We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning retreat and fine service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent an amazing week here in July. It was tranquil and peaceful, with the haunting sound of the Ramayana being sung over the backwaters, not to mention the birdsong. The spa was a treat and the ayurvedic treatments were great value for money. We would float out of the spa, enjoy lunch, then relax by the pool for an afternoon under the palm trees. Would recommend a sun-downer at the 'çoffee shop' - watching the fishermen and flocks of birds head home for the day. The sunset cruise is also a memorable experience. We were lucky enough to go to a local Hindu celebration at Varkala beach. The staff were helpful in arranging a driver for us. We thoroughly enjoyed a visit to Kapil beach to watch the sunset - very romantic and a lovely place to meet local people and see some of the real India.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for opting Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.It was truly a pleasure having you for 7 nights with us.We are very glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed all the activities and your stay . Hope you have taken back some fond memories memories to cherish life long.
We the Fragrant Nature team earnestly thank you for posting this wonderful review on tripadvisor and look forward to host you the next time when you are in Kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 611 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We finalized this resort based on the feedback of tripadvisor members. One of the most unique experiences I have had on any vacations was at this place.
We checked into the resort for two nights and later came to know that we were the only ones staying at the resort for the said period. The best part was that the resort was thoroughly well managed and we were provided all the facilities despite low occupancy. This is a beautiful place. Swimming pool is very good and so is the jacuzzi. Kids pool is also provided.
The resaurant is well managed and the food quality is very good. Go for local food. South Indian dishes are very good here.
The coffee shop is located at beautiful location and the sunset from the coffee shop is worth a watch. The spa facilities are upto the mark and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Families with kids should opt for Premium Lake View Villas as they are located at an optimum distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VibhorJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.We are very much delighted to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.Hope you have taken back home some sweet memories of Gods On country.

This positive comment from your part is really source of inspiration to all of us in Fragrant Nature and will help us to move forward confidently.We the fragrant nature team earnestly thank you for posting this positive comment and looking Forward welcoming you at Fragrant Nature on your next visit to Kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I spent a magical week here with my partner and family. Every moment was a joy. Fragrant Nature is set on the banks of the Kerela backwaters and a lot of effort has been made to fit the resort into the beautiful surroundings as seamlessly as possible resulting in luxurious accommodation which still feels natural and private. Waking up and looking out the window at the local fishing canoes heading out for the day while birds swoop through the sky and the sounds of prayer chants from surrounding temples drift on the breeze was one of the most relaxing and enchanting experiences I've ever had. As beautiful as the place is however, it's the people which really made the trip worth while. The staff at Fragrant Nature are fantastic, the reception staff are friendly and knowledgable and always willing to help with any request and the drivers that they organised were very patient and helpful and drove very safely on the hectic roads. The housekeeping staff are very polite and do an amazing job. Even the grounds keeping staff always made us feel welcome with warm smiles and friendly hellos every time we passed them. The staff at the spa were welcoming and had a lovely warm attitude which set me at ease straight away and they were very skilled. We had a holiday package which included one free massage but the ayurvedic doctor at the spa recommended that we do 3 treatments for the most benefit, and it turned out to be great advice. At the end of the third treatment I felt deeply relaxed, both in my mind and body, as well as free of all my niggling aches and muscle knots. The restaurant staff are outstanding and the food was incredible. Every meal that came out I declared as my favourite, right until the moment that the next meal arrived because it just got better and better. I just read another review of Fragrant Nature by 'lynnmphillips' which echoes my sentiments exactly, every day we said was the best day we had ever had, only to have the next day be even better. None of us wanted to leave and all of us are already planning our next trip back. I would also encourage people to consider travelling to Fragrant Nature in the down season like we did, the monsoon season from around June through August is still warm so getting wet wasn't an issue and we still had a wonderful time. Thank you everyone at Fragrant Nature for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We had a lake view room which was lovely for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel2013_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.We are very much delighted to know that you have truly enjoyed your 7 nights stay with us.Hope you have taken back home some sweet memories of Gods On country.

This positive comment from your part is really source of inspiration to all of us in Fragrant Nature and will help us to move forward confidently.We the fragrant nature team earnestly thank you for posting this positive comment and looking Forward welcoming you at Fragrant Nature on your next visit to Kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fragrant Nature Resort is more beautiful than you could imagine, located on the backwaters of Kerela it provides a quiet retreat from the hussle and bussle of life. The staff are very helpful, attentive and friendly. The food was beyond delicious and every meal was a delight. The wait staff were highly trained and happily assisted us whenever we needed menu translations. Our rooms were exceptionally clean and the house keeping staff do an amazing job. Our driver was wonderful, kind, always had a smile waiting for us and was very patient (some of my family like to shop). Security and ground staff always greeted us with smiles and happy hellos which made me and my family feel very welcome and provided a homely feel. The spa was a delight and extremely relaxing, the staff were very kind and always made me feel comfortable. The reception staff were also a delight, organising many outings and actvities for us such as elephant rides, private cooking lessons, local industry tours and market tours. Along with all of our other actvities the staff provided a beautiful and wonderful surprise candlelight dinner for my mother's 60th birthday on the resort houseboat. It was a truly magicial evening. I hope to return to the resort in the near future as it was an amazing place filled with beautiful and kind people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for opting Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.It was truly a pleasure having you and you family for 7 nights with us.We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed all the activities and your stay with us and has taken back some fond memories memories to cherish. The smile of your mother at her Birthday function which you gave her in our boat was really priceless.
We the Fragrant Nature team earnestly thank you for posting this wonder review on tripadvisor and look forward to host you the next time when you are in Kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Fragrant Nature Resort is located in an exceptionally beautiful location on the backwaters in Kerela. We found the resort to be of a high standard with lovely large and well appointed suites, lush well kept grounds and a sparkling pool. It has a feeling of privacy and luxury. We found staff to be exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We tloved the south Indian cuisine with several highlights including the feast for Vishus Birthday and the candle lit dinner on the banks of the lake. We loved sitting at nightfall watching the sun set, the birds wheel with the sounds of voices soaring from nearby temples
We took advantage of the sightseeing trips offered with a driver/guide provided by the resort. The staff were very knowledgeable about local history and customs which gave us a truely wonderful experience of southern India.Each trip was well organized and gave an insight into local enterprise, spiritual practices and the daily life of local people. We visited local industry, fishing, markets, temples and festivals and took a cooking class in a private home.
We has a 7 day stay and wished it would never finish. Each day we said it was the best day we had ever experienced only to have it topped the next day.
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay such a wonderful one. Lynn Phillips

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnmphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for considering Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination ,it was truly a pleasure to have you as our guests.We are very much delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed the local tour ,the food and all other facilities.We the team at Fragrant Nature earnestly thank you for this positive review posted and looking forward to host you on your next trip to Gods Own Country ,Kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Fragrant nature gave us the break we needed form the rat race,with lush greenery and lots of privacy.One must visit to experience nature.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very much delighted to have you as our guest and really happy to know that your holiday was truly a memorable one.As you said Fragrant Nature is such a place where you can completely enjoy the nature at its best.

We the Fragrant Nature Team wholeheartedly thank you for your wonderful comment on this public forum and look forward to host you on your next trip to kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently visited Fragrant Nature Resort for 3 nights and enjoyed highest standards of hospitality. The resort is tucked away about 10 km from the main Kollam town right on the edge of backwaters. Though we were the only couple staying at the property due to lean season, the services offered were of first rate. The place is very tastefully done up, hosekeeping, room service and restaurant were great. Practically every one went out of the way to make our stay memorable. We will love to visit this place again and strongly recommend this as a "must visit" during Kerala trip.

Room Tip: The best time to visit is between October to March. We took a Lakeside room and it was perfect with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharadSInghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination.We are very much delighted to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.Hope you have taken back home some sweet memories of Gods On country.

This positive comment from your part is really source of inspiration to all of us in Fragrant Nature and will help us to move forward confidently.We the fragrant nature team earnestly thank you for posting this positive comment and looking Forward welcoming you at Fragrant Nature on your next visit to Kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
8.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
10.9 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
8.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#3 of 22 in Kollam
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
6.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#5 of 22 in Kollam
209 reviews
11.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: CP11/709 Nedungolam P.O, | Paravur, Kollam 691334, India (Formerly Fragrant Nature Hotels & Resorts - Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kollam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kollam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#1 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Nature is an exclusive 4 star Luxury Lakeside Resort offering the ultimate in relaxation and seclusion from the hustle and bustle of city life. The natural rural village setting of this Luxury hideaway, gives you the chance to see and experience the authentic Keralean way of life. The Resort is also well located for travelling and exploring the excitingly diverse wildlife, geography and rich culture of Kerala. Price range(per night) : £85 to £315Breakfast is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrant Nature Retreat And Resorts Pvt Ltd
Fragrant Nature Retreat & Resorts Pvt Ltd Hotel Kollam
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing