We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best in whole Finland...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably the best in whole Finland...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying in Yli-Kaitala's cottages for six times and I can assure you: It doesn't get more relaxing or serene. I've always been at the Joutsenlampi-cottage because it is superbly equipped, whether you like to stay inside or explore outside. Joutsenlampi has it all: room for 13 people, big wood-heating sauna (fits easily 9-12 persons), jacuzzi for five, two showers, 2 bathrooms, big kitchen with everything you need and a private access to a 10 hectare lake. I keep coming back because there's nothing remotely close like this. A true gem just 150km north from Helsinki. If you are ever in Finland and have a free weekend, you should definately visit Yli-Kaitala's website and book yourself a weekend in one the cottages. I swear you'll love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacuzzi-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a very peaceful, relaxing time at a 5-bed cottage with a separate sauna building. It was quite remote but only a couple of hours drive from Helsinki. The cottage had a great view over the lake, well-equipped kitchen, good surround sound system, big fireplace, 2 wood-burning saunas and a massive log store. The lake is very clean and has a gradual slope so good for children. We used the fishing rods and boat one afternoon and had plenty of fun catching some pike (which we threw it back in..!) Virpi and Markku looked after us very well throughout the stay. All in all a great week away, we came away feeling very refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veryhealthyappetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

The Yli-Kaitala cottages are set in a beautiful Finnish countryside. Our visit was in the middle of the winter and the scenery was stunning with lots of snow. Especially the views across the frozen lake were to die for.

The staff at Yli-Kaitala are really friendly and helpful and the cottage we stayed at was superb. Couldn't have asked for more! Had a most enjoyable visit, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had big cottage for rent with our friends. We spend the weekend swimming, barbecue, enjoying the peace and quiet and off course sauna and jacuzzi as well. Cottage was clean, well equipped and in a good location. Can recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have stayed in Yli-Kaitala twice. Once a few years ago when our company arranged a meeting and stayed over the weekend there, and now on spring 2011 I stayed there on a private holiday. Both times the service and the quality of the accommodation have been excellent. The cottages are clean and nicely furnished (all facilities you can imagine) and Markku and Virpi Yli-Kaitala are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suusani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kouvola
20.8 mi away
Cumulus Kouvola
Cumulus Kouvola
#2 of 3 in Kouvola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
20.5 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
17.5 mi away
Cumulus Lahti
Cumulus Lahti
#3 of 6 in Lahti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelli Sommelo
17.6 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
8.1 mi away
Scandic Vierumaki
Scandic Vierumaki
#1 of 2 in Vierumaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages

Property: Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages
Address: Kaitalantie 323 | Mankala, Iitti, Kouvola 47490, Finland
Location: Finland > Kymenlaakso > Kouvola
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kouvola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cottages are of high standard and it is possible to live in them throughout the year. The cottages are situated in Iitti, southern Finland, approximately a hundred miles from the capital, Helsinki, and about 30 miles from the city of Lahti and 25 miles from the town of Kouvola. We also provide guided tours for fishing and hiking as well as conference services, including various activities. You are most welcome to experience our luxurious cottages and the breathtaking scenery in Iitti, Finland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yli-Kaitalan Lomamokit - Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing