We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The resort property is located in a very peaceful and serene setting. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a lake side villa, which was fantastic. The view of the sun set from the villa/rooms must be experienced, words or even photographs cannot do justice. We enjoyed the massage at the spa, and the hour long boat ride arranged by the staff. The food served was exquisite, and reasonably priced. The staff are simply wonderful, and their attention to detail is admirable. A 2-3 days stay is highly recommended to experience what this resort and its surroundings has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonsOfFun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review from your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest.

It is indeed very gratifying to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay at Fragrant Nature and have taken back some fond memories to cherish. Thank you for recognizing our efforts.

We the entire team at Fragrant Nature look forward to welcome you back to Fragrant Nature on your next visit to "Gods Own Country" ,Kerala

Sincerely,

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    145
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
225
202
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week after purchasing a voucher through Living Social and loved every minute of it. From the moment we were picked up from the airport everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. We also thoroughly enjoyed the food - all very delicately spiced and we never got bored of trying something new each night. We highly recommend the Kerala bread, delicious! As other reviewers have mentioned the resort grounds are immaculately kept and filled with beautiful plants and flowers. Our villa overlooked the lake and it was lovely to sit out on the balcony and watch the fishermen go past. We would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planes_need_leg_room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback and recommending Fragrant Nature through tripadvisor.

I am very much delighted to know that your stay was up-to expectation and you have enjoyed the service and facilities offered by us.We truly believe in customer satisfaction and take every effort to provide quality service for which Fragrant nature is known for.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcome you back to Fragrant Nature in the near future.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My daughter and I purchased a week at Fragrant Nature from Living Social, and were most impressed with the resort. Without exception, the staff were courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. We were most impressed with the diligent housekeeping staff who kept our villa well maintained (we were upgraded to a 2 roomed villa with an excellent view over Mala Lake).
We both enjoyed 2 Ayurveda treatments each, toured the local coir and cashew nut industries, visited an elephant shelter, Varkala Beach, city of Kollam and walked around the local village being greeted warmly by locals going about their daily activities. We also loved the houseboat trip on the lake, and watching the water activities of the locals from our balcony.
The grounds were superbly maintained by the attentive ground staff, and provided a wonderful, relaxing environment with a vast array of plants, flowers and birdlife. Sunset views from outside the coffee lounge were wonderful. After 10 days touring northern India, this was a welcome and most relaxing and rejuvenating break before our trip home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merinowool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Fragrant Nature for 7 nights.

I am are very much delighted to know from your review that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us,We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded and I sincerely appreciate for taking your time out to post this wonderful review.

Once again, thank you for recommending fragrant Nature on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked for 4N/5D through Groupon coupons for 2 Elegant luxury side rooms ... Following are pleasant surprise we had....

- Free upgrade to LAKE SIDE villas ( as occupancy is less during the time )
- Fantastic Clean and maintained Pool ( with a safe kids pool )
- Superb Hospitality and pleasant faced staffs
- Good food choices..They gave us lot of our customized items ( like Puttu+banana, Neimeen fish fry, tender coconut, appam, ..... )
- Well maintained house keeping and superb garden/plants maintenance along lake side

Thanks to Mr.Prasanth (Manager ) and each & every staff working in restaurant,spa,housekeeping,reception, cab drivers....all are very co-operative and friendly

The Lying beds on lake side give you excellent stress relief !! dont miss the pool / SPA massage and candle light dinner !!

I dont have a single negative point ot share here !! Hats off to whole FRAGRANT NATURE team !!

DONT MISS IT !!

Room Tip: All rooms are good with superb lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arun700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for opting Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.
It is a pleasure to read from your detailed review that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and were extremely pleased with the service and facilities we have offered you.

All your positive comments with regards to the food, pool and overall service are truly appreciated.

We the entire team at Fragrant Nature earnestly thank you for taking time to post such a wonderful review on this public forum and we look forward to welcome you back on you next holiday.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The resort's landscape is beautiful. The lake facing villa we stayed in was quiet, cosy and very comfortable. The service was extraordinaire. I must give due credit to the resort staff for their warm welcome and for knowing what exactly we need :-)

The early morning walk was a highlight. All the different fruit trees, flowering trees, recently planted saplings was surely a sight for sore eyes. Absolutely rejuvenating. The swing on the tree, the pool, the Rooftop restaurant where we had breakfast, the house boat ride in the rain were beautiful experiences for us.

The food was good. Could be better. The waiting time for the second round of food was bit long probably due to reasons unknown to us.

The fact is that we left the resort very happy and content :-)

Room Tip: Go for the lake facing villa where you can feel the peace and calm of the backwaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethSam2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

"With Family In Paradise" what a caption ,it is truly mind blowing .

It was a delight to read your comments to get a good insight how your experience at Fragrant Nature has been and we are very much pleased to know that your stay was up-to your expectations.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting such positive review on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you back on your next holiday.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4N. We had a villa overlooking the backwaters. The location of the resort is spot on. The spacious 2-room villa with its balcony makes for a perfect setting to spend the whole day doing nothing. Everything from the time of reservation was a smooth process. The live chat feature on their website is makes booking a breeze. I had asked for a pick from Trivandrum airport which was arranged. You drive for around 90 min from the airport before you reach the resort, which is set a few kms from the main town of Kollam. Once inside, you just don’t want to go out again. The sprawling resort with is perfectly manicured gardens, countless flowering plants, tall palms, coconut and almond trees just captivates you. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi is where we spend most of our time.

An hour’s house boat (which is owned by the resort) cruise on the backwaters is absolutely soothing and a must do for anyone staying here. The resort also offers speed boat and peddle boats which we dint opt for. Fishing is another activity you can try your hand at. A few hours with our fishing rods and we returned with five small fish that the kitchen grilled for us.

The spa offers a whole range of Ayurveda massages and our spa experience was absolutely perfect.

What completely disappointed us was the food, except for the breakfast where they provided off-menu items on request which were yummy. The lunch and dinner is nothing to write home about. As you have no other options close by, you end up having all your meal at the restaurant and lack of quality food left a bad taste (pun intended!!) in our entire experience. The restaurant quality, both in terms of menu options and flavor, has to go up by a few hundred notches if it has to match up to the aura of the resort
.
The overall hospitality, be it the willingness to customize our b/f menu, the spotlessly cleaned rooms and the ever smiling faces, is a clear winner. I would have given them a 5 star if not for their restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sush_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

I am much delighted to read your complimenting review of your recent stay with us at Fragrant Nature and thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded and I sincerely appreciate for taking your time out to post this wonderful review.I am very much pleased to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed all the facilities and services offered by us.

Please be informed that we have already started working on betterment of the menu and I guaranty you much better culinary experience on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for recommending fragrant Nature on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viimsi, Estonia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The place is truly beautiful - specially lake side villas. View from the terrace during early morning hours is amazing. Absolutely the best. And its the same during sunset. You can hear birds and sounds of nature.

Pool is very good. Lovely and has some areas with tree shadows. We were there while there were very few quests. It felt like having private pool. Kids loved it.

If you stay here for a week it feels like a month. Back with you some good books and slow down. You will rest well!

Food is different thing. Breakfast is ok. But lunch and dinner options are poor. Kitchen and service on restaurant are both strange. They try. Too much. Its not natural. Its eatable but after three days you just wish more options and more relaxed service. It looks like 5 star place, but food and service are too clean and plain. Nothing truly bad, nothing special. You will survive, but will want more!

Room Tip: Pick houses near the lake area in the far back. They are quiet and offer a true paradise view!!! On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor about your recent stay in Fragrant Nature .It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest .

From reading the review I under stand that your stay was up-to your expectations except the cuisine part. We have started working on our menu and I guaranty you that you will be having positive experience on our cuisine on your next visit to Fragrant Nature.

I would also like to inform yo that we are happy to provide you your choice of food (out of Menu)which can be prepared with in our limitations.

We do hope that you will opt Fragrant Nature as your next holiday destination, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again to Fragrant Nature.

Thanks& Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
8.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
8.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#1 of 1 in Paravur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
7.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: CP11/709 Nedungolam P.O, | Paravur, Kollam 691334, India (Formerly Fragrant Nature Hotels & Resorts - Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#1 Family Hotel in Kollam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kollam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Nature is an exclusive 4 star Luxury Lakeside Resort offering the ultimate in relaxation and seclusion from the hustle and bustle of city life. The natural rural village setting of this Luxury hideaway, gives you the chance to see and experience the authentic Keralean way of life. The Resort is also well located for travelling and exploring the excitingly diverse wildlife, geography and rich culture of Kerala. Price range(per night) : £85 to £315Breakfast is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrant Nature Retreat And Resorts Pvt Ltd
Fragrant Nature Retreat & Resorts Pvt Ltd Hotel Kollam
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing