We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative food.”

Ristorante Enoteca Piazza del Popolo
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in San Miniato
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
256 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Innovative food.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is quite a small place run by a team of young people who seem to be very serious about what they do.
It was very busy, mostly young people. The front of house young lady is very knowledgable about the wine and we were impressed.
The menu is quite daring, some works, others not, but they are pushing the boundaries and desperate to please.
We enjoyed our meal in a buzzy atmosphere. Not cheap but you are paying for the postcode!
We wish them well and hope they go from strength to strength.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    121
    29
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky decor, interesting food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This small restaurant has quirky modern decor. The waiter was knowledgable and helpful. For our evening meal we chose the house red wine and a local blonde beer, which were both excellent. The tiny pickled beetroot and yoghurt appetiser, beautifully presented and very tasty set the tone for the meal. Our starters (an onion and Roquefort tart and a 'garden of spring vegetables') were equally good. The main courses (tagliatelle with pancetta, and maccharoni with green pesto and a light cheese) struggled to match the high standard of the starters. But overall this is a small gem of a restaurant with intriguing flavours, cleverly blended and exquisitely presented in a pleasantly unusual environment. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic in San Miniato!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a terrific little restaurant. Highly rated by fellow users of Trip Advisor, we headed there for lunch during a visit to the lovely town of San Miniato, and we weren't disappointed. The Italian menu was expertly translated to us by our very helpful waiter (waiter sounds derisory, as the guy could not have been more helpful in ensuring we had a great meal). The food choices ranged from classic Italian, to more adventurous Tuscan dishes (asparagus soup; steak tartare; rabbit). The pasta dishes were more thought out than the obvious - I had a lovely spaghetti pomodoro with spicy peppers to follow my steak tartare starter. We asked our hosts recommend the wine, and he suggested a lovely chianti, at a very affordable 16 Euros.
The overall meal was good value, the ambience was great (the decor is very contemporary) and I would highly recommend a visit - just make sure you book, as it is not the biggest restaurant inside!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BasildonVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Excellent modern Italian cooking”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The concierge at the hotel said that this was his favourite place to eat in San Miniato. Friendly and informal with an interesting locally sourced menu. I had mixed bruschetta as a starter and then pork liver from the Macelleria Falaschi which came served with 2 small tender pieces of pork as well as the liver, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. We shared a pudding and local wine. Probably one of the best meals that I ate in 3 weeks in Italy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our Favourite - food and wine heaven”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fantastic - food and wine heaven!
Our favourite place to eat, for lunch or dinner. Every time we visit the area we dine here, either on our own or with friends. Very laid back atmosphere.
The menu changes frequently so there is always something new and innovative created lovingly by the chef. The staff are great, very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. It is evident they are passionate about the food and wine they serve. Luca never fails to recommend the perfect wine!
Buonissimo

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryJulie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Enoteca Piazza del Popolo also viewed

San Miniato, Province of Pisa
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
 
Corazzano, San Miniato
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
 
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Ristorante Enoteca Piazza del Popolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing