We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
262
5
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
262
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe tour walking tour munroe island his mother sense of humour sunset and sunrise village walk rope swing home stay welcoming family magical stay recommend staying here local family great host highlight of our trip beautiful village with open arms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 271 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Munroe Island was one of the best parts of our 3 month trip. Vijeesh was a great host, always going the extra mile to make sure we had a special time whilst staying at the homestay. He gave us the real munroe experience with a jam packed schedule: canoeing, kayaking, rope swing and cycling. He took us to local events and secret spots with beautiful scenary. The food and homestay itself was amazing, clean and well located. We could not have asked for more from Vijeesh and munroe island homestay.
Thank you Vijeesh and hopefully see you soon!

Room tip: Get a room on the first floor. Great view and in the midst of the action
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charli_Binns94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

This is a great place right next to Kerala's lakes and backwaters. It's relatively quiet and unspoilt. Vijesh and family make you feel really welcome. There's lots of interesting mini trips such as canoeing at sunrise and visiting local village industries. Breakfast is included and you can also pay for extra homemade tasty meals. Well worth a visit.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank barbarabS8890TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We stayed for just 2 nights here with our host Vijeesh. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food we had which was cooked by Vijeesh’s family was delicious and we had different food at every meal. We also went on a tour of the back waters with Vijeesh punting our boat and telling us all about the backwaters and it’s wildlife, it was very inform and also highly relaxing.
Would recommend this place highly.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank patsampson06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019

Our family of 4 spent 5 nights here. We had 2 rooms. One of our rooms did not have hot water for the shower but it wasn’t really needed. The rooms were very clean and spacious- although more shelf /cupboard space would have been appreciated.

This place was great. Vijeesh was an entertaining host. His mother prepared the most delicious meals and all the guests ate together making for a very familial atmosphere. Breakfast was served around 8, lunch was served at 2pm and dinner at 8pm. Vijeesh’s mother always made an effort to cook different meals...all were superb.
There is also filtered water available.
We went on a sunset canoe ride through the backwaters that was lovely. Vijeesh also took us on a village walk (free) which was really interesting.
We swam in the river, used the kayaks and SUPs and bicycles.
All the extras (lunch, dinner, kayaks, SUPs) were reasonably priced, however ask the costs in advance.
Vijeesh and his family were wonderful hosts and we would highly recommend this homestay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kerri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019 via mobile

Warm recommendation on Green Chromide Home Stay. Located right on the big canal, including a table and chairs facing the water. Sunainaa and her family are very nice and willing to help with anything
They made us a very tasty local family food. The rooms themselves are spacious, with air conditioning, en suite facilities and outside there is a spacious seating area. The family also has a river bungalow.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nirulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews