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
1 review
“Ideal Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked Shortwood Barn for a week in Aug 17. We were a party of 3 adults and 4 children from 4 to 12. The Barn is of a very high standard, well equipped, with plenty of room and very comfortable. It is set in wonderful countryside and there was plenty of space for our children to run around and play in a safe environment. The owners made us feel very welcome and we will look to return back to Shortwood Barn. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing