We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enchanting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Sonnino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Sonnino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Villa has been lovingly restored by its owner and is a credit to her and her staff. It is run very smoothly but firmly and has the most calming of surroundings. A great place to hideaway from any hustle and bustle.

We were staying there and attending the wedding of our friends so there was a little more excitement as is usual and this was fabulous. The food was wonderful a mixture of traditional Tuscan food.

A fantastic venue for a wedding. Extremely well organised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
57
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I would have given this hotel a maximum 5, but we stayed a total of 3 nights and I found that the menu was very limited if you stayed for more than a night. The value for money is undoubtedly excellent and the food lovely. The staff are lovely, the gardens pretty, the situation perfect and the aircon works! It is even easy to find, with good signposting! Value for money is 5, but I would like a slightly longer menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I actually ended up at Villa Sonnino as I was looking for a hotel in Pisa. This hotel is located mid way between Pisa and Florence in San Miniato and is very close to the highway. The hotel-Restaurant offers probably the best value for the money I have found in a long time. It is located in an old but immaculately restored house and is just amazing. room are large for European standards, totally renovated and gorgeous. Real high speed internet is free. The restaurant food is fantastic but the price make it even more appealing. We stayed for 2 nights in a luxury room, had 2 great breakfasts and 2 sumptuous full course diners with wine. Price for everything came to $ 400, an amazing price considering the quality of the room and the food served.
I never regretted having booked ''so'' far from Florence and would have gladly stayed an extra day if I had been able to. Having booked in Florence, we reluctantly had to move on.
If you are visiting Pisa or Florence and have a car, do not hesitate to book this place , and enjoy the luxury and quietness. Make sure to stay for dinner.
Pisa is 30 minutes west, Florence 25 minutes East on the highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ortho55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was one of the high points of our two-week vacation in Italy. The rooms were large, the staff very accommodating and the restaurant was pleasant with good food. There was a complementary bottle of sparkling wine in each room. The off-season rate was a superb value. The rooms on the south side are nicely shaded by the trees but regardless of location, all rooms have efficient air conditioning. We were happy to leave the window open and get the fresh air.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room will work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikefor2ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We just found this place by mere chance. And it turned out to be the best part of our 3 week trip to Europe. Gorgeous setting, great food & wine. The staff were very nice and hospitable. Highly recommond it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you go to Italy you have to go here ! It is like staying in a castle, and being treated like royalty !!!
When you arrive, the owner has a complimentary bottle of champagne ( on ice) waiting in your room. He carries your luggage, and will even pick you up at train station if needed. Restaurant is classy, menu in Italian, but ask upstairs before going to dining room, if you are not sure what the foods are. We had the ravioli( all fresh, homemade) a bottle of wine and tiramisu (also homemade) and it was only 22 Euros. Breakfast is a traditional Italian feast served on linen tablecloths by the sweetest girl you will meet in Italy. She even gave us a tour of the top floor of the villa and the grounds ( just ask, they love to show off their villa) if you need maps or directions, they are also very helpful. Every employee was absolutely fantastic ! Will go again, when I go back to Italy !!!
PS- if you are planning a wedding, they do those, too...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMaria27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything already said is utterly accurate. Staying in this 500 year old villa is a privilege. A suite of rooms and an enjoyable, beautifully cooked and relaxed dinner (our best in Italy). All served by the charming Albania Armand who, gave us a tour of the upper floor. Breakfast was very good and the staff were extremely kind and generous, a jewel in the crown of Tuscany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miniato
1.7 mi away
Hotel San Miniato
Hotel San Miniato
#2 of 5 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 5 in San Miniato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.7 mi away
EmpoliHotel
EmpoliHotel
#2 of 4 in Empoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albergo Quattro Gigli
Albergo Quattro Gigli
#1 of 2 in Montopoli in Val d'Arno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.6 mi away
Azienda Agricola ed Agrituristica Cafaggio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sonnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonnino

Property: Villa Sonnino
Address: Via Castelvecchio 9-11 | La Catena, 56028 San Miniato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sonnino 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Sonnino, built in 500, when the Restaurant Castelvecchio, and situated halfway up the slope of a hill in the heart of Tuscany halfway between Pisa and Florence in San Miniato.The eye of the attentive observer will sense the presence of a church on the hill near the recently restored and housing which it dominates: Cigoli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Sonnino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing