We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I booked in this hotel as it was part of the Small Luxurious Hotels and accordingly I thought it would be a luxurious 4days getaway were you could relax and enjoy the beauty of the lake.

Well the location is on the lake and the resort is nice but definitely not luxurious!

I have been in other SLH hotels an I had definitely expected more attention to details.

The restaurant has a nice shaded open area but the menu is very limited with the breakfast and it's all Indian food and no variation. Now to be fair the waiters are nice and speak very good English hence they can explain everything on the menu.

Now lets get to the spa: from the first look of it you wouldn't say it's a hi-end spa. A man meets with you at the beginning to explain the importance of Ayurveda and how their massages can do this and that. Well ok i know Ayurvedic treatment are very good and I was excited for the full body massage but so dissapointed afterwards. Apparently I understood front he man at the end of the session that Indian massages are meant to be slow and mellow. In the massage room you lie naked on a leather wood bed (a nicely designed one) without any towel beneath, and the therapist keeps on doing the same massage over and over and over and over again! I have tried many massages and trust me this one is neither relaxing nor distressing! But I have to say my skin was glowing afterwards! Of course the man tries to convince you with more packages to take but please don't do it. They only benefit from the oils they use but not the massages. And they are very expensive! The bad thing is that they don't even sell any of their product so you have to do it their way!

Also I have to mention that the location of the hotel is not a hotspot in Kerala and is far from anything you want to do.
I would recommend going to the birth side where all the nice scenaries are.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fragrant Nature!

Fragrant Nature was not planned as a city hotel but as an Eco friendly quiet getaway and hence the reason why this location was purposefully chosen to build the resort.

We are sure our guests would be better able to appreciate the location and the idea of Fragrant Nature if our concepts and purpose that we proudly promote, could be better understood.

Eco friendly, community friendly, with the purpose of giving our guests a unique but simple experience of the fresh and clean, undefiled natural surroundings as well us the chance to see and experience the simple rural life of our villages ,is the main purpose of why we chose to be where we are!

Away from the hustle and bustle of city life, in the quiet and in harmony with nature, able to see and experience first hand and closely, the simplicity yet rich and colorful culture of Kerala’s village life, its supporting small industries etc are what we invite our guests to enjoy!

Also to mention that the resort has been designed and constructed in a way that the architecture, the furnishings and other details remain in harmony with the simple, traditional as well us Eco-friendly concepts that we advocate.

We however assure you that the required attention to detail, if any, In accordance with the ideas and concepts we promote will definitely be looked into and rectified.

Ayurveda as a science has been widely acclaimed and has proved time and time again to be one of the finest and extremely effective wellness and therapeutic practice since centuries and gaining more and more trust and acceptance even in this very modern era. Its therapeutic goodness and methods of therapy which guarantee long term benefits, needs to be well understood for it to be rightfully appreciated.

We look forward to have you come back to stay with us and wholeheartedly appreciate the experience we look to provide. Have a wonderful year ahead!

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 609 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Perfect in every way ! Could not fault anything ! Special mention to Prasanth ,manager , and his excellent staff. From reception to kitchen , waiters, ( especially head waiter, Jayalal ) and housekeeping . Every whim was attended to with promptness and a friendly smile. Appreciated the complimentary dinner ,also the lake cruise . Cookery class was one highlight. Transport to and from airport (at a reasonable cost ) was a great convenience ,all arranged by reception staff...R and B Grant, Western Australia

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a great feeling to read such wonder review about our property and I earnestly thank you for taking your precious time to post this positive review. We are very much delighted to know that you have enjoyed you stay with us and taken back home some fond memories to cherish.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Fragrant Nature on you next visit to Kerala.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh .Kurup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We reached Fragrant Nature from Kollam via increasingly narrow country lanes, and when we arrived wondered how, in this remote resort on the edge of a lake, we would be able to occupy ourselves for five days. But we need not have worried - trips on the lake on the hotel boat, a visit to nearby Varkala beach and a self-devised tour of neighbouring brickworks filled our days (the hotel can organise a variety of other trips on request), while early evenings were spent watching the birds and the sunset across the lake. This is definitely a place to go if you want to get away from it all - it is very quiet (there were few guests apart from honeymoon couples when we were there), and the only noises come from the birds on the lake and the nearby temple. The hotel has a block of rooms and also, which are preferable, individual villas overlooking the lake. The food is very good (though north Indian more than Keralan) - a fixed price menu of 500 rupees for dinner was good value (though strangely did not include a vegetarian main course). The hotel does not have an alcohol licence. It is a rural place, not glamorous but very beautiful in its natural way. The staff could not have been more helpful, and made us a cake for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Individual villas have a lounge as well as a bedroom and bathroom, and balconies which overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us.It was truly a pleasure having you as our guests.We the fragrant Nature team extend our gratitude for posting this positive review in this public forum.
We are very much delighted to know that you stay was up-to your expectations.
I would like to inform you that we do have license to serve Beer & Wine in our resort and the option for vegetarian menu is also possible .
Looking forward to host you again on you next trip to Kerala "Gods Own Country".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love this place. They were so kind to me I just can't fault the staff one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for their helpfulness, friendliness and just all round dedication to making sure you have the best holiday.

The location is out of this world sublime...the perfect place to relax. Make sure you watch the sun go down from the coffee shop.

The food is fab ask for local kerelan dishes and ask if you can watch the chef prepare its great fun.

The grounds are immaculate. The pool area is just soooo lovely.

The spa treatment where you have oil dripped on your head made me go into a comma!

Everything about this place is fantastic.

I love the boat trip to see birds there were eagles, kites, herons, king fishers, lots more. You also get to see the local fishermen and villages on the way. Also loved the houseboat cruise.

They also organised a special memorial ceremony for me on the river for me for my mum as she didn't make the holiday sadly....but they made it just sooooo special for me I was over whelmed.

I just can't fault this place and want to go back right now!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 295424Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest for three nights.We sincerely extend our gratitude for opting Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination and for posting this wonderful review about our property. We are very much delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed all the facilities offered by us and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Gods Own Country,Kerala.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hi,
Me and my wife stayed at Fragrant Nature for 4 days from 6th jan 2012 till 9th and we had a great time.
1. clean and neat place
2. so calm and quiet.
3. the rooms and cottages are well placed with respect to the lake
4. amazing service by all the staffs
5. spa was really good

i found the honeymoon cottage the best of the lot with the view of the lake from the private pool is just awesome.
the food is slightly expensive when you compare with hotels but while considering this is a resort with a four star rating, its not over the top too

i would definetly want to go back again.

Room Tip: for couple i would recommend the honeymoon suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this valuable comment about Fragrant Nature.We are very much delighted to know that your stay was up-to your expectations.
We do hope to have you stay with us again the next time when you are in Gods Own Country.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh. Kurup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I once stayed in this hotel with my family and found to be very good with good value for money. So once again I went this time along with my friends this time. It looked as if the administration has lost some interest. Cost was prohibitive. One dosa costed more than 200 rupees. Same with all other food. It is better for the hotel to prep up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kunjettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Fragrant Nature for the second time.I have gone through your comments and would like to bring to your notice that we have not revised our menu rate for the last three years.I meant to say this because the menu price was the same as of your first visit .We are a Four star classified Resort and the Menu is priced as per that standard.

Thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to welcome you back.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeesh.Kurup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It has taken us more than 10 min to start this review because we dont know where to start. Our long awaited holiday turned out to be one of the greatest get aways we've had so far.
It started out with traditional Kerala welcome with a garland and coconut water refreshment after which we were directed to our room which completely took our breath away. Besides the 5star amenities, the balcony overlooked the serene lake, rows of coconut trees, the extremely well manicured lawns and more eye soothing greenery.
Our 1st day was taken up only by exploring the property which was acres of superbly well kept lawns and gardens and the amazing swimming pool which looks excellent at night as well. Another big plus point was the extremely polite, friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable.
As we were on a 7 day package, they chalked out an amazing itenary for us which included a traditional Kerala massage, a boat cruise, visit to varkhala beach, local industry, local home cooked food visit and visiting an elephant shelter.

They had different set menus each day for each meal which kept us guessing what mouthwatering dish was coming up next, and even if we wanted something to our liking they obliged us willingly. Room service was the best luxury, which we sometimes took undue advantage of because our room was loving us back.
It was my girlfriend's birthday during this holiday and I only had too mention it to the staff and they organised a 5 course candle light dinner on the docked boat with our very own butler, which was the highlight of the trip.
The home cooked meal was an experience in itself, from buying the food at the local market to the chopping and cooking and finally sitting down to a well deserved authentic Kerala meal served by the most hospitable people ever.
The visit to varkhala beach was an eye opener and an absolute must for all beach lovers.
The only negligible downside was the repetitive music that played in the restaurant. We had an overdose of 7 day flute music.

All in all it was the most memorable, relaxing, pleasant and comfortable holiday we've had so far and we would highly recommend it to any and everyone in need of shutting down the city life in you to kindle a calm and peaceful inner self.
We would definitely go there again simply for the beauty and hospitality of Fragrant Nature Resort! Love u guys.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Carlyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for opting Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest .We the Fragrant Nature Team extend our sincere gratitude for posting such a wonderful review about our resort in this public forum ,which really make us proud and gives immense confidence to move forward.
The staff at fragrant nature really enjoyed the time they had spend with you and we look forward to host you on your next visit to Gods own country.

Thanks & Regards

Sajeeshkurup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
8.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
10.9 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
8.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#3 of 22 in Kollam
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
6.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#5 of 22 in Kollam
209 reviews
11.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: CP11/709 Nedungolam P.O, | Paravur, Kollam 691334, India (Formerly Fragrant Nature Hotels & Resorts - Kollam)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kollam
#1 Family Hotel in Kollam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#1 Spa Hotel in Kollam
Price Range: $79 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Nature is an exclusive 4 star Luxury Lakeside Resort offering the ultimate in relaxation and seclusion from the hustle and bustle of city life. The natural rural village setting of this Luxury hideaway, gives you the chance to see and experience the authentic Keralean way of life. The Resort is also well located for travelling and exploring the excitingly diverse wildlife, geography and rich culture of Kerala. Price range(per night) : £85 to £315Breakfast is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrant Nature Retreat & Resorts Pvt Ltd Hotel Kollam
Fragrant Nature Retreat And Resorts Pvt Ltd
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing