We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Somerset stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shortwood Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gardens and surrounding fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Gardens and surrounding fields
Breakfast bar and Kitchen
Master bedroom balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Litton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
booboy7
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Somerset stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A fantastic place to stay. Clean, roomy and lovely views. Stayed wit family and had plenty of space. House was well prepared for our arrival including a welcoming sponge cake. Greeted by owners on first day who explained how certain things worked. Fabulous, relaxing stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
It's always heartwarming to read that you had a relaxing stay and thank you for your very generous opinion on the barn. Sarah and Justin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Thanks so much for your very kind words and we're glad you had a great stay. Justin and Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pat b
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish and tranquil retreat.”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fancy being away from traffic, noise and clamour in accommodation placed in a luxurious and beautifully designed sylvan setting? How about walking off your lunch around pretty adjoining lakes? What about ditching the cooking and indulging in the meals provided by smashing local gastro-pubs? Hey, this could be ideal! There is a pile of space in this gorgeous home where you can spread out and relax. Fittings and fixtures are a pure delight - ultra modern and high quality abounds. It would help however, if you did not bring a wife who kept saying ' why can't our house look like this?' We loved the giant, sociable, refectory table and (I cannot believe I am saying this) the pink leather settee. For the green ones amongst you, the heating and ventilation system is state of the art. The only bit I was familiar with was the focal point wood-burner. Piles to do in the local area - we enjoyed Wells enormously. The value for your hard earned is top-notch and Jason a caring and generous host. Go on, write a book here, get fit or like us, plan how you will refit your 17th century pile of stones. You will love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Dear Boyd Family
Still chuckling at your review...very funny.
Lovely to host you and hope very much that we see you again.....and thank you for the warm and generous commentary
Justin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
1 review
“Ideal Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked Shortwood Barn for a week in Aug 17. We were a party of 3 adults and 4 children from 4 to 12. The Barn is of a very high standard, well equipped, with plenty of room and very comfortable. It is set in wonderful countryside and there was plenty of space for our children to run around and play in a safe environment. The owners made us feel very welcome and we will look to return back to Shortwood Barn. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K
1 review
“Everything we could have wanted and more”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location was so tranquil. The barn overlooked fields, sheep and cows and a gentle hill. There was almost no background noise and at night it was dark enough for a really good star gazing! But if you have a car it is not far to any amenities.

The barn itself is kitted out with everything you could ever want or think of. No effort has been spared from making this into a real home away from home. With a very modern feel the house is clean, fresh and bright. The master bedroom is a haven in itself; with one whole wall a glass door onto a balcony that overlooks the Mendip hills. The barn is spacious and very comfortable. And everything works!!!!

Our kids had the best time with all the outdoor space, there was always something to do or see. The barn is about half an hour from many, many attractions that could have kept us busy for far longer than our stay. The vegetable patch was a real bonus where we picked fresh veg and popped it straight onto our bbq right there.

Justin and Sarah were the ultimate hosts. They were always available to give us their time, advice, painkillers,etc. Nothing was too much. We all agree that it was an unbelievable holiday rental and we would very happily return there! (The sooner the better!!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you Joel and Leora for such a kind review...it gave us a lot of pleasure reading your comments.
We're very glad that you all had such a great time and we would love to see you all again
Justin and Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip71...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect property with excellent attention to detail”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

From the moment we arrived for our 7 night stay, everything about this property was perfect. Our shopping had been received and put away in cupboards. A home made cake was waiting for us, as was a beautiful flower arrangement. The property is purpose built and ultra modern. It has everything you could want for a week's stay. The owners had even produced a kitchen garden so that we could pick fresh vegetables and fruit. The owners were attentive without overwhelming us. The local area is filled with interesting things to do and we found that 7 days was insufficient to explore the local area. We were very sorry to leave and have already recommended the property to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Anne....thank you so much for your very kind review...it was a delight to host you and your family. We never realised there was that much to do in the area and we've lived here 20 years. You were a joy to host and I hope we see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thek I
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven, in Somerset”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My stay in Shortwood Barn last week was perfect! It's a wonderfully quiet spot with stunning views, particularly from the bed in the Master Bedroom. The whole place is finished to a very high spec; showers, baths, utility room; right down to the towels and bed linen. It is modern, light and spacious, whilst still feeling homely with a wood burning stove, comfy sofa and TV.

As a professional chef, having access to the vegetable garden was amazing, being able to pick fresh herbs, salads and courgettes. The kitchen is well equipped and eating the fruits of my labours in the garden on a sunny evening was a bonus. A real find!

Hands down the nicest place to stay in the area, excellent value, I cannot praise enough!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Steve it was an absolute delight to have you here...next year we'll have an even bigger and more diverse set of produce in the kitchen garden...need your tutelage to improve
Very best wishes
Sarah and Justin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing