We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Part of trip to Italy !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sonnino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Sonnino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Best Part of trip to Italy !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you go to Italy you have to go here ! It is like staying in a castle, and being treated like royalty !!!
When you arrive, the owner has a complimentary bottle of champagne ( on ice) waiting in your room. He carries your luggage, and will even pick you up at train station if needed. Restaurant is classy, menu in Italian, but ask upstairs before going to dining room, if you are not sure what the foods are. We had the ravioli( all fresh, homemade) a bottle of wine and tiramisu (also homemade) and it was only 22 Euros. Breakfast is a traditional Italian feast served on linen tablecloths by the sweetest girl you will meet in Italy. She even gave us a tour of the top floor of the villa and the grounds ( just ask, they love to show off their villa) if you need maps or directions, they are also very helpful. Every employee was absolutely fantastic ! Will go again, when I go back to Italy !!!
PS- if you are planning a wedding, they do those, too...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMaria27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
53
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Level Contributor
292 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything already said is utterly accurate. Staying in this 500 year old villa is a privilege. A suite of rooms and an enjoyable, beautifully cooked and relaxed dinner (our best in Italy). All served by the charming Albania Armand who, gave us a tour of the upper floor. Breakfast was very good and the staff were extremely kind and generous, a jewel in the crown of Tuscany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel many times on business,so I knew that the staff were helpful and welcoming,the rooms a nice size and the breakfast good.This time I stayed with friends and my wife,it gave me time to investigate the hotel more fully,it is worth a visit in its self,very tasteful, creating a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere,as someone else said its like staying in a palace.
I couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leatherbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My friend and I were visiting San Miniato for the annual truffle festival. Villa Sonnino lies in an elevated position in it's own grounds overlooking the small village of La Catena and is about 3 miles from San Miniato railway station so you do need to take a taxi. It is better if you have a car as it will save on taxi fares although there are busses at the bottom of the hotel drive.
The hotel is ideally placed for visiting Pisa, Florence, Lucca etc. Our room was a twin (room 101) which had 2 large single beds, a huge bathroom and lots of space. All spotlessly clean. There was a complimentary and welcome bottle of Asti brut in the room which we put in the minibar and scoffed later.
The breakfast was typical with cold meat and cheese but very good-do try the sweet cakes and pies-yum yum. The restaurant food was excellent and we ate in for 2 nights out of 3. Very good house wine.
It is family run and the owners couldn't do enough for us.If you want anything just ask. Their English is better than my Italian!! Will stay again.Buonissimo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewis_frame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed in Villa Sonnino because I just found it by browsing booking engines... but what a marvellous discovery it was! The Villa is somewhere in between a museum, a renaissance villa and a fairy-tale castle. What's more: it comes with a gourmet restaurant, so no need to go out in the evening. When I looked at the price of the hotel room and restaurant bill the following morning, I thought there had been a mistake, but no: it's just very inexpensive. This must have been one of the best price/quality scores ever in my lengthy Italian hotel experience.
The only small downside is that you need a car to get there, but that applies to just about any place in Italy outside the city centres.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I return every yr. for at least a week and i am greeted like a lost relative.the rooms are Iarge with marble baths. the bkfst. is superb. the surrounding grounds of the castle and dining rooms are set in a tuscan scene that you will never forget. last yr. we had 25 guests to celebrate my grandaughters 25th birthday . the owners put on a dinner etc. that was unforgetable. someday she plans on having her wedding there. believe me, as a seasoned traveler, this is a hidden ruby. close to florence, monticatini, lucca etc. oh,the white truffles!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miniato
1.7 mi away
Hotel San Miniato
Hotel San Miniato
#2 of 5 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Vedute
Hotel Vedute
#1 of 1 in Fucecchio
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
4.8 mi away
EmpoliHotel
EmpoliHotel
#2 of 4 in Empoli
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Albergo Quattro Gigli
Albergo Quattro Gigli
#1 of 2 in Montopoli in Val d'Arno
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
21.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#99 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fattoria di Colleoli
Fattoria di Colleoli
#1 of 2 in Palaia
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sonnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonnino

Property: Villa Sonnino
Address: Via Castelvecchio 9-11 | La Catena, 56028 San Miniato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sonnino 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Sonnino, built in 500, when the Restaurant Castelvecchio, and situated halfway up the slope of a hill in the heart of Tuscany halfway between Pisa and Florence in San Miniato.The eye of the attentive observer will sense the presence of a church on the hill near the recently restored and housing which it dominates: Cigoli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sonnino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing