We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of Hotel San Miniato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Miniato
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was a dream come true , Stunning room fantastic view ,spotless . The owners so helpful and friendly ,and the son speaking fluent English . Had five days there in August 14 and will defiantly be going back. Great place to stay if you want to see Florence and Pisa . We went by train to Florence and Pisa station only 10mins drive. Well worth a visit and Restaurants great in Village too . Thanks for a splendid stay, Best Wishes Colin Tanya

Room Tip: Fredrico 2 View amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    100
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
102
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked 2 nights at this hotel in early July 2014 but declined to stay there. This is a message to the hotel management, which has not bothered to ask us why we did not stay. You may not care, but very simply, you failed the 10 minute test. What I mean by that is that if you cannot connect with me in that time, I have no desire to do business with you. Let me explain. We arrived at your hotel to find your reception unmanned. I needed a toilet, so I wandered through your hotel until I found one, leaving my wife at the reception. When I returned, there was still no one there until a young lady appeared to answer a telephone. She totally ignored us while she took the call. There was no "I'm sorry, I'll be with you in a minute", "Welcome to our hotel", "Can I help you" When she finished the call, I said we had a reservation whereupon the girl immediately asked for our passports (still no greeting). By that time, we were having very bad vibes and we therefore asked to see our room first. The girl gave us a key but did not offer to arrange for anyone to take us to the room. We eventually found it on the third floor (after locating a lift ourselves). The room was, at best, basic and overlooked a roof. Fortunately, we did not have a cat because we would have been unable to swing it had the mood taken us. My wife is far more patient than me, but at that stage, even she said she did not want to stay a minute longer in your hotel. Just to inform you, we found another hotel within a short distance of yours, which was far more welcoming and better furnished, for the same cost as your establishment. I have written many reviews for Trip Advisor, but none have been as damning as this. Perhaps you need to remember that your guests need to be treated as persons rather than a source of revenue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanieleNannetti82, Proprietario at Hotel San Miniato, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Google Translation
Buonasera egregio signore
sinceramente pur facendo questo lavoro da oltre 20 anni ancora non riesco ad abituarmi alle falsità e grandi corbellerie che alcuni personaggi si divertono a scrivere.
Quando una persona varca la soglia di in esercizio pubblico dovrebbe, come regola basilare, avere rispetto del lavoro e dell'intelligenza di persone che sono a disposizione 24 ore al giorno.
Lei, egregio signore, è arrivato sistemando la sua vettura nel nostro parcheggio privato, è entrato in hotel senza bagagli, è salito in camera giusto il tempo per usare il bagno e poi se n'è andato con la velocità di un centometrista, pur non essendo più un ragazzino.
Abbiamo capito benissimo che lei, egregio signore, aveva solo bisogno di usare il bagno e siamo pieni di comprensione per certe urgenze mal controllabili, ma non riusciamo a comprendere questa Sua ostilità nei nostri confronti, visto che abbiamo soddisfatto l'unico bisogno che aveva, anche se all'entrata c'è chiaramente scritto "HOTEL" e non bagni pubblici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel San Miniato was a perfect first overnight stop on our Via Francegina walking pilgrimage from Lucca to Siena. A comfortable room, good food and wine, reliable and 'fast enough' wifi, and most important if all, the friendly enthusiastic staff. A lovely building too.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank morga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here as part of Via Francigena walking holiday.
Arriving in San Miniato with tired legs the hotel was a welcome sight.
Not sure if we were upgraded or not but we ended up in the building next to the main hotel in a great room with terrace.

This is a family run hotel and the sense of that really comes through in a good way.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaranHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Oh man, did we hit the jackpot on this one! I was traveling with some colleagues and we pulled up to this hotel after a very long drive from Bologna, full of traffic. This hotel was a miracle to behold, I cannot believe this is not a 5 star luxury. I had the best room of all, although that's what everyone said, which was the Federico the 2nd. Greeted by a mildly alarming painting of this historical figure, I had gorgeous panoramic views, comfortable bed with MULTIPLE pillows, and the ultimate jacuzzi tub. The Nannetti family owned and run establishment is fantastic and one I can't wait to return to, especially now that I hear they are opening a restaurant inside. Oh, and do NOT MISS the best cappuccino you will ever have, handcrafted by Mr Daniele himself. I was there almost 9 months ago and I'm still dreaming about it. This is a beautiful jewel in an unique town in Tuscany that should be your first choice without question.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, your jaw will drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

ok we were out of season and we had the superior rooms (110E), but the hotel was a calm oasis, clean, friendly well presented. The reception was helpful in guiding us that we needed to reserve table for dinner - so after some helpful suggestions to look at we wandered around the town/village in the late afternoon and chose our location and returned to have it booked for us. - all worked smoothly. Breakfast was a delight and plenty of choice. Overall we would have liked to have stayed longer and perhpas used the Spa etc. Lastly, it was 40 minutes to Pisa airport on Sunday morning so after a couple of hours walkng around the local market we had a great last night for our trip to Tuscanny. Yes we would stay again

Room Tip: We didin't look at the standard room but when we booked, it was only 10E extra for the superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel San Miniato for 4 days at the beginning of September during the friend's wedding and it was brilliant!

San Miniato is an amazing place to stay and a hotel perfect base for exploring the local area, with several good bars/restaurants.

Rooms are large and comfortable with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, TV, fridge, mini bar. We were in room 305 and we loved it,- our room was spacious, very clean, with stunning view. Social area, sunny courtyard, breakfast room are great too,- very comfortable, full of character, with modern quirky touches.

The breakfast selection is very versatile, delicious cappuccino.

The owner Paolo and his son Daniele are incredible,- extremely welcoming, sociable and helpful, with great English too. They were always busy buzzing around from the front desk to the breakfast room, taking a great care of everything and ready to help, always with a smile and acknowledged guests whenever they saw them with warm greeting.

Overall we had an absolutely fantastic stay in this wonderful hotel, location and lovely people only made our stay even more enjoyable. We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room 305 which was big, airy, very clean, simply but tastefully decorated with stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yana22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miniato
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 5 in San Miniato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Sonnino
Villa Sonnino
#1 of 5 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.0 mi away
EmpoliHotel
EmpoliHotel
#2 of 4 in Empoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.5 mi away
Borgo Bucciano
Borgo Bucciano
#4 of 29 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.2 mi away
Azienda Agricola ed Agrituristica Cafaggio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Miniato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miniato

Property: Hotel San Miniato
Address: Via Aldo Moro 2, 56028, San Miniato, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Miniato 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Miniato leans in the citycentre giving the guest the sensations of the old medioeval village with its flavours, its suggestions and its history. All this, together with confort and wellness standards make the Hotel San Miniato a new and funtional hotel placed in a suggestive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Miniato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing