We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip ever !!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Trip ever !!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and myself recently stayed for a week at The Fragrant Nature Resort in Kollam. We had the most relaxing holiday ever. The resort is set in the most beautiful setting. It is away from crowds and noise. I had a couple of massages, and we went out every day for different activities like Coir factory, boat rides, into town, cashew factory etc. You can do as little or as much as you like. The views from the balcony of our room were fantastic. And sunsets were picture postcard settings.
Being off season, there were not many guests, so we got spoilt by all the staff. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. They always have a smile on their face, and are more than happy to share their local knowledge with you if asked. The food was great and the pool a very welcome amenity.
The Resort grounds are set up very well, lots of greenery. It is so quiet, and it's wonderful to wake up to the sound of birds chirping. We had brekky out on the balcony most mornings which was thoroughly enjoyable.
Reception will organise a car with a driver to take you anywhere you want to go. The roads are extremely narrow, but the drivers know the area well, so are mostly pretty good.
We would gladly go back there anytime, and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to spend quality time together, to chill out and recharge your batteries. For us it was a fantastic holiday in an idyllic setting.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Ask them for their masala tea - its ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pook1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great feeling to read such a wonder review and we earnestly thank you for posting such a positive review about Fragrant Nature.It was truly a pleasure having you as our guests for one week.We are much delighted to know that you had wonderful holiday with us and has taken some fond memories back home.
Looking forward to have you with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    154
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
233
206
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The location of the hotel was amazing as it was by the backwaters. Both me and husband are keralites but brought up in UAE so we rarely we think of a vacation in kerala and always travel to other countries. However since i was pregnent we choose kerala as the destianation so that i fly for lesser hours. We stayed in the resort for 5 days and it was truly amazaing , the staff (specially the restuarant staff) was extremely courteous . Mr.Joseph restuarant manager was was very freindly and always made sure to come to our table to meet and have a conversation. He always arranged for the food that i wanted as i was very picky on the food since i was pregnant. The chef was really talented as we enjoyed almost all the dishes on the menu. We specially loved the crab Roast, and on my request Jospeh arranged to get me the recipe.

We also like to convey that the management has done a wonderful job in maintaining the beauty of the resort , training the staff to be so courteous and making our vacation truly memorable.We will surely recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are luxurious in its own way. Always ask for the lakeside facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoolyaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and thank you for recommending Fragrant nature as a perfect destination for holidaymakers.

We are glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our ambiance , the food and the staff quality.We hope you have taken back some fond memories to cherish and we look forward to welcome you back the next time when you visit Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Date of Stay: 6th Aug 2012. Duration: 7 nights.

We purchased a Living Social voucher for the Fragrant Nature Resort. Our initial contact with the resort was via email, which was always answered in a fast and friendly manner. In planning ahead, we had asked if there were any means of getting outside of the resort and exploring the local area and culture and food! This was the first time that we'd purchased a holiday like this, and we were not sure of what to expect. It was also my first trip to India.

The resort is a slice of heaven in paradise!

We were picked up from Trivandrum airport and taken back to the resort, even though we arrived very late (2am?) we were warmly greeted upon arrival by the manager. Check-in was quickly done and we crashed.

When we finally arose, we stopped in at reception on the way to breakfast. There they had another surprise for us, they had planned out a schedule for us, a little something every day or so! What totally surprised us, was that all of this was included in the voucher's cost! We didn't have to pay anything extra for the trips! There was one item that we wanted to vary, we wanted to go and see Kanyakumari (the very southern most tip of India). That was a 10 hour trip so we didn't mind paying for that (and the end price was quite reasonable).

We found the resort to be wonderful. The staff were always friendly and helpful. I liked getting a salute from the security guards. The room we had was perfect. A good size, wonderfully clean and a wonderfully firm bed. The grounds themselves are beautifully manicured.

Then comes the restaurant! Mr Joseph (the restaurant manager) never failed to amaze us! We had asked to try pretty much everything and they did not disappoint us! Apart from breakfast, where we quickly found our favorites, we didn't have one meal repeated for the whole seven days and nights! We had asked for real Indian food, though they could equally have done a western style menu. They can make the food as spicy (or not) as you like. We were there in the off-season and often were the only ones in the restaurant; we greatly enjoyed the personal service!

My partner had her birthday whilst we were there. I had secretly asked for something as simple as a cake. Instead we ended up with a romantic dinner on the house boat, and a cake! Indeed it was a special night. Thank you so much for organising it.

A very special thank you to all staff of the resort who made our stay so special.

We have no reservations in recommending this place to anyone. You can make it as busy or as indulgent as you like.

Room Tip: Try the off-peak season - you'll have the place to yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGWarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for opting Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest for 7 nights.Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about our resort in this public forum which really make us proud and gives immense confidence to move forward.The staff at fragrant nature really enjoyed the time they had spend with you and we look forward to host you on your next visit to Gods own country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent five days at Fragrant Nature with a friend of mine and I would describe the experience as Simply Awesome. The first thing that struck me as I arrived at the resort was the breathtaking beauty, exactly as advertised and beyond! Although a Keralite by birth, and having lived in the state many years, it was simply amazing to witness the splendour of Kerala packed into a single location. The staff were exceedingly polite and friendly. The accommodation was luxurious and of exceptionally high standard. All five stars for the restaurant and the cuisine: every meal was a delight. The spa was way beyond expectation. The gym was truly modern and well equipped for a complete workout. The boating was a voyage into a breathtakingly serene wonderland. Nightfall transformed the spot into an amazingly different dimension of beauty; the ambience left me speechless. The performances which we witnessed at the amphitheater was truly ethnic. Fragrant Nature, what a superb combination of the rustic and the sophisticated??!! Simply Heavenly!!…. Would I visit the place again? Without a doubt, yes!! Again… and again..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure at Fragrant Nature to have you stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay- close to nature, which indeed is our idea of a naturally relaxing break. We enjoyed having you as our guest and would like to thank you for posting such a wonderful review in this public forum. Looking forward to have you as our guest on your next visit to Kerala.Do take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent an amazing week here in July. It was tranquil and peaceful, with the haunting sound of the Ramayana being sung over the backwaters, not to mention the birdsong. The spa was a treat and the ayurvedic treatments were great value for money. We would float out of the spa, enjoy lunch, then relax by the pool for an afternoon under the palm trees. Would recommend a sun-downer at the 'çoffee shop' - watching the fishermen and flocks of birds head home for the day. The sunset cruise is also a memorable experience. We were lucky enough to go to a local Hindu celebration at Varkala beach. The staff were helpful in arranging a driver for us. We thoroughly enjoyed a visit to Kapil beach to watch the sunset - very romantic and a lovely place to meet local people and see some of the real India.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for opting Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.It was truly a pleasure having you for 7 nights with us.We are very glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed all the activities and your stay . Hope you have taken back some fond memories memories to cherish life long.
We the Fragrant Nature team earnestly thank you for posting this wonderful review on tripadvisor and look forward to host you the next time when you are in Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We finalized this resort based on the feedback of tripadvisor members. One of the most unique experiences I have had on any vacations was at this place.
We checked into the resort for two nights and later came to know that we were the only ones staying at the resort for the said period. The best part was that the resort was thoroughly well managed and we were provided all the facilities despite low occupancy. This is a beautiful place. Swimming pool is very good and so is the jacuzzi. Kids pool is also provided.
The resaurant is well managed and the food quality is very good. Go for local food. South Indian dishes are very good here.
The coffee shop is located at beautiful location and the sunset from the coffee shop is worth a watch. The spa facilities are upto the mark and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Families with kids should opt for Premium Lake View Villas as they are located at an optimum distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VibhorJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.We are very much delighted to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.Hope you have taken back home some sweet memories of Gods On country.

This positive comment from your part is really source of inspiration to all of us in Fragrant Nature and will help us to move forward confidently.We the fragrant nature team earnestly thank you for posting this positive comment and looking Forward welcoming you at Fragrant Nature on your next visit to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I spent a magical week here with my partner and family. Every moment was a joy. Fragrant Nature is set on the banks of the Kerela backwaters and a lot of effort has been made to fit the resort into the beautiful surroundings as seamlessly as possible resulting in luxurious accommodation which still feels natural and private. Waking up and looking out the window at the local fishing canoes heading out for the day while birds swoop through the sky and the sounds of prayer chants from surrounding temples drift on the breeze was one of the most relaxing and enchanting experiences I've ever had. As beautiful as the place is however, it's the people which really made the trip worth while. The staff at Fragrant Nature are fantastic, the reception staff are friendly and knowledgable and always willing to help with any request and the drivers that they organised were very patient and helpful and drove very safely on the hectic roads. The housekeeping staff are very polite and do an amazing job. Even the grounds keeping staff always made us feel welcome with warm smiles and friendly hellos every time we passed them. The staff at the spa were welcoming and had a lovely warm attitude which set me at ease straight away and they were very skilled. We had a holiday package which included one free massage but the ayurvedic doctor at the spa recommended that we do 3 treatments for the most benefit, and it turned out to be great advice. At the end of the third treatment I felt deeply relaxed, both in my mind and body, as well as free of all my niggling aches and muscle knots. The restaurant staff are outstanding and the food was incredible. Every meal that came out I declared as my favourite, right until the moment that the next meal arrived because it just got better and better. I just read another review of Fragrant Nature by 'lynnmphillips' which echoes my sentiments exactly, every day we said was the best day we had ever had, only to have the next day be even better. None of us wanted to leave and all of us are already planning our next trip back. I would also encourage people to consider travelling to Fragrant Nature in the down season like we did, the monsoon season from around June through August is still warm so getting wet wasn't an issue and we still had a wonderful time. Thank you everyone at Fragrant Nature for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We had a lake view room which was lovely for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel2013_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.We are very much delighted to know that you have truly enjoyed your 7 nights stay with us.Hope you have taken back home some sweet memories of Gods On country.

This positive comment from your part is really source of inspiration to all of us in Fragrant Nature and will help us to move forward confidently.We the fragrant nature team earnestly thank you for posting this positive comment and looking Forward welcoming you at Fragrant Nature on your next visit to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
8.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
8.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
265 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
6.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
206 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: CP11/709 Nedungolam P.O, | Paravur, Kollam 691334, India (Formerly Fragrant Nature Hotels & Resorts - Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kollam
#1 Family Hotel in Kollam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Nature is an exclusive 4 star Luxury Lakeside Resort offering the ultimate in relaxation and seclusion from the hustle and bustle of city life. The natural rural village setting of this Luxury hideaway, gives you the chance to see and experience the authentic Keralean way of life. The Resort is also well located for travelling and exploring the excitingly diverse wildlife, geography and rich culture of Kerala. Price range(per night) : £85 to £315Breakfast is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrant Nature Retreat And Resorts Pvt Ltd
Fragrant Nature Retreat & Resorts Pvt Ltd Hotel Kollam
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing